7/9 Figaro AMPS=368 +6=252 PMPS=116!! No shot. +0.5=117, +1.5=147 - second cycle after increase

Figaro's Liz

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Whee here we go :nailbiting: hope this increase makes him feel better!

Edit PMPS down to 116. SLGS protocol says I should skip the next dose. Do I feed, or stall and retest? Give a reduced dose?
 
Last edited:
WooHOOOOO!!! here we go Figaro!! a nice yellow to reward your mom!! this is great :):)

Lets shoot for Blues next :cool::cool:
 
A lot has to do with flexibility of your schedule in the morning if you postpone the shot tonight because the morning shot will need to be pushed out a little also..
 
A lot has to do with flexibility of your schedule in the morning if you postpone the shot tonight because the morning shot will need to be pushed out a little also..
I will retest in 5, which will be 30 mins from previous test. I could stall a little in the morning, but not by more than an hour, and then I wouldn't be able to monitor him through the day :/
I had been thinking about gradually moving shots to 7am/7pm (one hour earlier). One thought is to skip this shot and begin again at 7am, if the numbers don't come up.
 
I will retest in 5, which will be 30 mins from previous test. I could stall a little in the morning, but not by more than an hour, and then I wouldn't be able to monitor him through the day :/
I had been thinking about gradually moving shots to 7am/7pm (one hour earlier). One thought is to skip this shot and begin again at 7am, if the numbers don't come up.
I was hoping someone with a few years experience comes on soon, I don’t feel comfortable enough to give advice in this situation. I’ll hang around for awhile..
 
Turns out Figaro is a bit dramatic! ;)

Personally if his numbers haven’t come back up after you test again I would probably skip the shot. If they have come up a reduced dose might be a good idea. Let’s see what others think :)
 
Turns out Figaro is a bit dramatic! ;)

Personally if his numbers haven’t come back up after you test again I would probably skip the shot. If they have come up a reduced dose might be a good idea. Let’s see what others think :)
Seems good advice especially since it was a big slide today. I am surprised he has not bounced this late in cycle.
 
With the absence of more experienced advice and the instructions in the SLGS data and the fact he has not come up in 30 minutes and it is past 12 hours from am shot, I vote to skip. Err on the safe side.

I agree with Julie, I would skip the dose tonight, especially since we aren’t sure if Figaro is on the way up or not.
 
Additionally, following SLGS a human meter reading of 79 immediately qualifies Figaro for a dose decrease... so much for 0.75u :)
 
Additionally, following SLGS a human meter reading of 79 immediately qualifies Figaro for a dose decrease... so much for 0.75u :)
I was wondering about that myself because it is 90 for a decrease on AT meter, which he did not get to, but close, margin of error with strips, etc. hmmm. so this is another question for morning dose...but with the Relion number, I am puzzled on that one..
 
Agreed, skipping! Yeesh, Fig, a little over-eager :eek:

Feeding now, and plan to test in one hour?

Assuming the numbers come up well by AM, I should hold the dose at .75? Maybe give him some extra snacks in the afternoon?
 
Additionally, following SLGS a human meter reading of 79 immediately qualifies Figaro for a dose decrease... so much for 0.75u :)
Oh oops I missed this in my little panic! My mind is going in 100 directions.

I don't have as much data on the relion as I'd like, but I'll set up a second SS. I've been trying to do simultaneous readings.
 
Agreed, skipping! Yeesh, Fig, a little over-eager :eek:

Feeding now, and plan to test in one hour?

Assuming the numbers come up well by AM, I should hold the dose at .75? Maybe give him some extra snacks in the afternoon?
I think he is just trying to impress you, look ma no hands, er paws I mean.

Amanda is right that 79 on Relion earns reduction back to .5, but the 117 on AT would hold the dose, so...:facepalm:

May want to adjust your title and ask “reduce morning dose?” I would think by then someone will have seen it. I would say that likely answer is to reduce dose in morning and since you are skipping, you can move your schedule up like you wanted. usually we only adjust time by 15 minutes or 30, but since tonight is a skip, see no reason not to shoot an hour early in the morning since he will drain some of the depot from tonights skip.
 
I was wondering about that myself because it is 90 for a decrease on AT meter, which he did not get to, but close, margin of error with strips, etc. hmmm. so this is another question for morning dose...but with the Relion number, I am puzzled on that one..

The reduction point for SLGS is 90 for a human meter as well! Interesting...

Agreed, skipping! Yeesh, Fig, a little over-eager :eek:

Feeding now, and plan to test in one hour?

Assuming the numbers come up well by AM, I should hold the dose at .75? Maybe give him some extra snacks in the afternoon?

