7/9/18 Olive AMPS 235; +6.5=73; PMPS 379; +5=238 Question on tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

If missing a shot causes these fairly good levels I'm all for skipping another one. I will take flat blues any day.

Tomorrow is her dental. I'm not going to like leaving her in the hands of strangers. I made up a sign of what not to give to tape to the stroller handle.

Tonight is a big township meeting. Starting +10 earlier than normal. I contacted the local paper regarding the waste transfer station that's proposed for residential area. The paper is going to cover the meeting. Another person contacted the local news station, they are going to cover it. Then immediately following that is the meeting to change parking on the street laws. Now there is no parking on streets. Two neighbors have been feuding (Hats & McCalls) about each other's parking habits. One of them holds horseshoe tournament and the players are infringing on neighbors ability to park, and then it dark when tournament is over and the players have to walk to their cars in the dark. So they are changing the law. After that meeting is the regular monthly meeting. A long night. I will have to leave in the middle to come home for t/f/s. Country living at its best.

Got a message from ATT regarding issue with my microcell. Being so rural and in between mountains att provided us with a signal booster. Have had it for years and now they say it was never registered and they shut it down. So I have to go into town to make the call to straighten it out. Maybe I will go to DD and get a donut while I do this.
 
Those blues really do look fantastic! Best of luck for the meeting tonight! I hope all goes! How annoying with ATT! I think a donut while you make the call sounds like a fantastic plan! I hope they're not too ridiculously stubborn and are willing to get this straightened out for you!
 
Wow, busy day! hugs to Olive, luck to you in the meetings. Would you also be up for a little civil disobedience? I have thought that it might be a bucket list thing...;)
 
Ok. So I go out to DD to call phone co. Apparently a new cell tower is being built causing disruption. So they tell me to disconnect my cable service to the microcell adaptor, we'll hold while you do that. I'm like really, I have to drive back home to do that. The "child" on the phone goes why did you call if your not home? Really, because I don't have service without the microcell. Anyway its back up for now.

So I stop at store to get pet food, and the bank. I get home and she's 73. Perfectly safe but geez, you never know with her. I was only gone 2.5 hrs.
 
Wow, busy day! hugs to Olive, luck to you in the meetings. Would you also be up for a little civil disobedience? I have thought that it might be a bucket list thing...;)

We had that when we were fighting the public sewers. It got so bad the Town Supers requested police presence at all the meetings. Police are still at the meetings 2 years later. We country folks don't go down without a fight!!! Especially when the Town engineer falsified assessments and said our (11 residents) septics have failed when the one and only failed one belonged to a supervisor who didn't want to pay to have a new osmosis field dug. Because public sewer was cheaper (for them). It would have cost us over $8,000 to go on public, when nothing was wrong with ours. Then the monthly bill is $95.
 
Ok so dental is tomorrow. I've already call the place twice. She can't have any food after 10 PM tonight. Give half dose insulin tomorrow morning. Do I give half tonight? Can I sneak a bit of food at midnight and not tell them?
 
Ok so dental is tomorrow. I've already call the place twice. She can't have any food after 10 PM tonight. Give half dose insulin tomorrow morning. Do I give half tonight? Can I sneak a bit of food at midnight and not tell them?
I'm going to assume they know she is diabetic? Dr Larry lets Boomer eat regular meals until 5:00 then have a small snack then nothing after that. I usually shoot full dose the night before but that's because he's allowed to eat.
 
I'm going to assume they know she is diabetic? Dr Larry lets Boomer eat regular meals until 5:00 then have a small snack then nothing after that. I usually shoot full dose the night before but that's because he's allowed to eat.

Olive can eat until 10 pm buts then when she will start to come down. What if I have to boost her after that (don't think I will have to) but you never know.
 
Do you have any idea what time of day she will go under anesthesia? 10pm sounds like advice for a non diabetic. I would ask them to confirm with the vet. FWIW, Neko's dental specialist let her eat 1/3 of her meal until 6AM, but her anesthesia was at noon. Newer anesthesia protocols for diabetics allow a bit of food. But I would follow what the vet expects, not what the front staff says.

If you are nervous about tonight, you can always give a partial fur shot. She has a decent size depot which will help out. I used to give Neko medium carb food close to cut off time to give a boost. If you have to boost after that, try karo.
 
Dental vines for Olive tomorrow.

Jones just had his done...allowed to eat till midnight, could have water, no insulin the morning of surgery. His surgery was 9AM. He was in and done by 10. Everything returned to normal by supper time.
 
Do you have any idea what time of day she will go under anesthesia? 10pm sounds like advice for a non diabetic. I would ask them to confirm with the vet. FWIW, Neko's dental specialist let her eat 1/3 of her meal until 6AM, but her anesthesia was at noon. Newer anesthesia protocols for diabetics allow a bit of food. But I would follow what the vet expects, not what the front staff says.

If you are nervous about tonight, you can always give a partial fur shot. She has a decent size depot which will help out. I used to give Neko medium carb food close to cut off time to give a boost. If you have to boost after that, try karo.

I drop her off at 9 and they said they will start at 10. She is suppose to be their only surgery. They claim they don't see any other patients for the day but I have my doubts on that. I verified the insulin amount told them the dose she normally gets and that she starts to drop 3-4 hrs after shot. They said she will have her IV going by then and they will check her glucose and monitor throughout the day, they will take care of her and not to worry to much. Then I called back and reminded them she has hcm and they need to be careful of the fluids. I even asked if I could stay with her throughout for my piece of mind. It wouldn't bother me, I'm not squeamish. Of course they said no. I don't know if I can do this.
 
HCM by itself is not as much a worry about fluids. Neko had anethesia after she was diagnosed with mild HCM with the cardiologist saying it was OK. Fluids is a worry with CHF.

I'm glad she will be the only patient. Sounds she will get their undivided attention.
 
Gave 12% carbs at +4 since she can't eat now for tomorrow's dental. Wanted to make sure she doesn't go to low overnight. It's going to be a long 24 hrs before I can relax about this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top