7/9 Honey AMPS 407, +5 211, +6.75 182, PMPS 446, +2 392

Julie and Honey

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-5-339-7-25-371-pmps-393-3-257-5-225.216550/

Increased dose (planned on 1.25), but for the first time I am actually questioning what dose I am measuring. I looked online but could not get clarification as no one seems to take the height of the markings themselves into consideration.

I did find online they appear to use the top of mark, which is what I do when ie. a full unit or half unit. It gets murky when you start getting into .25 increments, at least in my opinion because the markings themselves are about .2 tall in themselves.

I know it is really just about being consistent for what you think you are giving, but now I am wondering what dose I am actually using.

So since I use the top edge of mark to mean 1 unit (and this seems to be right), today I used the bottom edge of the mark. I am guessing this is slightly less than 1.25, but if I put in between 1 unit mark and 1.5 unit mark it would actually end up being more than 1.25 from what I was shooting as 1 unit.

If anyone is understanding what I mean, let me know. I am attaching a drawing of what I consider 1 unit (top edge) and this seems to be what I see online, and on bottom of drawing is what I shot today, which would be about 1.2 if top edge of mark is a true full unit. Does this make sense to anyone?

Anyway, I shot slightly more today than usual, but not sure what amount I am actually shooting, or have been shooting for that matter for the last 6 months..:confused: I guess if it is consistent from dose to dose, does not matter what I call it, maybe what I shot today is a fat 1 unit or a skinny 1.25? Anyway, it is more than I have been shooting the last week, so for consistency will try it for a few days, just wish it was more clear what amount I am actually using.
I hate my life:arghh:
upload_2019-7-9_9-0-51.jpeg
 
Julie, I totally know what you mean! I often think the same thing!! Quite a few people use calipers for consistency in dosing but for some reason I find them kind of intimidating. Personally I think your final statement is correct, as long as you're consistently using the same benchmark as 1u then you will consistently be increasing or decreasing the dose. Have you considered calipers?

I hope this increase works really well for Honey :)

Have a great day :D
 
Julie, I totally know what you mean! I often think the same thing!! Quite a few people use calipers for consistency in dosing but for some reason I find them kind of intimidating. Personally I think your final statement is correct, as long as you're consistently using the same benchmark as 1u then you will consistently be increasing or decreasing the dose. Have you considered calipers?

I hope this increase works really well for Honey :)

Have a great day :D
Not sure calipers would solve this dilemma as they measure consistency from dose to dose, but still are not taking the unit marks into consideration as part of the dose amount. I am so stressed now, won’t intentionally introduce something else (calipers), that in my opinion would only cause me more stress...
 
Not sure calipers would solve this dilemma as they measure consistency from dose to dose, but still are not taking the unit marks into consideration as part of the dose amount. I am so stressed now, won’t intentionally introduce something else (calipers), that in my opinion would only cause me more stress...
That's fair, yes, from what I understand people who use calipers don't really pay attention to unit markings, instead they trust the consistency of the calipers. I also find the idea of using calipers stressful, I completely understand what you mean... but it seems like other members really like them... maybe someday I will try them... just probably not some day soon :D
 
I know how frustrating it can be! I didn't start using Calipers until his dose came down really low.( I raise or lower his dose by a tiny amount)
A lot of people don't use calipers & just use the markings on the syringe I did for 16 months & Ravan did just fine. I always put the plunger to the top of the line for one unit, like in your first drawing.

Because Honeys BG is still high you'd be OK to increase by .25. Sometimes you just need to reach the correct dose & then the BG starts coming down.
images
 
Sending stress free vines your way and lots of :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hope ur day gets better, get out of house and do something relaxing, btw if u find something relaxing let me know what that is:rolleyes:
I rarely go out of the house since I have been out of work. Usually once a week or so to go to the grocery store or on the rare occasion I get a job interview. Lately has been terribly hot and humid too, so more reason to stay in. Not fond of really sunny days either, I am funny that way, cloudy days make me happy and calm, sunny days give me anxiety. If I get a cloudy not too hot and humid day, I will go out. Can’t wait for Fall:joyful:

Cheap wine is about all the relaxation I get these days;)

I take that back. I found an app called “calm” for my iPad and it has video and sounds of relaxing things like ocean surf, a trickling brook in the forest, rain falling on trees, a crackling fireplace, etc. The free version has quite a bit. I think one they missed is a kitty purring, but I can get that in my living room, lol.
 
Oh this is very interesting. I just starting going to .75 instead of .5, and I practiced with an empty syringe about 10 times trying to figure out how far to draw. It's a very good point that I should be drawing a half between the top of each lines, not the bottom of the .5 mark and the top of the 1 mark. I may invest in a magnifying glass and backlight or I may go cross-eyed soon...
 
