7/8 Baxter| amps 199, +5 73, +5.25 85, need to check again before leaving for a few hours?

Baxterandbess

Member Since 2025
I know we want green 💚 but should I be nervous about higher 199 amps with 73 at +5? I gave him a little bit of carby food before testing again and he went up to 85 after 15 min. Should I watch him for the afternoon to make sure he doesn't keep dipping? We just increased a half unit last night.

PS got labs back from yesterday's bloodwork.. added that to his sheet under labs.

Link to previous post
 
What percent of "carby" food did you give? And how much. Normally higher carb food can last for two hours and then wear off. For that first green, as long as above 50, try giving just low carb food next time.
 
On the labs, I see some progression in kidney numbers. Not uncommon for acrocats. At what time did you go to the vet for the blood work and urinalysis? Urine is typically more concentrated first thing in the morning. One possibility is getting a first in the morning sample and running it to the vet if they have a spectrometer to check the USG (urine specific gravity). Kidney numbers will also be higher if they are dehydrated.
 
What percent of "carby" food did you give? And how much. Normally higher carb food can last for two hours and then wear off. For that first green, as long as above 50, try giving just low carb food next time.
I can't remember the exact content on the label except it counted as high carb on the chart. I only gave him about a quarter of the 3oz can, mixed with a little of his regular food.
 
On the labs, I see some progression in kidney numbers. Not uncommon for acrocats. At what time did you go to the vet for the blood work and urinalysis? Urine is typically more concentrated first thing in the morning. One possibility is getting a first in the morning sample and running it to the vet if they have a spectrometer to check the USG (urine specific gravity). Kidney numbers will also be higher if they are dehydrated.
It was later in the afternoon. I guess what I find odd is that the ratio was lower but the numbers were higher. He has been a bit dehydrated. What is the concentration you mention referring to? Specific gravity? Nothing came up in his urine this time. I can't remember what time of day he got his last urinalysis that showed trace protien... but they said they found cocci bacteria in it even though the report didn't detect it after running it through labs..
 
The decision about whether you can leave for a few hours depends on a few things. First, where in the cycle is he compared to his nadir. If past nadir, the insulin should be wearing off. You can also check his blood sugar again and see if he's continuing to go up or staying flat. If still trending up, you can probably leave for a few hours. Plus you can leave out some low carb food for him to snack on.

His labs urinalysis show a USG of 1.015.
 
The decision about whether you can leave for a few hours depends on a few things. First, where in the cycle is he compared to his nadir. If past nadir, the insulin should be wearing off. You can also check his blood sugar again and see if he's continuing to go up or staying flat. If still trending up, you can probably leave for a few hours. Plus you can leave out some low carb food for him to snack on.

His labs urinalysis show a USG of 1.015.
Where I checked him was right about where his nadir usually lands (although sometimes it can be hard to tell when his numbers are higher) but it seemed like they were moving upward over the coarse of 45 min.

Is this an example of a time I would want to do a .25u reduction? He's on the second cycle of increase from 6 to 6.5u.
 
Back
Top