Tigger's Friend
Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone,
Thank you Jill & Alex for your later post. Apparently Tigger's ketones are rising back up with the elevated BG. I took them twice a few minutes apart: 1st = 1.1; 2nd = 1.0 +11 BG = 384 (even though I know it can be quite disparate - felt I needed to do something) I'm glad to hear I have a little more leeway then the 1.5, but I am definitely calling the vet as soon as they open. My fear is that if Tigger goes DKA I will have to put him down - I can't afford the several thousand dollars for treatment; we spent that amount already & it's not there anymore. I'm trying to think positively, however.
AMPS is in 45 min. then food, then shot. I will increase the shot .25 to 1.25 this dose as previously suggested, then hold the dose 6 cycles & increase / decrease as indicated & suggested by FDMB members.
The rest of the cats are getting fed, so I may feed him a small amount of chicken breast & liquid so he doesn't get more stressed. I already know his AMPS will be high, probably over 400 again.
Tigger is acting pretty much the same, no apparent issues. We smelled his breath - no odor.
Tigger's 7/7/13 Condo
Thanks so much for hanging with us - nailbite_smile
Thank you Jill & Alex for your later post. Apparently Tigger's ketones are rising back up with the elevated BG. I took them twice a few minutes apart: 1st = 1.1; 2nd = 1.0 +11 BG = 384 (even though I know it can be quite disparate - felt I needed to do something) I'm glad to hear I have a little more leeway then the 1.5, but I am definitely calling the vet as soon as they open. My fear is that if Tigger goes DKA I will have to put him down - I can't afford the several thousand dollars for treatment; we spent that amount already & it's not there anymore. I'm trying to think positively, however.
AMPS is in 45 min. then food, then shot. I will increase the shot .25 to 1.25 this dose as previously suggested, then hold the dose 6 cycles & increase / decrease as indicated & suggested by FDMB members.
The rest of the cats are getting fed, so I may feed him a small amount of chicken breast & liquid so he doesn't get more stressed. I already know his AMPS will be high, probably over 400 again.
Tigger is acting pretty much the same, no apparent issues. We smelled his breath - no odor.
Tigger's 7/7/13 Condo
Thanks so much for hanging with us - nailbite_smile
