7.8 Rufus AMPS 575, + 3.5 588, + 12.5 481, PMPS 511, +2 481 - should I bump up dose?

Sean & Rufus

Member Since 2018
Rufus has been back on the juice since Saturday morning. Plan was to keep him on 1 unit until next Sat and do a curve, but these numbers are atrocious. He did get in to some bad food yesterday AM. Should I stay the course, or bump up insulin now?
 
Hi there, I have been off the board recently, but thought I would give my 2 cents if you don’t get an answer soon. I would give this current dose at least a few more days until depot fills to know what the dose is doing, you really are not seeing the whole effect of this dose. I saw your previous post that he was on a higher dose before and he is a very big boy. It is very possible he won’t need the same dose as last time, so don’t be in too big a hurry to increase. Better to go up gradually than miss the right dose this time. Other more experienced users mays chime in, but I am offering advice on what I have seen in the past with other members, for what it’s worth...:)
 
Hi there, I have been off the board recently, but thought I would give my 2 cents if you don’t get an answer soon. I would give this current dose at least a few more days until depot fills to know what the dose is doing, you really are not seeing the whole effect of this dose. I saw your previous post that he was on a higher dose before and he is a very big boy. It is very possible he won’t need the same dose as last time, so don’t be in too big a hurry to increase. Better to go up gradually than miss the right dose this time. Other more experienced users mays chime in, but I am offering advice on what I have seen in the past with other members, for what it’s worth...:)
Yeah, he was up to 6.5 units and still in the 400's before!!! I think I will keep this dose for now, but gosh do I hate these numbers. I need to go pick up a box of ketone strips. We have a cardiologist appt today, and then hopefully can schedule a dental soon.
 
Were you giving Jones cyproheptadine at some point? Asking for Ozzie my CKD cat


Yes, Jones was on it daily. I liked it better than mirtz - more of a steady influence to get him to eat.
 
I hope Rufus sees some better numbers soon... and like Julie said, hopefully the dental will be the ticket to get him out of the trees :)

Have a nice day Sean :)
 
Were you giving Jones cyproheptadine at some point? Asking for Ozzie my CKD cat


Yes, Jones was on it daily. I liked it better than mirtz - more of a steady influence to get him to eat.
I think the Mirtz was working, but someone told me that it's not a good solution beyond a couple days. I remembered Jones was on this. Crossing fingers vet will prescribe for him.
 
In Jones' case, eating was more the point then the risk of long-term use. My vet was not concerned with either one long-term. I would still use the cypro though, mirtz made Jones' a little crazy with meowing and he would eat like crazy the first day and by day 3 not be eating anything.
 
Sean - where is your night time test data? Have you forgotten to enter it on the spreadsheet? ;) If not, please get into the habit again of getting that before bed test.

I wholeheartedly agree that Rufus looks like he need an increase, from the data you have. However, half the picture is missing. If you had gotten night tests showing nothing was happening then, I would have suggested an immediate increase. He needs to get out of this ugly numbers, as soon as safely possible. Remind me why you started with a 1 unit dose. Most kitties coming back from remission end up near the upper dose they were before. However, you also have the high carb kibble factor. It can take longer to get out of the system. Can you get a mid day test today and a +2 or later tonight? If so, then we can reevaluate the dose, and the carbs will be wearing off.

The link to your previous post, for connectivity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-7-rufus-amps-558-4-488-8-5-623.216518/ Please include those links with your daily posts, as it makes it much easier to go back and read history.
 
Sean - where is your night time test data? Have you forgotten to enter it on the spreadsheet? ;) If not, please get into the habit again of getting that before bed test.

I wholeheartedly agree that Rufus looks like he need an increase, from the data you have. However, half the picture is missing. If you had gotten night tests showing nothing was happening then, I would have suggested an immediate increase. He needs to get out of this ugly numbers, as soon as safely possible. Remind me why you started with a 1 unit dose. Most kitties coming back from remission end up near the upper dose they were before. However, you also have the high carb kibble factor. It can take longer to get out of the system. Can you get a mid day test today and a +2 or later tonight? If so, then we can reevaluate the dose, and the carbs will be wearing off.