I definitely think that testing in an hour after feeding is a good idea :) and even if Figaro is on the way up I would get a +3 just in case.

I’m unsure now if I would take the reduction tomorrow or not since you have two readings ... one that suggests reduction and one that suggests to maintain the dose. That combined with the fact you were on 0.5u for so long with unfavourable results. Let’s call in a few more experts in case they have time tonight to chime in :)

@carfurby @Wendy&Neko @Bobbie And Bubba can you guys help us with advice for Liz on whether or not to execute a dose reduction tomorrow?
 
The reduction point for SLGS is 90 for a human meter as well! Interesting...



I definitely think that testing in an hour after feeding is a good idea :) and even if Figaro is on the way up I would get a +3 just in case.

I’m unsure now if I would take the reduction tomorrow or not since you have two readings ... one that suggests reduction and one that suggests to maintain the dose. That combined with the fact you were on 0.5u for so long with unfavourable results. Let’s call in a few more experts in case they have time tonight to chime in :)

@carfurby @Wendy&Neko @Bobbie And Bubba can you guys help us with advice for Liz on whether or not to execute a dose reduction tomorrow?
Thanks Amanda. Carla is on now, she should know. Bobbie too. See how everyone shows up after we are all befuddled, lol.
 
Looks like you fed him all ready? Depending on your schedule and how far you could be off with shooting, I would have shot anything over 150. Chances are that he would have probably start bouncing from being in a lower number than he is used to being in.

About the meters, pick on meter and stick with it. It will make you nutsy going from the AT to the human meter. The AT2 runs higher than the human meters. But the protocol is written for human meters considering that and building safe nets into the protocol/method. Which meter is the one that most of your data is from? Then stick with that one. If it happens to be the human meter, then give him a reduction since you are following SLGS. If all your data is from the AT2, hold this dose tomorrow.

It's exciting and scary seeing a number lower than we are use to seeing but this is what you've been waiting for! Yeah, the insulin is starting to work with his body. Rejoice! :) So get a good night's sleep since you are not shooting and resume tomorrow.
 
Looks like you fed him all ready? Depending on your schedule and how far you could be off with shooting, I would have shot anything over 150. Chances are that he would have probably start bouncing from being in a lower number than he is used to being in.

About the meters, pick on meter and stick with it. It will make you nutsy going from the AT to the human meter. The AT2 runs higher than the human meters. But the protocol is written for human meters considering that and building safe nets into the protocol/method. Which meter is the one that most of your data is from? Then stick with that one. If it happens to be the human meter, then give him a reduction since you are following SLGS. If all your data is from the AT2, hold this dose tomorrow.

It's exciting and scary seeing a number lower than we are use to seeing but this is what you've been waiting for! Yeah, the insulin is starting to work with his body. Rejoice! :) So get a good night's sleep since you are not shooting and resume tomorrow.
Thank you for the advice and assurances! I started with the AT (was still hoping to work with my vet who insisted...) so have always tested with it, and at least did grasp that the numbers aren't translatable. My thought was to gather data on both to be able to migrate over to a human meter, specifically to avoid this confusion of the number mistranslation while getting gracious advice from you lovely and knowledgeable people.

I may be working from home tomorrow! Will in any case shoot at 7, and that gives me time to get a +2 before work going forward.
 
So many of us started with AT because that is what the vets use and we don’t know any better. I ordered my AT meter right away, then found the forum a day later and found out I could have used a human meter:facepalm:

I am making the switch soon, have enough strips for AT for a week or so, then will break out my human meter that of course is still in the box... honestly I am a little nervous. I saved a few AT strips to compare the first few tests to get an idea of the variance between the two and will save my AT for backup. I email my vet with current dose I am using and average numbers for the week and low nadir for the week. Not sure she will be thrilled with me using a human meter, but I have been out of work more than 6 months and can’t afford to waste money anymore. She knows I am vigilant about checking her, so I don’t think she will mind if I tell her the numbers are not that far off from the AT.
 
Looks like you fed him all ready? Depending on your schedule and how far you could be off with shooting, I would have shot anything over 150. Chances are that he would have probably start bouncing from being in a lower number than he is used to being in.
Just so I understand clearly, you would have waited to see if he got to 150 to feed and then shot the .75 late? How long would you wait to feed, maximum?

I'm standing here and he just sort of popped up suddenly, meowed (not common for him) and went over to eat immediately. However, test says 147.
 
Thank you for the advice and assurances! I started with the AT (was still hoping to work with my vet who insisted...) so have always tested with it, and at least did grasp that the numbers aren't translatable. My thought was to gather data on both to be able to migrate over to a human meter, specifically to avoid this confusion of the number mistranslation while getting gracious advice from you lovely and knowledgeable people.

