7/8 Tigger +11/384; AMPS/383; ketones up again 1.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone,

Thank you Jill & Alex for your later post. Apparently Tigger's ketones are rising back up with the elevated BG. I took them twice a few minutes apart: 1st = 1.1; 2nd = 1.0 +11 BG = 384 (even though I know it can be quite disparate - felt I needed to do something) I'm glad to hear I have a little more leeway then the 1.5, but I am definitely calling the vet as soon as they open. My fear is that if Tigger goes DKA I will have to put him down - I can't afford the several thousand dollars for treatment; we spent that amount already & it's not there anymore. I'm trying to think positively, however.

AMPS is in 45 min. then food, then shot. I will increase the shot .25 to 1.25 this dose as previously suggested, then hold the dose 6 cycles & increase / decrease as indicated & suggested by FDMB members.

The rest of the cats are getting fed, so I may feed him a small amount of chicken breast & liquid so he doesn't get more stressed. I already know his AMPS will be high, probably over 400 again.

Tigger is acting pretty much the same, no apparent issues. We smelled his breath - no odor.

Tigger's 7/7/13 Condo

Thanks so much for hanging with us - nailbite_smile
 
Re: 7/8 Tigger +11/384; ketones up again 1.1 & 1.0

Maybe mixing some of that liquid you boiled the chicken with, into his food, will help to flush those ketones, too.
 
Re: 7/8 Tigger +11/384; ketones up again 1.1 & 1.0

Oops - keep forgetting to post Tigger's Condo:

Tigger's Lantus posts

I also tested a clay patty from last night - ketones were negative. Poor way to test, I know.

Thanks again for all your help.
 
Re: 7/8 Tigger +11/384; ketones up again 1.1 & 1.0

Sending tons of ketones-be-gone vines for Tigger. Like Dyana said, lots of water.
Liz
 
Thanks for your support, everyone. I've added about 4 tablespoons water to 4 oz. food so far. Tigger usually gets water with his food, but I've doubled the amt. Will call vet @ 9Am to see about adding sub-q fluids.

Thanks again ~O)
 
Paws crossed that these ketone readings are not serious and a call to the vet will set your mind at rest. You are doing a great job monitoring Tigger. Let us know what you find out. Have you tested ketones this morning?
 
Hi, Thank you, Ann.

yes, I tested ketones again this morning - back up to 1.1. :YMSIGH:

Dr. S. is out of the office this week, but another vet will call today.

+1 BG is 333, so we're coming down a little. I sure hope we see some extended blue with this dose.......
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top