7/8 - Alice: AMBG 116: PMPS 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

Geneva

Member Since 2014
Well, here I am, wondering if I should skip again! UPDATE: Skipped again. Will do a +1 and/or +2 before work.

I can do a +1 and possibly squeeze in a +2 before I leave for work, but I still worry about her going too low while I'm not here. I'll be back for lunch around +6 time.
 
Re: 7/8 Alice AMPS 116

Good morning! You can either skip again, or you can stall without feeding and retest in 30 min. and see if her # comes up. That will tell you if she is rising or not and how much. If you stall, lets say by an hour, then you have to wait 12 hours til pm shot, from the time you give am shot. If you do stall also, I would not shoot unless she comes up over 200. Since you cant be home to monitor, then you might want to just skip again. It looks like she hasnt come up much since you skipped last night. Also, if you are stalling, put "stalling" in your subject line to attract someone who may have more experience than me to advise you. Remeber, if you dont feel comfortable shooting, then dont!
 
Re: 7/8 Alice AMPS 116

Laura&Chichi said:
Remeber, if you dont feel comfortable shooting, then dont!

Thanks again, Laura! As I updated in my OP, I did decide to skip again.

Yes, I just have to remember: if I don't feel comfortable, don't shoot (AND don't panic!) :lol:

Alice seems to have gotten the hang of all this much better than I have! DH, ever the logical engineer, said before leaving for work - "every skipped dose is less Lantus you have to buy in the long run" - :cool:
 
Re: 7/8 Alice AMBG 116

I think you did the right thing by skipping. I was reading your previous post and see that you stopped the treats that might have been too high carb. Could be that just by eliminating those treats have helped lower her #s. I was a little surprised you didnt have a bounce from the skipped shot last night, but she may still bounce so dont be shocked if she does go higher today.I am currently stalling myself this am. I got a 91, and now after 30 min. a 74! Luckily Im off and home today to monitor.Our priority is to keep them safe! Have a great day. Oh, and I would still get another test in before you leave if possible.
 
Re: 7/8 Alice AMBG 116

Good job on the skipping. Interesting to see where she goes today. If she stays between 40-150 don't shoot if she gets above 150 start her back on insulin at .75u

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/8 Alice AMBG 116

Look at Alice go! looks like her pancreas might be sputtering back to life a bit! Totally applaud you skipping, it was absolutely the right call. :RAHCAT
 
Re: 7/8 Alice: AMBG 116: + 2 139:

Thank you SO MUCH for the encouragement, ladies! Gives me some confidence that maybe, just maybe, I can figure this all out eventually! :-D

Alice's +2 this morning was 139. I'll do a +6 or +7 when I go home for lunch.

To paraphrase Forest Gump, treating this diabetic cat is like a box of chocolates, because I never know what I'm gonna get! :lol:
 
Re: 7/8 Alice AMBG 116

MommaOfMuse said:
Good job on the skipping. Interesting to see where she goes today. If she stays between 40-150 don't shoot if she gets above 150 start her back on insulin at .75u

Mel - well, she just passed the 150 mark with a +6 of 193.

DH gets home from work before I do, so I'm going to ask him to do a test at +9. I'll be home in time for the PMPS.
Should we stay at .75 even if she's up above 200 or give her the whole 1.0 dose?

Guess we'll just see how high she gets in the next 4.5 hours. Although yesterday she went DOWN before the PMPS. :?
 
Re: 7/8 Alice: AMBG 116: + 2 139: +6 193

I'd stick with the .75 for several days to let her settle in on that dose. Lantus builds up in their system and the way she straight lined down on you yesterday makes it look like 1u might be too much for her. I have 3 diabetic cats all weigh roughly the same but one has been off insulin for almost 4 years one is on .5 and the other is on 1.25 so every cat is different.

Btw Bless you for taking Alice in after she lost her family. All 3 of mine are adopted as diabetic as well. They are truly very special cats and you'll form a bond with them like no other cat.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/8 Alice: AMBG 116: + 2 139: +6 193

DH did a +10 = 282.

Mel - I told him your recommendation of shooting .75u tonight and he thinks that a good idea based on your explanation. Thanks again for your help! I truly appreciate it!
 
Re: 7/8 Alice: AMBG 116: + 2 139: +6 193

You're welcome. That's what we're here for. Just paying it forward from when we were scared newbies.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/8 Alice: AMBG 116: + 2 139: +6 193

The 282 could be a bounce. Panic not. Stay the course at .75
 
Re: 7/8 Alice: AMBG 116: + 2 139: +6 193

Aren't all these people wonderful? They are absolutely, personally responsible for my cat being healthier today than she was a month ago when I found this site. They know what they're talking about! I hope things stabilize for your kitty quickly after her body gets used to having sufficient insulin in the system again. I know that panicky feeling far too well!
 
Re: 7/8 Alice: AMBG 116: PMPS 286

LindaMS said:
The 282 could be a bounce. Panic not. Stay the course at .75

PMPS was 286 and we did not panic (for once)! :lol:

atajev said:
Aren't all these people wonderful? They are absolutely, personally responsible for my cat being healthier today than she was a month ago when I found this site.

In total agreement, atajev. The support and knowledge and generosity so freely shared is amazing. party_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top