7/8/10 Harley PMPS 394

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Another day, another try to get numbers better. Harley was 389 this AM. Not crying for food as usual, so I thought something was wrong. He was sleeping - what a dear.

Contacted vet to let her know about doing same shot AM & PM. Will try begin tonight.

Everyone - have a great day.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19123
 
Back up to about 400 tonight. I am trying to get the dose to be the same.

Just a thought. Since I am trying to lower his food intake to just 2 cans FF and a couple snacks of raw cooked chicken, could he be getting TOO much insulin? He usually would eat 3-4 cans FF plus snacks. Again, so afraid of the dreaded ketones that I really hate to lower the insulin too much.

He does go the the U of MN on Saturday. Since he gives up eating when he gets there, I don't think they would be able to regulate him, but when he gets home it would be ideal to begin a different dosage.

Any thoughts?

Pattie
 
don't try to reduce his calories too much all at once. Have you read Dr. Lisa's obesity page? http://www.catinfo.org/feline_obesity.htm

Gradual is better, just like for people. Each time you feed him, put the amount you would normally feed into the bowl, then remove a small spoonful. Do that each meal. After a while, remove a little bigger spoonful each time. Reducing calories too quickly can case problems like hepatic lipidosis, and maybe ketones too.

If he won't eat at the U, then you'll definitely want to reduce his dose by a good bit, and/or leave them specific instructions about what dose to shoot at certain numbers.

Finally, I don't think Harley is getting too much insulin. I only see the one green number so far, and you're doing a good amount of testing so while you might have missed a green or two, you're not missing a ton of them and I don't think you're missing anything super low. I think you'll see the numbers level out once Harley is on a consistent dose. Once that happens, we'll have a better idea of what this dose is doing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top