7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99325 (pics of Jupes paw)

Once again Jupiters AMBG was low this AM – 55, so we decided to skip again. We are having a very very hard time getting Jupiter to eat anything. He seems fine for about the 2 hours prior to us giving the antibiotics and almost the rest of the day he is spending hiding.


Concerns:

***Last night I got him to eat just a few small bites of a FF appetizer. I am going to call the vet tomorrow and ask them if they will PLEASE change the antibiotic. I am starting to get really scared and concerned about him not eating.

***am I going to need to change to a different kind of litter for when he has surgery? we used a tidy cats kind and we have 1 box with scoopable and 1 box the clay cat litter that just gets thrown out. The day he went to the vet and came home he got a bunch of litter stuck on him on that spot. I have had a really hard time transitioning him to a different kind of litter before and he would pee on the floor. I would REALLY prefer to start transitioning him a few days before the surgery so i can add the new litter to the old litter and get him used to it so he doesnt pee on the floor



Does anyone have any suggestions on what kind of cat litter we should try? Something that wont get stuck to his paw after surgery?





Todays Numbers:
AMPS-55
Skipped shot
+7.75-46
PMPS-67
Skipped shot

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-55
SKIPPED SHOT
+2-54
+4.5-35 (fed lots of HC gravy)
+5-48 (fed lots more HC gravy)
+5.5-53
+6.25-68
+7.75-76
+10.25-65
PMPS-54
SKIPPED SHOT
+2-44
+3.75-42
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

Love that number this morning! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :sad: Will he have a bandage on his leg? We use Sweet Scoop litter. Anne remembered sleeping in damp sheets to cool off in Arkansas in the summer.
Liz
ETA: The litter name is Swheat scoop, made from wheat.
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

I have seen some vets use a litter called "Yesterday's News" after surgery. It is made up of pellets of recycled newspaper. It is more expensive than other litters, and it has to be changed more often, but you don't have to use a lot. My cat recently had leg surgery, and it was not comfortable for him to stand deep in the litter. I just used a sprinkling of Yesterday's News on top of an absorbent pad (a towel would work). This also worked with a thin sprinkling of his usual litter on the pad. He just needed a bit of the litter to scratch in and to get the scent. Perhaps you just need to make the litter less deep?

My own vet also uses shredded paper (not newspaper) for hospitalized patients. Things like used office paper and mail are shredded in fine strips and placed in litter boxes. Most cats don't mind using this in the hospital, from what I have seen. Perhaps a thin layer of his litter with a topping of the shredded paper might work?

You are totally correct in wanting to transition him gradually to the new set up.
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

Since you're planning on talking to the vet, I'd ask what they recommend for litter.
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

PetSmart carries a big pellet paper litter I've tried - it's not their favorite by any means but they DID use it. It's too big to stick to anything...here's a link to it:

http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=11272884&lmdn=Litter&f=PAD/psNotAvailInUS/No

Another thought in advance - he'll probably need a cone so he won't lick and chew stitches....you might want to look at the soft cones discussed a short time ago...not sure who's condo...anyone remember?

HUGS!
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

We have tried plain shredded paper before... and they would not use the box and ended up peeing on the floor..

The day he went to the vet they cleaned the sore a bit and it was raw and bleeding for a while... since it was raw whenever he went into the box the litter stuck to that area... and it was really hard to wash off. I am going to try to get a new litter box that is more shallow before the surgery if I can... like something a little easier for him to step into... both of our boxes are pretty tall


thanks for the suggestions...

is the yesterdays news litter scented that you know of? the reason I would like to try to transition him is to get the litters mixed together so he slowly gets used to the new scent and stuff so he will actually use it instead of peeing on the floor



I am honestly thinking it might be better if we could go with some kind of scented litter. They like to pile the litter over it after they go pee/poo so they cant smell it anymore...and he likes to sniff around in the box to find a clean spot to go
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

Perhaps a thin layer of his litter with a topping of the shredded paper might work?

I was thinking this might work but I am worried about the clay cat litter still getting stuck to him... I mean it was so hard to wash off and when I called the vet about it they said try rinsing it off under running water.... which he will not let me get him anywhere near running water... so I put a towel underneath him laying down and used a cup to pour water over it.... it still didnt work well though and didnt get it all off.... he ended up cleaning the remaining stuff off himself
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

I believe that they have scented and unscented available. I have used the unscented, which smells sort of like paper. The pellets are about an inch long and are fairly hard. They also have one that has a softer texture, which I have not tried. You mentioned that you were going to call your vet tomorrow. If you go to the office, perhaps you can ask them what they recommend, and ask them if they can give you a small sample of whatever they use to take home and try, before you buy a big bag of it.

Here is a link to the Yesterday's News website: http://www.yesterdaysnews.com/Products/CatLitter.aspx
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

Okay I will ask the vet about the litter and sample tomorrow when I call. Thanks for that suggestion! great idea :-D
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

If Jupiter's appetite is still iffy, you may want to consider asking the vet for an appetite stimulant.

ETA: You told me you have some cyproheptadine on hand. If Jupiter does not eat by this evening, you might want to give him 1/4 of that 4mg tablet.
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

What a better looking number today,I have seen those soft cones on amazon and ebay,ebay cheaper by far. Mine hate all the paper have had to put it down a few time and yes they pee on the floor :smile:
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

Talked to Jamie on the phone. She is very concerned with how little Jupiter is eating. He is refusing the freeze dried treats which he loves. He is only taking a lick or two of the Fancy Feast appetizers.

