7/8 Tennessee PMPS 296 Home from vet +4 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea&Tennessee (GA)

Member Since 2014
Earlier today's info about his ultrasound
We made it home. He has had dinner and evening shot. Even with the reduced dose this am he was only 296 tonight.
For anyone who missed the earlier thread- he has congestive heart failure.
His breathing is still labored, but he seems happy to be home.

They also said that he has a fever, not quite sure why, but they did give him a shot of Covenia (I know, I know not the best choice- I was not consulted before they did it) He has had it before, and there is nothing I can do about it now.

They told me at the vet that he was eating like a champ. My BF called me while I was picking up and I told him my decision to try the meds. He was not 100% supportive, but he didn't give me any grief. So that is a start.
Both Tennie and his brother Quall go to the cardiologist next Thursday.

I am just going to take things day by day right now.
 
Earlier today's info about his ultrasound
We made it home. He has had dinner and evening shot. Even with the reduced dose this am he was only 296 tonight.
For anyone who missed the earlier thread- he has congestive heart failure.
His breathing is still labored, but he seems happy to be home.

They also said that he has a fever, not quite sure why, but they did give him a shot of Covenia (I know, I know not the best choice- I was not consulted before they did it) He has had it before, and there is nothing I can do about it now.

They told me at the vet that he was eating like a champ. My BF called me while I was picking up and I told him my decision to try the meds. He was not 100% supportive, but he didn't give me any grief. So that is a start.
Both Tennie and his brother Quall go to the cardiologist next Thursday.

I am just going to take things day by day right now.

I am sure Tennessee is happy to be home. As long as he is eating and happy that is a good sign. Hopefully the meds can help reduce the effects of the congestive heart. I don't know about kitties with this condition, but a friend of mine has CHF and has done remarkably well over the last 2 1/2 years.

Lots of positive energy and :bighug: sent your way.
 
by the way, there are 2 issues with convenia:

1) if the cat is allergic then it's in the body for about 2 weeks, and that's how long you're dealing with an allergic reaction. Obviously he's had it before and isn't allergic.

2) it was developed for skin infections and isn't always effective against other things. So just keep that in the back of your mind in case he doesn't respond to it. He may need a different AB.

Also, with acromegaly, he may have excess tissue in his throat and airways, so if he has to be intubated, you want to ask them to use a smaller size of tube than they would normally use.
 
it was developed for skin infections and isn't always effective against other things. So just keep that in the back of your mind in case he doesn't respond to it. He may need a different AB.
Julie, I think that this may have been part of the reason they gave it to him. The doctors seemed stumped about why his fur is falling out on his neck. Mayne they though the convenia would help? But probably not - just "convenient"
 
Scritches to sweet Tennie. I am so glad he's home! :bighug: He deserves a lot of cuddles today.

One day at a time, may tomorrow be a better day that today.
 
I'm so glad he's home... I bet you are, too!
Positive thoughts and healing vines coming your way.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:


I'm sorry to hi-jack your thread, but sometimes bits and pieces of a given subject are repeated often enough on the FDMB that before your know it they can soon form a new "fact"...
by the way, there are 2 issues with convenia:

1) if the cat is allergic then it's in the body for about 2 weeks, and that's how long you're dealing with an allergic reaction.
From Dr. Lisa's website: Covenia: Worth the risk?:

"Convenia (manufactured by Zoetis) is an injectable long-acting antibiotic that is labeled for the treatment of skin infections in cats and dogs. It exerts its antibacterial effects for approximately 1-2 weeks but stays in the body for over 2 months."

Dr. Lisa mentions "Adverse reactions may require prolonged treatment due to the prolonged systemic drug clearance (65 days)" is stated on the drug insert for Covenia.

Also from her web page, , "If an adverse reaction occurs after a short-acting drug is administered, the patient has a much greater chance of living through the event (if other than acute anaphylaxis) because the body will clear the offending drug, hopefully, within hours - not months, as is the case with Convenia."


I understand Covenia hasn't been a problem for Tennie nor has it been for every cat, but I wanted to throw this out there for those following along...
a prolonged systemic drug clearance of 65 days is a whole lot longer than the 2 weeks usually mentioned on the FDMB these days!
See the link to Dr. Lisa's article to learn more...



@julie & punkin (ga)
 
Just got his before bed check and he is at 299. Not too bad considering the reduced shot this AM, and his green episode at the vet last night.
He is wandering around looking for a good spot to sleep in. I'd assume that he might be uncomfortable after having a needle shoved in his side last night. It has also been quite warm here. I did install the air conditioner, so a couple of rooms downstairs are cooler. I think he's looking for a cool spot to sleep. Still having a great appetite and asking for treats, and I thought his breathing looked slightly better tonight. Although, again, he started purring as soon as he saw me so I really couldn't get a good respiration count for him.

Tomorrow is another day. Everyone hug your kitties tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top