I rarely go out of the house since I have been out of work. Usually once a week or so to go to the grocery store or on the rare occasion I get a job interview. Lately has been terribly hot and humid too, so more reason to stay in. Not fond of really sunny days either, I am funny that way, cloudy days make me happy and calm, sunny days give me anxiety. If I get a cloudy not too hot and humid day, I will go out. Can’t wait for Fall:joyful:

Cheap wine is about all the relaxation I get these days;)

I take that back. I found an app called “calm” for my iPad and it has video and sounds of relaxing things like ocean surf, a trickling brook in the forest, rain falling on trees, a crackling fireplace, etc. The free version has quite a bit. I think one they missed is a kitty purring, but I can get that in my living room, lol.
I love love cloudy days, makes me calm too!! I hate the sun, why do I live in Florida? U ask I have no idea!!
I have calm on my ipad as well i love it, the free version as well
Well try and relax
 
Oh this is very interesting. I just starting going to .75 instead of .5, and I practiced with an empty syringe about 10 times trying to figure out how far to draw. It's a very good point that I should be drawing a half between the top of each lines, not the bottom of the .5 mark and the top of the 1 mark. I may invest in a magnifying glass and backlight or I may go cross-eyed soon...
Don’t use my confusion as a way to dose, I really don’t know what is right anymore...o_O If you started .75 exactly in between, I would keep it like that for consistency.

When I was doing .75, I was doing exactly as you said, halfway between the 1 and the 1/2. So not sure at this point what those in between doses really are or should be.
 
Last edited:
I love love cloudy days, makes me calm too!! I hate the sun, why do I live in Florida? U ask I have no idea!!
I have calm on my ipad as well i love it, the free version as well
Well try and relax
Too funny, you are in Florida and don’t like sun. Think we should both be in the Pacific Northwest like Oregon, right? I guess the winters in Florida would be okay, we had a week of -60 below with wind chills this past winter in the Midwest. That was almost worse than the heat and humidity, lol. Notice I said almost...
 
Too funny, you are in Florida and don’t like sun. Think we should both be in the Pacific Northwest like Oregon, right? I guess the winters in Florida would be okay, we had a week of -60 below with wind chills this past winter in the Midwest. That was almost worse than the heat and humidity, lol. Notice I said almost...
I want to retire off the grid in Alaska
I'll take the cold anytime over the heat
 
I understand your concerns about syringe markings never being the same, that's why I started using digital calipers. They are extremely easy to use, they don't go with the line markings on the syringe and you can adjust an extremely precise dosing every time ! This makes all your shots consistent, so no more worrying! A lot of us are using them and when you start, you can't shoot without them anymore! They are not expensive and you can find them everywhere!

Here is a complete tutorial from Marje on how to use digital calipers! That would solve your syringe problems once and for all! Hope this will help you! :)
 
Even when we were using calipers, I had the same question -- from where on the zero line do you measure with the calipers? We're at a whole unit again now, which is kind of a relief, except that the pen seems like it's always leaking a drop, so maybe we aren't being exact regardless.
 
I understand your concerns about syringe markings never being the same, that's why I started using digital calipers. They are extremely easy to use, they don't go with the line markings on the syringe and you can adjust an extremely precise dosing every time ! This makes all your shots consistent, so no more worrying! A lot of us are using them and when you start, you can't shoot without them anymore! They are not expensive and you can find them everywhere!

Here is a complete tutorial from Marje on how to use digital calipers! That would solve your syringe problems once and for all! Hope this will help you! :)
It’s not about lines not being the same, it is the fact that the volume of insulin behind the line itself isn’t always included in figuring the dose for .25 doses.

Thanks, I may look at the tutorial again and see if it would work. First time I looked at using calipers just seemed confusing to me. Like trying to read something in a foreign language...and really did not see much benefit, but maybe I just was not getting it.
 
It’s not about lines not being the same, it is the fact that the volume of insulin behind the line itself isn’t always included in figuring the dose for .25 doses.

Thanks, I may look at the tutorial again and see if it would work. First time I looked at using calipers just seemed confusing to me. Like trying to read something in a foreign language...and really did not see much benefit, but maybe I just was not getting it.
The beauty of calipers is also that you can set any dosage, not only half or quarter of units; you can measure consistent fat or skinny doses...
As you can see, I LOVE my calipers...:) but I won't bother you with them anymore !! :p Too bad Honey missed the little bunny this morning!
 
The beauty of calipers is also that you can set any dosage, not only half or quarter of units; you can measure consistent fat or skinny doses...
As you can see, I LOVE my calipers...:) but I won't bother you with them anymore !! :p Too bad Honey missed the little bunny this morning!
Not bothering me at all Lyane, I just don’t understand it.:(
 
When you have a chance - put your feet up and read this: Dosing with Calipers - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
Marge has done a great job with this - if you still don't quite get what it's all about - just message her - she's a great help in clarifying exactly what you need to do to use calipers. I was resistant at first - but the little digital calipers from Harbor Freight were under $15...I figure oh well..what the heck, maybe I can figure it out - by golly - best thing I've ever done! Those darn lines are different from one bag to the next of the syringes...sheesh...I was giving Luci a completely unknown amount from one day to the next...we had a hard time getting things under control...but the calipers are a big help and assurance to me that at the very least I'm giving a consistent dose from one time to the next...all this tiny measuring and my old eyes...it's hard enough ... calipers are a #1 recommended item as far as I'm concerned :)
 
Back
Top