The link to your previous post, for connectivity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-7-rufus-amps-558-4-488-8-5-623.216518/ Please include those links with your daily posts, as it makes it much easier to go back and read history.
I know I haven't gotten the +2 night test, I will tonight! Promise! The reason I started at 1 unit, was everyone telling me on FB to start at .25 or .5! There was no way I was going to start him at 6.5. I figured 1 was a good starting point.

We just got back from echo. Preliminary results (as told to me from the tech): enlarged heart, but could be his normal size since he's a BIG cat. No need for meds, and good to go for dental.

I will get and afternoon test, and a +2 tonight. He is now eating YA zero LID, turkey deli meat, and Friskies pate. Oh, I totally forgot about the condo inclusion. Will do. It's been a nightmare caring for these 2 cats. But gotta do, what we gotta do!
 
In Jones' case, eating was more the point then the risk of long-term use. My vet was not concerned with either one long-term. I would still use the cypro though, mirtz made Jones' a little crazy with meowing and he would eat like crazy the first day and by day 3 not be eating anything.
Of course the I couldn't remember the name of cypro at the vet, and she claims she's never heard of one starting with a "c". The tech said entice would work, too.
 
Hi Sean, glad you got an okay from the vet for the dental and no meds necessary for the heart.

I noticed you said you are giving Deli turkey meat. Keep in mind that a lot of the deli meats can have sugar added. Be mindful of that.

It looks like he needs more juice but you need to get those night time numbers so you know for sure that he isn’t dropping too low and bouncing up in the AM.
 
Hi Sean, glad you got an okay from the vet for the dental and no meds necessary for the heart.

I noticed you said you are giving Deli turkey meat. Keep in mind that a lot of the deli meats can have sugar added. Be mindful of that.

It looks like he needs more juice but you need to get those night time numbers so you know for sure that he isn’t dropping too low and bouncing up in the AM.
I saw that too and wanted to also mention deli meat is usually very high in sodium which is not the best for kitties. A very small amount once in awhile should be okay, but a lot may not be the best for your kitty.
 
I actually thought about sugar in the meat when I was driving home today. I just looked, it says 1g sugar per 4 slices. He was getting about 1 slice, so I think it should not have too much impact on him. You are right about sodium though, I'll be more careful about that!

I will definelty get some night time numbers tonight :)
 
I know I haven't gotten the +2 night test, I will tonight!
No need for meds, and good to go for dental.
Awesome!
The reason I started at 1 unit, was everyone telling me on FB to start at .25 or .5! There was no way I was going to start him at 6.5. I figured 1 was a good starting point.
Sigh. Too bad you didn't post here first. You will be doing SLGS since you are feeding dry food, but with a kitty on such high numbers and returning from the falls, we might have suggested something more. If he is still 24.5 lbs, TR would have you start at 2.5 units. If he stays red and black, I think we can entertain 0.5 unit increases until he starts seeing other colours.
 
Let's get those tests tonight and tomorrow, then decide whether/when to increase. If you can get six cycles of tests in a row, we can look again and see if he needs another increase. One other thing, are you testing daily for ketones? You should be in these high numbers.

Note to any lurkers, this suggestions is only for Sean and Rufus.
 
Let's get those tests tonight and tomorrow, then decide whether/when to increase. If you can get six cycles of tests in a row, we can look again and see if he needs another increase. One other thing, are you testing daily for ketones? You should be in these high numbers.

Note to any lurkers, this suggestions is only for Sean and Rufus.
Just tested ketones tonight. I will be testing daily. It was negative thankfully. I have put that in my spreadsheet too. Tested at +2 tonight, and is at 481 :(
 
Back
Top