7/8 Heart PMPS 218 (lowest ever) Shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dodgingwrenches

Member Since 2010
Heart is due for his shot now, but his PMPS is the lowest ever. It's because he's been boycotting the food and being picky for his favourite flavour. I have to leave in 15 minutes for two hours, but I'm not sure if I should be giving his full dose??
 
that is plenty high to shoot, go for it! Leave out food and test again when you get home. He'll be perfectly fine. :smile:
 
I decreased a little and gave a skinny 3.0 instead of the usual 3.5 (read that sticky - finally understand what the title meant haha). The reason I worry, is because I know that he often by +3 has dropped around 180 points (10 full mmol) and at that PMPS can't really afford to drop that much. Stupid thing is also I only have two test strips left to tide me over until tomorrow when my mom can go to Costco again to get me more. I do have a back-up meter though with strips if needed
 
Given that you are beginning to see good numbers, I'd encourage you to always have at minimum, 25 strips on hand. If you have an evening of low numbers, you can be testing every 15 - 20 min. You'll go through a lot of strips. It's dangerous to be in a position of low numbers and no strips. You have a great deal of control if you have HC food and strips.

I'd suggest checking out prices for strips on-line.
 
Heart's +2.5 was at 283, so I gave him the remaining 0.5 for his dose. Basically following the protocol (which I re-read) where it talked about feeding the cat and splitting the dose when you have low pre-shot values. I'm pretty sure it was only that low due to his temporary hunger strike, so once he got his favourite Tuna Supreme, all was better
 
I decreased a little and gave a skinny 3.0 instead of the usual 3.5 (read that sticky - finally understand what the title meant haha). The reason I worry, is because I know that he often by +3 has dropped around 180 points (10 full mmol) and at that PMPS can't really afford to drop that much. Stupid thing is also I only have two test strips left to tide me over until tomorrow when my mom can go to Costco again to get me more. I do have a back-up meter though with strips if needed
something we probably don't say often enough... you're not going to see as big a drop from a lower preshot number as you'll see from a higher preshot number. for example, my cat's amps today was 78. i shot her full dose. her nadir was 72.

when you have a preshot number over 150-180, there's really no reason not to shoot the full dose when using lantus or levemir.

Heart's +2.5 was at 283, so I gave him the remaining 0.5 for his dose. Basically following the protocol (which I re-read) where it talked about feeding the cat and splitting the dose when you have low pre-shot values. I'm pretty sure it was only that low due to his temporary hunger strike, so once he got his favourite Tuna Supreme, all was better
splitting the dose is probably my least favorite of the options because it tends to stretch the cycle (two nadirs). although, some have found this method to work well when they know the next shot will be a late one. however, in the long run it generally messes with the shed.
 
Jill & Alex said:
something we probably don't say often enough... you're not going to see as big a drop from a lower preshot number as you'll see from a higher preshot number. for example, my cat's amps today was 78. i shot her full dose. her nadir was 72.

Even with higher doses though? You cats dose is tiny compared to mine :) I give heart 3.5 units at the moment. Actually wondering if I should be increasing?
 
dodgingwrenches said:
Jill & Alex said:
something we probably don't say often enough... you're not going to see as big a drop from a lower preshot number as you'll see from a higher preshot number. for example, my cat's amps today was 78. i shot her full dose. her nadir was 72.

Even with higher doses though? You cats dose is tiny compared to mine :) I give heart 3.5 units at the moment. Actually wondering if I should be increasing?
yes, even with higher doses. heart's dose is the amount of insulin he needs to pull numbers down. the amount of the dose varies with each kitty, but the concept remains the same. see lucy's spreadsheet for an example of a kitty requiring a higher dose of insulin: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pxNq2x6hL_rqtqiTH9HhWUw.

ca you get some nadir checks today and tonight? they'll give us a better idea of what's going on before increasing the dose...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top