7/8 Nala AMPS 112; PMPS 166 +6 45 Dosing Question Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

rosannaf

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone:

Thank you everyone who has taken the time to respond to my questions! I truly appreciate all the great advice and encouragement I have received on this board.

I need some advice regarding Nala. I think I may be ready for her first dose reduction. After reading the modified Tight Regulation Protocol, it states that I can reduce the dose by 0.25units if she is a newly diagnosed diabetic (Nala was diagnosed late May 2011) and if she drops below 50.

Some of Nala's PS numbers have been low, so I've been shaving the dose off a bit, but I'm thinking I should do a consistent 0.75u bid to see how she does. I'm a bit nervous to wait a few more days since I'm nervous about shooting a full 1.00u if her pre-shot numbers are getting closer to the low- mid 100s. Yes, I do have a hypo kit ready! :)

Thanks again!
Rosanna
 
hello, welcome to LL.

I'm not sure if this is your saturday condo/thread, but if you use this one, you'll want to update the title line with saturday's numbers, or you cab just begin a new one.

Sounds like you have gotten good info from previous condo, here is the link:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46544&p=499787#p499787

and congrats on the new dose, Nala is doing well, nice changes.
what happened after the 46 last nite? did you follow up?
Anytime you have numbers around there, you'll want to not only feed, but retest about 20 to 30 minutes later, just to make sure number goes up, and does no continue to drop, you don't want to hanging around in the 40's or lower, too long.

I see you are planning a vacation, is there anyway, your petsitter could learn to test? at least the preshots? Can you offer $$$? That might work, lol. I am currently petsitting for another member here, and althou there are incentives :lol: having my own diabetic kitty at home, I wouldn't dare shoot anyone else's kitty without preshot testing. That's in my contract! :lol:

I hope it works out for you and petsitter before you have to leave for your vacation.

PS: when is your vacation? so we dont keep asking, make a note in your spreadsheet comments, k?
 
Rosanna:

It sounds like you are basing your dosing decisions on pre-shot values. With Lantus, dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot numbers. Unless there is a compelling reason like you won't be home, you don't alter the dose. By the same token, when you get a 45 during the cycle, you need to continue to test. Based on the data in your SS, I couldn't honestly state that Nala's nadir is at +6. The nadir can move around and not every cat has a nadir at the mid-point of the cycle. (Gabby, for example, generally has her nadir at +3 or +4.) You have no idea if Nala would have tested at a 20 an hour or two before or after you got the 45. In other words, how about getting a +2 on a regular basis so you know where the cycle is going? For Nala's safety, I suggest you read this post on handling low numbers.

It's fine to reduce Nala's dose to 0.75u. However, you are reducing based on her having tested at 45 -- not based on her pre-shot values.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top