I know you're not new, so maybe all of this is old info to you, but just in case I'll share it. Have you ever seen discussions about shooting the full dose into normal numbers in order to lower the whole range of blood sugar? Here's a couple of links if you're interested. With Lev, you're likely to have some of Heff's nadirs at +12, so learning to shoot low might be helpful to you.
He never had numbers like this on a regular basis with Lantus. The low numbers scare the crap out of me since we aren't used to them. But he bounces high & hard, so I have to shoot more than a token.
For Levemir, +4 is the "typical" onset and +8 the "typical" nadir. But we have a number of Lev kitties here who onset at +3 and Neko does around +5 or later.