Re: 7/8/14 - Jibbit AMPS 492 Sunshine AMPS 331
Thanks, Mel!
As far as the cat sitter shooting...my concern is that it might not be safe for J & S. Now that I'm finally testing, when I see some of their low numbers, I cringe, because I think of all the times I could have been blindly shooting them when that shot could have killed them. (Maybe I'm being too nutty, though.) My vet told me over and over, "There's no way you'll push these cats hypo. No way." Even though she knew they were on a low-carb diet. Anyway, that's my concern, even though it's precisely what I was doing for over a year.
My schedule right now isn't too bad. I usually leave for work 7:45-8:00, then get home 5:15-5:30, unless I have something post-work. I try to get into bed by 10:30, since I have to get up no later than 6:30 (and I'm one of those people who don't function well on less than 8 hrs of sleep). Weekends I take care of all the stuff that I couldn't get done during the week - errands, yardwork, housework. Which can make it hard even on weekends to get in extra tests, but I am trying!
Once classes start in the fall, I'll have class until 7:00 on Tues and Wed nights (I think - 2 nights, anyway) and get home 7:15-7:30. Those nights make getting even +12 hard. I have 2 years of classes left (working on my PhD).
I also take care of my 2 cats, Squeaker and Lucky, my must-be-kept-isolated permanent foster cat Zanzibar, and the not-my-cat who has decided to live with me, Simon. And attempt to take care of myself, too! LOL
It sounds like you have a lot going on, too! 17 cats, wow. 6 has pushed me beyond my limit!