? 7/9 Boris AMPS 116, +6 46 Advice needed as we near OTJ trial

learjetta

Member Since 2019
Last condo here. I haven't done much posting (other than my reduction question) since Boris has been doing so well.

Since we removed dry food Boris has been on a rapid reduction trend. Given his nadirs since his last reduction (and provided we have a good nadir today) we will be reducing from 0.5u to 0.25u tonight.

If this trend continues, he'll be down to a nothing dose in no time at all, which is very exciting! To that end, I'm looking for some advice on how to proceed. Boris's last BG curve was on 6/27, and that's mostly because he's steadily been getting reductions since.

Should I do a BG curve today? He's on his 6th cycle since his last reduction, so this SHOULD be indicative of how this new dose is treating him. Or do I wait until after this new reduction takes hold, and do a BG curve on Thursday or Friday?

Should I consider lowering the threshold for insulin reductions as we near a nothing dose? I'd really like to see him have a chance at a strong remission, so I don't want to be too hasty. His AMPS numbers have in the mid-blues pretty consistently, and I feel like we might want to see more low blues to high greens there before considering an OTJ trial.

I will be traveling for work next week, and my husband will be handling everything alone. Boris waits patiently for his shot after eating, but he's not easy to test alone. My parents are available as needed to at least get AMPS, + 6, and PMPS while I am gone, but overnight testing is out of the question unless he is feeling cooperative. Given that, I'm considering a vacation dose, especially given his current downward trend. However, given that he will be on 0.25u, there's almost nowhere to go at this point.

My husband also doesn't want to bother my parents too much (they're in their 80's), so I think we will start this afternoon with letting him test Boris on his own to see if it is doable with a little practice. If so, maybe we won't need a vacation dose after all.

Any advice is welcome!

Thanks!
 
Back
Top