I may be working from home tomorrow! Will in any case shoot at 7, and that gives me time to get a +2 before work going forward.
I don't blame you for switching to human meter, those AT2 strips are ridiculously expensive! But, since all your data for this dose is with the AT2 meter, I would go with that as far as holding this dose. And the good news is now you get on a better suited schedule tomorrow. He will likely be higher tomorrow AM without the shot, but he'll come down again.
 
Just so I understand clearly, you would have waited to see if he got to 150 to feed and then shot the .75 late? How long would you wait to feed, maximum?
I would have given it 2 test 20 minutes apart for stalling to see if he would come up to 150 and then I would feed and skip if he had not come up. But then, it all depends on how much you can mess with your schedule. Sometimes, the longer you stall, the lower they can fall.

You'll get another chance with a lower number, I promise! ;)
 
So many of us started with AT because that is what the vets use and we don’t know any better. I ordered my AT meter right away, then found the forum a day later and found out I could have used a human meter:facepalm:

I am making the switch soon, have enough strips for AT for a week or so, then will break out my human meter that of course is still in the box... honestly I am a little nervous. I saved a few AT strips to compare the first few tests to get an idea of the variance between the two and will save my AT for backup. I email my vet with current dose I am using and average numbers for the week and low nadir for the week. Not sure she will be thrilled with me using a human meter, but I have been out of work more than 6 months and can’t afford to waste money anymore. She knows I am vigilant about checking her, so I don’t think she will mind if I tell her the numbers are not that far off from the AT.
The important thing to reiterate to the vet is that the protocol used here is for human meters and all the safety nets are built into the protocol. Mine was horrified at first at the numbers I was shooting and tried to tell me, "get him off the insulin, he is in remission, until I explained it to her how the protocol works. She is cool with it now and doesn't even try to offer any diabetic advice to me. She knows I understand what I am doing and she treats Bubba for everything else. I am very lucky that she didn't cop an attitude to me.
 
20190709_211451.jpg
Figaro likes to nap on his scale and test table even when it isn't test time :p

You'll get another chance with a lower number, I promise! ;)
I'm sure you are right! I may even be slightly more prepared next time! :eek: Thanks again.
 
So many of us started with AT because that is what the vets use and we don’t know any better. I ordered my AT meter right away, then found the forum a day later and found out I could have used a human meter:facepalm:

I am making the switch soon, have enough strips for AT for a week or so, then will break out my human meter that of course is still in the box... honestly I am a little nervous. I saved a few AT strips to compare the first few tests to get an idea of the variance between the two and will save my AT for backup. I email my vet with current dose I am using and average numbers for the week and low nadir for the week. Not sure she will be thrilled with me using a human meter, but I have been out of work more than 6 months and can’t afford to waste money anymore. She knows I am vigilant about checking her, so I don’t think she will mind if I tell her the numbers are not that far off from the AT.
And if all else fails, you can remind her that testing on a human meter (consistently and with data) must be better than no home testing and shooting based on random spot checks--which seems crazier and crazier to me the deeper I'm getting into the world of FD.
It helps you have some pretty consistent numbers lately! I have mostly been able to get simultaneous readings with the same blood drop. Do you think you might be able to do overlapping tests for a couple days? That may help you feel more confident in the switch.
 
And if all else fails, you can remind her that testing on a human meter (consistently and with data) must be better than no home testing and shooting based on random spot checks--which seems crazier and crazier to me the deeper I'm getting into the world of FD.
It helps you have some pretty consistent numbers lately! I have mostly been able to get simultaneous readings with the same blood drop. Do you think you might be able to do overlapping tests for a couple days? That may help you feel more confident in the switch.
I have 3 - 4 AT strips left and 15-20 Insulinx I am using now which I tested against AT strips and got readings between 0-8 point variance against AT’s, so pretty confident either of those I can compare to the human meter and strips I bought. I need to do it soon before I run out. I usually do about 6 comparison tests when I am trying to find the closest match for Insulinx to AT code, so I will plan on the same amount with human meter,
I think that is enough to see how far apart they are. Just would like to have an idea.
 
Sigh, Fig is sky high now at 534 (only fed his regular meal) and clearly not feeling his best.. very sleepy, blinky, didn't seem to want a treat after his test :( just giving lots of pets and will try to test for ketones tomorrow.
Haha, too funny. I have same scale, maybe it casts a spell on kitties. You are feeling veeeery sleepy....

Great scale, by the way, I got a great deal on it too.

View attachment 46240
So I really need this! Omg!! :smuggrin: magic cradle scale!
 
Back
Top