Jamie will call her vet first thing Monday AM and ask about

1. Litter to use post surgery
2. appetite stimulant use
3. itemized estimate from the vet for the upcoming surgery
4. assist feeding
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

Rusty uses World's Best litter (green bag; clumping; non chemically scented but has a nice, fresh scent and never smells of urine; it is made of ground-up corn kernels). It is very soft on his feet and never sticks to his fur. It costs more, but lasts 4 times as long as clay litters. When Stu was going to have the I-131 treatment for hyperthyroid we were required to transition him to World's Best because it is flushable. He had very tender feet and really liked this litter. (Unfortunately he didn't live long enough to have the I-131 treatment.)

Sending many vines and good thoughts Jupiter's way.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

YAY I finally got him to eat some!!!!!! He hasnt eaten anything all day so this is a HUGE relief


I bought him tuna flakes from petco and put those on some pate and he took a few licks.

then he wouldnt eat anymore of that so I opened this whiskas tuna pate tray and he took some licks of that. I have no idea what % those whiska trays are but I figured it was worth a try! and it worked. will try getting him to eat a few more licks in an hour or so. He also ate a few ocean whitefish purebites dog treats
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

Jamie, what are his BG numbers today?
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

EAT JUPE EAT! MORE!!!

THANK YOU for helping with KT Jamie.

BIG HUG, this not eating stuff is getting old boys...
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

+7.75 is 46...

i am not testing much today since I did not give insulin this morning since AMPS was only 55
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55 question-cat litter to use after surg

Thanks.

Jupiter, eat, please. Make your mom who loves you so much, happy. She is trying so hard to help you to feel better.
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

I am just going to try each hour, to offer him some food, and even if he just takes a few licks every few hours, atleast he will be eating something!!

I am so relieved and so happy that he ate a little bit. I was so so so so worried about him because he hadnt eaten anything all day
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

Jupiter,
Please eat for your momma bean. Otherwise, you will never grow up to be shapely like me!




Bob
 

Attachments

  • shapely Bob.jpg
    shapely Bob.jpg
    44.4 KB · Views: 623
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

Jamie,
Not sure if you've ever tried feline pine, but the pellet style shouldn't stick to his paws.
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

Come on Jupiter, eat a little bit more fud for your momma!

Hope his appy improves Jamie - between the AB and the heat, it is a real appy crusher~

Hope you feel better too!
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

Yeah Jupiter! Hope you like all those wonderful foods your momma Jamie bought for you.

If he were my cat, I'd want to see him eat at least 3 ounces this evening. If he doesn't eat that much, I think it may be time for an appetite stimulant or some assist feeding.
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

hes just ate some more FF appetizer. I am not sure how I can measure how much food he eats. I dont want to stop his sister from eating from the plate with him because I think its encouraging him to eat
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

I really want to say to everyone, Thank you. Thank you soo much! The love and support you have shown Jupiter and I has been so amazing! Thank you for being here for us. You are all such wonderful people with kind hearts.
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

I'm so glad to see he's at least trying to eat something. It's hard when they don't feel well.
 

Attachments

  • nutella.jpg
    nutella.jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 587
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

Come on Jupe ya gotta eat for mom,you have an important mission coming up so you have to be strong for mom :smile:
Your doing so great Jamie big (((Hugs))) your way!!!=^:^=
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

I'm glad to see Jupe has done some eating...keep it up, little guy!!

We used "World's Best" litter, too...both DH and one of the kitties had severe allergies to traditional litters, and this stuff is awesome for all parties involved!
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

So glad to hear Jupe is eating a little something :-D You're doing a great job Jamie :smile:
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

Thank you all for the visits. You have no idea how much they mean to me. I am so sorry that I have not been visiting many condos recently. I promise I will try better tomorrow!

I am so happy Jupiter is eating. I decided to skip his antibiotics tonight. I am just a little too worried because I was having too much trouble getting him to eat anything at all.

He ate more of a FF appetizer a little while ago and I am going to try to see if he will eat a little more now. I still do not feel like he has had quite enough to eat today, but hes almost there. Come on Jupe you can do it!
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

YAY :-D :-D :-D I am so so so happy and relieved. Jupe is eating a little more salmon & shrimp FF pate with some FF salmon appetizer on top!!!!!! I really hope the vet will give him a different antibiotic as it was a struggle to get him to eat today.
 
Re: 7/7Jupiter AMBG/55cat litter after surgery? Jupe finally

Yay for eating! :-D :-D :-D I hope another AB will agree with him. Hugs to you, Jamie.
Liz
 
Jupiter acts like he is starving... oh my he seems REALLY hungry. He just ate a TON of food... maybe because I didnt give him the antibiotic tonight?
 
He just ate a TON of food... maybe because I didnt give him the antibiotic tonight?

I'm thinking that's all the justification you need for telling the vet "I want a different antibiotic". This is the first time he's acted that way since you started giving it to him, right?
 
Yeah he just ate a lot. and we have been struggling to get him to eat since he started the amoxicillin... he ate a pretty big pile of food!
 
If he doesn't "go into hiding", then that's two indications that the AB doesn't agree with him.
 
Hes laying out here on a chair :-D I am so happy that he ate and seems to be feeling a bit better now I am just really hoping and praying they will give him a different AB
 
Jamie,
You are the customer. They work for you. So just insist on a new AB. If you tell them what you witnessed when not giving him his pill today, I don't see how they can NOT give you what you want.
 
Hi Jamie, just wanted to cheer on Jupiter (and you) in the quest to fill his belly! So happy that he's eating now. We like hungry, hungry hippo cats! Sounds like you've got lots of advice on cat litter. Hopefully your vet will have some good advice regarding litter and antibiotics. Sending healing vines (and eating vines) for Jupiter and comfort vines for you. ((hugs))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top