7/7 Sushi - VACATION DOSE? AMPS~194 | +6~336

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sushi (GA 5/05-3/14)

Member Since 2011
Good Afternoon! (last post)
So I leave Monday for vacation, and I'm checking in again for advice on what dose I should put Sushi on while I'm gone. A cat sitter will be coming by AM & PM to feed, test & dose him.

I'm also curious about how we're doing at the dose of 3u. We've had a wide range of #s, but it seems we're mainly hanging out in the yellows and pinks. :?

Hope the weekend's off to a great start for all of you!
:smile:
 
hi miss ashley!

so the pet sitter is going to test before she shoots, right? that's what i think you're saying.

is sushi's normal feeding schedule (that you have in your sig line) going to still be the case? so he'll have some food mid-cycle like usual?
 
how long are you going to be gone?

also trying to remember if he's ever had ketones . . . because that might change the picture.

i'm thinking i'd probably drop to 2.5u, assuming he's still getting the usual food routine. are you going to be able to consult with her by phone while you're gone? if you can, i think i would - perhaps give her a preshot number of 150 and have her call you if sushi is below that. it's been a couple of months since he was on a dose that low, but if he were mine, i'd rather have him being too high than too low and unattended.

just thinking you would want to drop the dose, at least some, if there's no mid-cycle testing going on, and you probably don't want her to have to measure a .25u fraction. i think that's what i would do - also leave a sample syringe with colored water so she can refer to it and not mess up on the dose.
 
Julieeee!!
Yeayyyy some advice!! :RAHCAT

I'll be gone 5 days/4 nights; but the cat sitter will only have to do 8 of the 10 doses in that time frame.

Sushi has not had ketones since he's been on insulin.

The cat sitter will test before she shoots, but won't be doing any mid-cycle tests. She will text or call with his pre-shot # before dosing him.

I've been torn about what to do about Sushi's feeding schedule. I can't decide whether to tell the cat sitter to feed his full 6oz at each visit (which he will graze on for the full cycle), or if I should freeze 3oz, and have her give 3oz of fresh and put a 3oz frozen out for him to try and mimic his feeding schedule. It's likely he'll graze on this throughout the cycle with the frozen food as well; that's what he does normally if I don't pick his food up at +4. I think feeding the full 6oz will be a lot easier on the cat sitter, and I'm all about making things as easy as possible for her.

I think he'll be fine on 3u, but I suppose dropping back to 2.5u is the best bet.

hummm... :?:
 
When I travel, I have my petsitter give a reduced dose. I also have her set a feeder up. I think it's your call whether you freeze some catsickles or just leave food out. You could experiment with both over the weekend. I think Julie's suggestion is good; I like the idea of dropping the dose back to 2.5u. Typically, we want a sitter to shoot on a line on the syringe. You may also want to consider setting up a sample syringe that has colored water in it for the petsitter.
 
Beth/Atlas is a professional pet sitter and at one point she commented on my post about having my son (petsitting) do something with punkin while we were gone - she said that anything i wanted him to do while i was gone, i needed to try first to make sure it would work with punkin. she thought it was a bad idea to have the petsitter try anything new for the cat.

i thought that was very smart - and i like the idea of the frozen catsickles, but think if you haven't tried them yet to make sure sushi will eat them, you should do that before you leave. you could freeze a bunch tomorrow and then all the petsitter would have to do is put one in the bowl, add fresh food on top of the catsickle and leave.

if you were home, i think the 3u would be fine, and i don't have his ss open now to look at it again, but if i recall correctly you had some lower preshot numbers that would make me think he may have gotten lower on the 3u. that's enough for me to want to reduce the dose while he will be without mid-cycle tests.

hope you're doing something fun for your vacation!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top