7/8 Musette AMPS 450, PMPS 375 +2~293

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Not a great start to the morning but at least I know why this time. Last night I was teaching DH how to test and shoot, he did great on testing, but I'm pretty sure the shot was a fur shot. She pulled the "Owie daddy!" card on him and he pulled out as he was pushing the plunger....Now granted she never even looks up when I give a shot, but with DH last night you would have thought he was giving the shot with a railroad spike..lol She cried and gave him her pouty face when he went to tent her skin to shoot, and well he is a sucker for her.

This is the same guy who a few weeks ago gave chase to a prowler wearing nothing more than a pair of boxer shorts and holding a crescent wrench but falls apart when a 6lb kitty cries at him. He is just such a softie when it comes to the critters

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang

Yesterday's Condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47156
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

At least it's good the your husband is willing to learn. Mine won't even think about it. Hope kitty does ok today.
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

Arrrggghhh...the dreaded fur shot!!! Oh, and thanks for the visual of your husband in his boxer's!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a great day!!!! :-D
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

:lol:
Simon (and most kitties I think) immediately sense any hesitation or such and take full advantage of it.
They also know their beans ;-)

Have a great day.
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

Well he isn't exactly willing but he is learning...lol. He is terrified that he is going to hurt one of the fur-babies, but I'm insisting that he learns because you never know when I'm not going to be able to be here when it is time to test and shoot. I pretty much taught him to test with Maxwell who is so laid back that nothing phases him, plus Maxwell is a big guy so Jon is more comfortable handling him.

Musette is just a tiny delicate little girl and she has her daddy wrapped around her little velvet paw. She so much as squeaks at him and he melts like an ice cube on a hot summer day. It is actually kind of funny that he is such a softie when you see him, he just doesn't look like he would be such a tender sole, he is a roofer so he is built, with a bald head and lots of tattoos and piercing, but when it comes to animals, and babies he is so gentle and caring, just one of the many reasons I love him.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

Jon sounds like a wonderful guy! And I can just picture the princess crying and daddy freaking out :lol:
They DO know how to control us, don't they? :-D
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

LOL I keep trying to tell him the needles are so thin that she barely feels the shots, but he still had a melt down when she rolled those big blue eyes up at him and let out that little pained mew. He spent a good half hour after than holding her and apologizing for hurting his wittle baby girl. And when he felt the dampness on her fur he was absolutely sure she was bleeding until I made him smell his fingers and he could smell the insulin. :lol:

It may take me months to get him to try a shot again...lol. So for now mom gets to be the big bad meany and poke the little princess while daddy gets to be the hero and scoop her up and cuddle her while telling her what a brute mommie is for sticking the baby. :roll:

And the only reason she squeaked at all was because she didn't get to go to her food dish right away, and she was hungry and wanted her dinner, normally I shoot her while her face is in the dish, but Jon had wanted better light so had her on the tolit seat instead of on the floor...men! Got to love them..lol If I had tried that move she would have hissed and popped me, for daddy she just give a plaintive cry. Somedays I wonder if I should be jealous...hehe

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

Awww, your hubby is such a teddy bear!

Is her fur growing back pretty well? I might've missed this -- why did they shave her in the first place?
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

I can sympathize with your hubby...those early shots, when we were first learning, were the toughest. I didn't think we'd ever get past the twitchie, ouchie level of shooting. And they kitties sure know how to lay on a guilt trip! He'll get there! You're right...it's definitely a good idea that both of you know how to shoot, just in case...
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

The fur shot was quite an event! Love the telling of it!! Now Musette, you can get your numbers back down as today progresses.
TGIF. Enjoy the prelude to the weekend!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

Next time, Jon sits on the floor by the bowl and you hold the flashlight! Good light and Museette's (or is it, "Mewsette"?) face is in her bowl!

Sorry about the fur shot and the AMPS.
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450 Fur Shot Last Night

Here hair is starting to come back slowly, but it took Maxwell about 6 months before he really got to looking like his was completely back, and he only has a single coat, Musette is a double coat and they have her shaved right down to the skin in some places, even nicked her with the clippers in a couple of spots.

The reason she and Maxwell were both shaved before I adopted them is the same reason, because they were so matted from neglect that they were in pain and in Musette's case, so matted she had trouble walking. Back when I adopted Maxwell I thought he looked like a trainwreck, but now with Musette here, and looking back at Maxwell's first pictures he was in GOOD shape compared to her. Musette was dxed back in March, and in the same breath DKA, while they treated her for the DKA they only kept her in the hospital 3 days, and sent her home with nothing for pain and no fluids. There are several notes in her old vet records where the vet actually chewed out her former owner for not giving insulin on a consistent basis. And finally where the vet himself, gave her former owner an ultimatium, of either treat her correctly or put her down to end her suffering. And yes, in her vet records her last owner was instructed to change her diet to canned, (not done), to test her at home (not done) or bring her back for curves (not done) and to treat her for a UTI (not done). I'm actually very surprised this little girl made it as long as she has, she definitely has a fighting spirit and an enormous will to live. That is one of the reasons she was with her foster dad for 3 weeks before we even tried to transport her out here, we had to get fluids in her, and clear the UTI. Also probably why her former owner took her to a different vet to have her PTS, since it sounds like original vet really cared about her and was pretty ticked at her former owner. Some people just make me want to strangle them.

Now in Maxwell's case his former mom loved him dearly, but she was elderly and got sick and had to be put in a nursing home. She asked that I stay in touch with her grand-daughter so that she could know how he was doing and I do email her every so often and send her pictures of her best boy. Her motives to have him PTS if a home couldn't be found I understand, but Musette's former owner I would as soon strangle as ever have the displeasure of meeting.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/8 Musette AMPS 450, +2~306, +4~252,+6~258

LOL Sienne you apparently have never seen our bathroom, it is definitely not a two person room. You just about have to back out the door to change your mind.. :lol:

Then you add one guy, one cat, a food dish, a water bowl, and a litter box, and you have no more room. But it is the room we have always used for new arrivals and to socialize ferals and strays because there is very few places they can hide, and nothing they can break...lol The feral twins Sophia and Tre'Vona took care of all the breakables in there in about 30 minutes the first day we brought them home. They even broke some of the things we thought weren't breakable, like the tolit paper holder, striped that right off the wall. Tore up the tile around the stool trying to burrow their way out etc. However, if you would meet them today, you would never know that they were a two kitten wrecking team, they are two of the sweetest little lap cats, well once you get them off the door frames, bookshelves, or the top of the frig...in their book UP is good, really high up even better.

I never have to look under things for either of them...just look up! But they aren't nearly as bad as our yearling tux male, Myrrdin, also known as the Sh*tten, to this day I have no clue how he got the tolit paper from the bathroom in the back of the house, out of a baby locked cabinet, into the livingroom in the front of the house and over the ceiling fan, in the time it took me to take the dog outside and check the mailbox..but he did!

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top