7/9 Indigo AMPS 376, +4 301, +8 281, PMPS 288

Carole & Indigo

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-8-indigo-amps-389-4-230-8-69-9-90-pmps-223.265568/

So he bounced last night but not as high as he has in the past after being in the greens.
I think he’s clearing it faster? Is there a better way to deal with the bouncing or do I just keep trying to shoot through until he stops panicking in the lower numbers and adjusts?
I think since he was below 100 (5.6) we hold this dose for 5 days from the new dose (July 8) at least and re-evaluate then (July 12)?
I also wanted to double check his no shot number is 200 (11.1) but if he’s over 150 but under 200 (8.3-11.1) I would be able to give a half dose to keep his depot full? I might be getting ahead of myself here, I just want to be prepared for everything.
Sorry lots of questions, just trying to get a handle on the TR and wanted to see if I’m figuring it out or if I’m as overwhelmed as I feel lol
 
Last edited:
The bouncing will stop/reduce when he gets used to lower numbers. The other things that triggers bouncing is sharp drops in the blood sugar which you can reduce by feeding the curve.
Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

Yes, you want to hold the dose and evaluate on July 12th. Unless he drops below 50 before then and earns a reduction.

The no shot number of 200 is for cats who are extremely new to insulin and the caregiver has no data on how the cat responds to insulin and no experience with lower numbers. With TR, you can shoot any number over 50. It is very scary to shoot lower preshots till you get used to them. Lantus is good at giving flat curves when shooting low.
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
 
Thank you! 50 seems absolutely terrifying to me now, I look at the sheets of other members and I do see how it works. I just can’t imagine doing it! I guess as we work down gradually it will be less scary as we go
When we get into lower pre shots (hopefully) I will post here before I shoot for advice, you have so much more experience.
The lowest I have ever shot so far was just under 150, I chickened out and gave a half unit at a PM shot…I tested every hour all night
 
Thank you! 50 seems absolutely terrifying to me now, I look at the sheets of other members and I do see how it works. I just can’t imagine doing it! I guess as we work down gradually it will be less scary as we go
This is the case with everyone who hasn't shot a lower preshot. Believe me. Every single person here who now confidently shoots green has freaked out at much higher preshots (including me). It's kind of a rite of passage. If you can monitor, just shoot. Sometimes stalling drops the number further making the shooting decision even more difficult.

The lowest I have ever shot so far was just under 150, I chickened out and gave a half unit at a PM shot…I tested every hour all night
The depot continues to affect the first part of the cycle even if you give a token dose or skip a dose. If you can monitor, you want to shoot the whole dose.
 
Back
Top