7/9 Jupiter PMBG/58 question about probiotics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99469

Low AMBG again this morning so we skipped. His numbers are absolutely fantastic :-D

Hoping to be able to talk to the vet today.

Jupiter seems to be feeling okay today.

None of the cats ate much yesterday and I am just thinking maybe its because its so hot in the house. He still ate more then he did when he was on the ABs but still not much at all...and he is acting better. He was not hiding much yesterday except for when it rained... he was out and about and seemed like he was feeling good last night. We left food out for them overnight as always but we put some fancy feast appetizers on top of the food to help entice them to eat more... and when I woke up this AM they had eaten a pretty decent bit of food so I am thinking since it was cooler at night they had more of an appy and ate. There were 2 piles of vomit today but I am not sure which cat they are from.

Jupiter didnt eat very much when I first fed him this AM but about 2 hours later... just a few minutes ago... I put some food in front of him and put some treats on top and he ate a whole bunch of food this time!! YAY


Happy Birthday Marje!!!!!

Todays Numbers:
AMPS-62
Skipped shot

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-61
Skipped Shot
+5.25-72
+10-61
PMPS-38
Skipped Shot
+5-55
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62

Hi guys .. wow, jupiter has been having awesome numbers lately! I'm sure the heat has something to do with the lack of appy .. lots of cat's seem to have that same problem .. Hope you get a chance to talk to your vet today .. have a great day!
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62

Morning to you, wow Jupe's numbers are looking good,hope you get through to the vet today get things sorted out.Hope Jupe's paw isn't hurting her. :smile:
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62

Hi Jamie,
I just want to add my pile of vines and prayers for Jupiter and you. Good grief on the vet. I'm sure you'll get that sorted out. I don't think i'd want to stand between you and what you need for your sweet boy!
Yahoo for a good appy!! I'm sure your yahoo is 10x as big as mine. Take good care of yourself and your baby. Hugs to all of you. mary and ollie
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62

Another fantastic low number for Jupe this morning I see! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT Go Jupiter!!!!

That was so frustrating yesterday getting two different stories. Yes, Jupiter needs the antibiotics. No, Jupiter does not need the antibiotics.

Do you have another call into the vet today? They may consider it resolved with what you were told yesterday.

I'd call and make sure a vet calls you back. Tell them you have been waiting since yesterday morning. You want to talk to a vet, not the receptionist, not the vet tech. The vet.
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62

Okay talked to the vet and got things straightened out kind of... still dont understand fully... but a better understanding at the least... will post an update soon
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62

I have such a hard time explaining things - trying to type my thoughts is hard when i am on so many pain meds. :sad:

Vet said she is aware of what the techs told me because she is the one who told them to call me back
vet said the stories were not conflicting because she never said on monday that the AB's were not important. So I said I am sorry I must have misunderstood because it just seemed like the ABs were no longer important or soemthing. She said they ARE important, however they are doing Jupe more harm then good so thats why she said to stop them yesterday.

I asked other questions and got other responses but I am having a hard time explaining things right now sorry :cry:
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62 talked to vet

No worries .. as long as you understand what the vet said that's all that matters .. We just want jupiter to feel good!
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62 talked to vet

As long as you understood her when she told you, that's most important.....and that she talked to you.

Thank you!! HUGS!
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62 talked to vet

Maybe ask your vet's office if they can e-mail instructions, in addition to a call; that will help work around the issues of your meds.
(I remember being on morphine after back surgery and focusing to do much of anything was nearly impossible!)
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62 talked to vet

Glad you got thru finally to the Vet and understand her. Sending lots of healing vines to little Jupiter, and you, too.
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62 talked to vet

She said that on friday the reason I was told to continue the antibiotics unless he completely stops eating or starts vomiting is because she was not sure that it was the antibiotics causing it.

She said the reason I was told on monday that it was okay to stop the antibiotics is because it became clear that the antibiotics were making him sick. She said its is NOT because they are not important.

She said she put him on the antibiotics with the hopes that it would clear up any infection and reduce the size of the mass before surgery. She said him being on it for 5 days is still better then 3 days or no days.

She said she doesnt want to put him on a different antibiotic since he is so sensitive - it will do more harm then good.

She said she does not want to give him an appetite stimulant at this time. She said she wants to wait a few more days to see if Jupiters appetite improves since we have stopped the antibiotics. she said she would like to keep him off of medicines. She said if he isnt eating well still in a few days to call back then


Okay I think thats pretty much all that was said... wanted to do a better update just took me forever
She said that if it is healed and closed that it should not get infected. She said when she saw Jupiter it was raw there and thats why she wanted him on the ABs. I told her it is still bleeding sometimes. She said she does not want to move the surgery to a sooner date and would like to wait until next thursday to do the surgery. She said if it looks bad I should just put neosporin on it.

She said she is not sure if it will be wrapped or bandaged yet - that she hasnt decided yet. I told her that the day Jupe saw her, when we got home he got litter stuck in that area and I had to pour water over it and it was very hard to get off. She said if its not wrapped, that I could try yesterdays news litter since that will not stick but she said most cats do not like that kind of litter.
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62 update - talked to vet

healing vines to you both,Jupe numbers sure do look better. =^:^=
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62 update - talked to vet

Jupe must be feeling atleast a little better. hes now on the top of the couch instead of underneath it :-D
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62 update - talked to vet

Jamie,
I'm glad you finally spoke with the vet and got some answers today!
Great news Jupiter is feeling better :-D
Healing vines on your way.
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62 update - talked to vet

yea Jupe!!
hang in there jamie and neosporine lightly rubbed on foot would be ok.
I know how worried you are....hugs
 
Re: 7/9 Jupiter AMBG/62 update - talked to vet

Thank you all for the visits!!!


I am wondering if I should still be giving the pearl probiotic pills? I gave 1 to him last night and 1 the night before... he was on antibiotics for 5 days but he is no longer taking them. Should I still give him 1 tonight? and if so, how long should I continue giving the probiotics.

thanks
 
Woohoo, Jupie! You are rockin'! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: That is a good explanation from the vet about her strategy. :-D Hugs to you, Jamie.
Liz
 
What a great report on what the vet said! (((((Jaime)))) hugs to you with all you are going through taking care of yourself and Jupiter. Although he's been having appetite issues, his chart sure looks purty with all that green :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Sending tons of healing vines to you both!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top