7/9 Kiwi, PMPS 438, +3 143, +4 114, +4.5 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiwi F

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99429

Kiwi is finally coming down. His PMPS was 438, but his +3 was 143 and +4 was 114. Do we leave him at this dose as long as he is in the blue? Any idea why his preshot numbers are just so high? Anything we need to watch for with him dropping like a rock? How closely should we be monitoring him? (How often and how late?) He does usually peak early, but I feel like I finally did his shot better this time.

I mostly just wanted to show everyone. We are SO excited over here!!

Kim and Kiwi. dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 7/9 Kiwi, PMPS 438, +3 143, +4 114

Kiwi was 99 at +4.5!!

As excited as I am, usually his bg would be rising by now, but they are not. I feel like I need to stày up all night with him. Is this normal? (To not budge for weeks and then suddenly fall fast?) Technically he flew right through blue and into green! I'm excited, but scared.
 
Re: 7/9 Kiwi, PMPS 438, +3 143, +4 114

Yay for beautiful numbers for Kiwi!!!
Way to go!
I'm not experienced, so can't really give advice, but that's a very big dive from PMPS to +3.
 
Re: 7/9 Kiwi, PMPS 438, +4.5 = 99

Kim,
I think it's better if you leave the results you did at +3 and +4 in the subject so others can see at a glance what Kiwi has been doing.
He dropped super steeply, and still dropping, so I'd give up going to bed early :-D
 
Good point about his heading. Thanks. :-).

I'm too scared to sleep, but how often should I be testing? Should I be feeding him? He eats LC at +6 (small amount).
 
I'd test in an hour. He seems to have slowed down.

I find with Neko, if she starts higher, then her nadir is a little later. Kiwi might be doing the same.
 
Yay Wendy's here!!
I don't know what's normal and what's not normal, so was worried about Kiwi :-D
 
I wouldn't say Neko is normal by any stretch of the imagination. :lol:

The LC is a good choice at this point.
 
Thanks to everyone who has stopped by. We're going to feed his late night food a little early...so he's getting some LC food in him right now. Hopefully that will hold him up a little. He's acting normal, and I'm happy for that.

We are going to want to keep him on his current insulin dose, correct? (We DON'T want to lower his dose, right)? Just making sure.

I really appreciate everyone's help. Thank you all.
 
+6 is 103. He ate his late meal (usually +6) at +5.25 to keep him from dropping further. Since he hasn't moved much, I'm worried that he was going to fall even more. How long do you all recommend I stay awake with him? He usually peaks early...although today seems to break all the rules. Unfortunately, I am exhausted!! Once he's up to 120, or so, would it normally be safe to sleep?
 
Kiwi is 149 (+7) an hour and a half after eating (+5.25/+5.5). Normally I would think that he would be out of danger for the night, but since he's been so high, I've not had to be this specific. How long would a small LC meal keep his bg up? Are we past that now? Or might he still crash after using up that little nudge? I know anyone giving me advice is guessing, but if I can get a little sleep, I need to...since this whole thing starts again in 5 hours, when he gets his next shot. I'm too old and too sick to skip much sleep.

Speaking of old....I'm going to be a first-time grandma in late August. I suspect that confirms my "crazy cat lady" status.

Since his depot is building, I would guess tomorrow will be a lot like today? Or is there any reason to think it won't be?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top