7/8 Billie PMPS 239 +2 139 +3.5 52 +4.25 55 +4.75 56 +5.5 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Good morning everyone!!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121406

I'm wondering about increasing Billie's dose back to 1.5. We reduced to 1.25 on 7/6 after I saw a 46 on 7/5, but I do think she is trending up now, especially with this AMPS. I don't see any big drops or unusually low numbers from yesterday that could have caused a bounce, so I don't know why she would be this high. I'll see what she does throughout this cycle, but I'm wondering if it would be okay to increase tonight if I'm still seeing high numbers. Let me know what you think!

I hope everyone has a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 7/8 Billie AMPS 273 +4 230 failed reduction?

If it were me, I'd hold the dose a bit longer. I think what you're seeing is another bounce. Billie dropped from 219 to 86 by +4 yesterday. The relatively fast drop may be the cause for the yellows today. In addition, this dose is bringing Billie's numbers as low as 60 which isn't a bad range for your kitty to hang out in.
 
Re: 7/8 Billie AMPS 273 +4 230 failed reduction?

I might give it one more cycle, just because the quick drop yesterday from 219 to 86 at +4.5 might have something to do with the higher numbers.

The 80's are a good place to be (I think the 60's were probably carryover from the prior dose) but we don't want them continuing to trend up either

Sure would be great if everything was either black or white, without all this grey, wouldn't it?
 
Re: 7/8 Billie AMPS 273 +4 230 failed reduction?

Thank you Sienne and Chris! I'll see where she is at tonight. I do see what you're saying about the big PS to +4 drop causing a bounce. I'm just thinking this may be something different, because she often has those mega drops early in the cycle, and her bounces generally clear sooner. The move from flat blue last night to yellow today is what is throwing me off...but of course, she's a cat, so it's hard to draw any conclusions :roll: :lol:
 
Re: 7/8 Billie AMPS 273 +4 230 failed reduction?

C'mon down Billie! I, of course, have no dosing advice, just want to add encouragement. She will slide out of this quickly, I am sure! :smile:
 
Re: 7/8 Billie AMPS 273 +4 230

Whoa!! You guys were absolutely right about this being a bounce!! I was going light on the pokes today since she was high, but I noticed that she was acting unusually hungry just now so I gave her a snack and tested. +6.5 53! :shock: Billie, how did you get all the way down there from 230 at +4?? She has never done anything that crazy before, especially this late in the cycle! She is eating more food now and I'll test again in a bit.

Ruth, thank you for the encouragement!! It's always much appreciated :-D
 
Re: 7/8 Billie AMPS 273 +4 230 +6.5 53 +7 57

Don't you just love it when they do that? NOT!!

Time to hop on your surfboard Billie...you proved your point...LOL

I think you'd better hold on to this dose for awhile longer, Deanna! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/8 Billie AMPS 273 +4 230 +6.5 53 +7 57 +8 52

I sure will! :shock: I'm pretty baffled, because usually she makes her big drops somewhere between PS and +4. This is the first time she has saved it for later on, and the first time she has been so dramatic to dive from yellow to the 50s! She's hanging out on the surfboard now :mrgreen: I will not be surprised if I see a bounce later!
 
Re: 7/8 Billie AMPS273 +4 230 +6.5 53 +7 57 +8 52 +9 72 +10

looking good here!

are you giving her 2 tsps of regular low carb when she hits the green numbers? sometimes that can prolong the green surf.

all these hours spent in green will help her get used to the green numbers and hopefully reduce the bouncing.
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239

Thanks Julie! I have been giving her about 2 teaspoons of her 5% food when she hits green and usually more if she gets close to 50. Today, I gave her some at +6.5 and +8. I do hope the bouncing stops in general. I'm not surprised to see this bounce tonight after today's crazy drop. I hope she breaks it soon, but in a less dramatic fashion!!
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239

Another example where the bean mentions possible dosecrease and the cat responds. :mrgreen: :cool:

It's great that Billie told you she was going low so you could respond. Paws crossed for a slower slide down tonight.
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239

Thank you Wendy! Yes, it's bizarre how that works... The same thing happened last week when I was starting to wonder if we should go back to 1.75. She responded with a 46 at +2 which led to the 1.25 decrease! I am very glad that she let me know something was up and that I was here to respond.

When it happened, I just thought "whoa...time to eat" but as it is sinking in, I am now getting freaked out wondering what if she has had crazy dives like this that I didn't even know about because I thought she was staying flat and went out or went to bed after a +4 test. There have been a few occasions where I have even called it a night at +3 if she looked flat, because I got used to her early drops and never expected her to do anything crazy past +4. I have been sufficiently scared out of having any expectations at all! :shock: I will definitely be setting a +6 alarm from now on!
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239 +2 139 +3.5 52

when a cat clears a bounce it can get a lot of momentum, depending on how high they start from. Billie seems to kinda do things her own way.

I don't know how you could have predicted that dive in today's day cycle, though. Hindsight often makes things clearer, and then you can apply it (sometimes) for the next time. One thing to notice is that it was almost exactly 24 hrs from yesterday's "low numbers event" - the 87 at am+6 - until she cleared the bounce and was back at 53. as she spends more time in green, she *might* start clearing them faster, but for now with the next bounce, i'd be watching for her to clear bounces in less than 24 hrs.
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239 +2 139 +3.5 52 +4.25 55

Thanks Julie - she does seem to have her own way of doing things :lol: Apparently she was in a mad rush to get back to the 50s, because here we are!! :mrgreen: I didn't expect her to clear tonight's bounce so quickly, but that's nice to see.
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239 +2 139 +3.5 52 +4.25 55

as intensive as this is for you, this is great. to have her back in green numbers and staying there so much of the day is fantastic for her body.

i'm just glad that you don't need to sleep more than a half hour at a time! ;-) *whew* it is so inconvenient when people need to sleep longer than that. :lol:
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239 +2 139 +3.5 52 +4.25 55 +4.75 56

:lol: Yes, I think I'm becoming a bit nocturnal. I work from home (thank goodness for that), so I have actually been getting some assignments done during these late hours...until I start to feel cross-eyed. Then, I drink cherry coke and watch Netflix. Not so bad! :-D I am happy to see Billie in good numbers, and it seems like she feels good. She is starting to lose patience with the frequent poking though. She just started trying to hide under the bed, so I have been keeping the bedroom door shut and camping out in the living room when she is surfing low like this. Poor Billieboo :sad:
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239 +2 139 +3.5 52 +4.25 55 +4.75 56

are you using the neosporin with pain relief on her ears? whenever i had to poke punkin frequently, i slathered on the ointment, then wiped most of it off before the next test. it was very helpful.

mmmmm cherry coke. drinking24
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239 +2 139 +3.5 52 +4.25 55 +4.75 56

I am using the Neosporin with pain relief ointment after every poke and slathering it on. I'm sure it would be worse without that! I sometimes wonder if I am slathering too much, because it spreads when she grooms herself, and it ends up looking like she has gelled the fur on top of her head. I guess it's a fashion statement.
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239 +2 139 +3.5 52 +4.25 55 +4.75 56

:lol: ok that might be a tad too much! ;-) it's supposed to stay on her ear!

there have been people who've said their cat got diarrhea from it, so if she's consuming it, that might not be so good.
 
Re: 7/8 Billie PMPS 239 +2 139 +3.5 52 +4.25 55 +4.75 56

Yeah, that can't be good! I hadn't really thought about it but I'm probably going overboard if she's ending up with a faux hawk...I'll have to back off a little :oops: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top