7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 PMPS 545 Sunshine AMPS PMPS 288331

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 Sunshine AMPS 331

It'll get better just gotta get a good solid baseline so we can figure out how best to proceed.

From Venita's post it sounds like you have a lot on your plate. So what is a normal day like for you? Trying to figure out how best for you to get some extra spot checks in. Lord knows I understand a busy schedule even though I'm home 24/7 with 17 animals, a hubby and a new house to keep up on as well as one to get ready to sell my own is so busy sometimes I think I need a job to get a break lol.

As far as your vacation that's coming up. If the sitter won't test but will give insulin I would take two used syringes and fill them with each cat's dose using colored water and mark them according to which cat gets what. That way the sitter can use those to cross check their doses against them.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 Sunshine AMPS 331

Thanks, Mel!

As far as the cat sitter shooting...my concern is that it might not be safe for J & S. Now that I'm finally testing, when I see some of their low numbers, I cringe, because I think of all the times I could have been blindly shooting them when that shot could have killed them. (Maybe I'm being too nutty, though.) My vet told me over and over, "There's no way you'll push these cats hypo. No way." Even though she knew they were on a low-carb diet. Anyway, that's my concern, even though it's precisely what I was doing for over a year.

My schedule right now isn't too bad. I usually leave for work 7:45-8:00, then get home 5:15-5:30, unless I have something post-work. I try to get into bed by 10:30, since I have to get up no later than 6:30 (and I'm one of those people who don't function well on less than 8 hrs of sleep). Weekends I take care of all the stuff that I couldn't get done during the week - errands, yardwork, housework. Which can make it hard even on weekends to get in extra tests, but I am trying!

Once classes start in the fall, I'll have class until 7:00 on Tues and Wed nights (I think - 2 nights, anyway) and get home 7:15-7:30. Those nights make getting even +12 hard. I have 2 years of classes left (working on my PhD).

I also take care of my 2 cats, Squeaker and Lucky, my must-be-kept-isolated permanent foster cat Zanzibar, and the not-my-cat who has decided to live with me, Simon. And attempt to take care of myself, too! LOL

It sounds like you have a lot going on, too! 17 cats, wow. 6 has pushed me beyond my limit!
 
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 Sunshine AMPS 331

Nope not nuts...I'm Hypo paranoid as well since I lost my first FD kitty to an hypo overnight.

So what might work for you is something similar to my testing schedule. I test preshots then a spot check at lunch which works out to be their +6, then again right before I go to bed at about their +3. Now granted you probably don't have a chance to get the noon check daily. So perhaps get that one on the weekend. And if you can squeeze it in a mini curve (testing every 3 hours) every couple weeks.

When the vacation gets closer we'll just lower their doses if necessary to keep them safe while you're gone.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 Sunshine AMPS 331

That sounds good.

I leave late this Friday afternoon, so vacation is coming up pretty quickly!
 
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 Sunshine AMPS 331

Wow, those are some numbers! I know exactly what you mean about being horrified at all the times you shot blindly without any understanding of the potential consequences. If I hadn't found this website and started testing a LOT more at home before I switched my cat to wet food, she would be dead almost certainly.

We're going away for the weekend for the first time since diagnosis, too, but I'm very lucky that Mona has steadied out on her current drop dose.
 
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 PMPS 545 Sunshine AMPS PMPS 288

Yes, it really is scary! Glad your Mona is doing better.

Mel, it seems like Sunny's lower dose might possibly be helping. Could Jibbit's dose also be too high?
 
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 PMPS 545 Sunshine AMPS PMPS 288

Its very possible. Too much and too little insulin can look exactly alike. Can you ketone test? If yes then let's experiment by cutting his dose in half and see if 1u gives you better numbers.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 PMPS 545 Sunshine AMPS PMPS 288

I do have an unopened bottle of ketone strips, so I moved him down to 1u this morning. Instructions on when I need to use the strips very appreciated!
 
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 PMPS 545 Sunshine AMPS PMPS 288

Anytime you can catch him peeing in the litter box. Ideally once a day but that is usually subject to the cat allowing a mere mortal in on when they're headed to the potty. :oops:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 PMPS 545 Sunshine AMPS PMPS 288

Sounds good. Thanks, Mel! And I'm so sorry - I should have said how sorry I am that you lost a kitty to an overnight hypo. :( I don't intend to be insensitive! I'm just a bit overwhelmed with everything.
 
Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 PMPS 545 Sunshine AMPS PMPS 288

Don't be sorry Hon. Muse has been at the Bridge for a little over 4 years. Yes, I still miss her but I smile when I remember her now. Plus because of her becoming diabetic and passing away I found this board, then DCIN, which got me Maxwell, Musette (GA passed due to anemia), and Autumn. Cassanova was a local failed foster but but the other 3 were adopted from the Diabetic Kitty Store. So for as much as it hurt to lose Muse she left me with a wonderful legacy.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top