7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267 PMPS 414 +1 338 +3 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121350

Good Morning Everyone!

As I type this, Skooter has had 3.5 teaspoons of wet food that he gobbled right up and almost all his 1/4 cup dry and is now residing in my lap as I type this :)

All seems with Skooter...momma on the other hand has a pretty stressful week and already not feeling very well at all....I wish I could just stay home and snuggle with my main man, Skooter...but alas have to pay for that insulin, food, testing supplies, etc somehow :)

I was excited to see Skooter hit the blues last night and then it appears he had a bounce up to the pink....so I was pleased with his bright yellow this morning....on the high side yes, but yellow all the same....

Hoping to swing by at lunch time to test my lil bug again as I have to leave here in a few minutes.....I might try to sneak in a +.75 just to see how he is trending....

Wishing everyone a wonderful day!

Skooter's bean, Molly
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226

Hi ho, hi ho, it's off to work I go....

Hoping to swing home around +5.5 for another test to see how he is doing.....

have a great day everyone!!!
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267

So looks like Skooter is enjoying and holding steady in the yellow zone...is it possible to clear a bounce so quickly?

Looking at the cheat sheet of an example of a Lantus cycle....it looks like even at what his appx nadir should be, he is holding steady....from what people were saying yesterday, having a pretty flat cycle may mean I am in for some "fun" during tonight's cycle....I lucked out last night and I was able to get 5 hours of sleep! I am hoping for a repeat tonight!!!

I am so looking forward to when he is on all wet (and eventually raw), as I really really think he has a shot of going OTJ based on the changes I have seen in the small amount of wet food he is getting....

I am not sure if you can see/tellg/guess, but based on his numbers, any suggestions of when to start adding in a meal or two throughout the day? I am planning on getting a timed feeder within the next week or so, so I would like to add in some more mini meals.

He is such a cuddlebug right now, I hate the fact I have to leave and go back to work!
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267

are you thinking you can keep up with testing like you have been the past week? If so, you could probably transition a little quicker than we were thinking earlier.

is his tummy doing ok with the canned food so far?
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267

Nicely done, Skooter! Your bean wants more blue, we know how beans get about those nice numbers. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267

During the week DAYS, I can pretty much test him at AMPS, and if i can get him to 0630 for his shot, then I can do a +1 and then at lunch time which would normally be between +5 and +7 (there is no guarantee of this, however as it will depend on what is going on at work....we tend to get things thrown at us saying, here this needs to be done in 15 mins or else)....

Nighttime and most weekends will not be a problem for testing as I do not really have a social life and am home most nights/weekends :)

So far so GREAT with the food (knock on every kind of wood you can find) that we have not had ANY issues at all, and he really seems to like the food. His probiotic looks like it should be at my house today when I get home from work, so I can start adding that to his food as well.....
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267

you might be able to increase the percentage of canned to dry then, if it's all going ok. i think i'd think in terms of taking the next week to do it. maybe do 25% canned tonight and tomorrow, then 30%, then 50%, 75%, etc.

Keep in mind the anticipated decreasing insulin need and maybe aim for going all the way to canned when you'll be home.

At this point, i wouldn't hesitate to make dosing decisions based upon the preshot in the mornings if you're not going to be home, ie, only give 1/2 dose or skip the dose if he's got a low preshot and you're not going to be able to come home to check him at lunch. or leave out dry food.

another option is to continue as you are right now, but if you're off this weekend take away the dry food completely on Friday night then and be prepared to monitor and drop the dose over the weekend. the dry food carbs would most likely be out of his system by monday morning.

consider what works best for you. if he's having no trouble with the canned food, you might be ok doing it all at once.

the autofeeder is going to be your best friend in all of this! :-D

what do you think?
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267

I think what I would be most comfortable with is going all wet on Friday, just because I can then be there to monitor him and keep a careful eye on him. It will give me peace of mind as I just worry so much about my baby when I am not here and things are changing lol...

So would it be realistic to then drop his insulin to say, 2U at Friday night's dinner (he is currently on 4U) and see how the night goes?

I am going to do his PMPS in about 15 minutes...how exciting if he was in yellow again because then he would have one whole cycle in the yellow! Which may mean an active cycle for me tonight, but that means he is improving, right?!
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267 PMPS 414

I do declare a bouncin we shall go again! I am not liking that blotch of red in what was a wonderfully sun shiney yellow day.....

Knowing Skooter, he will drop drastically at +1 or +2, in time to freak me out for a bit longer for the night, just cuz he loooooooooooooooooooooooves to do that...

He got 4 teaspoons of wet and 1/4 cup dry, he ate all of his wet basically and about 1/2 of his dry thus far...

We are in Severe Thunderstorm Warnings all night....man oh man the trees are a blowin'....Skooter doesn't do well with storms, which could make for an interesting night....never a dull moment I guess...
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267 PMPS 414

i'd like to chat with some others about what dose to suggest you go to when you eliminate the dry. Sienne, Marje, Dyana, Wendy, Sandy or i will get back to you on a suggestion for the dose before Friday. In the meantime, you're doing great. just keep it up.
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267 PMPS 414

BOO on the bounce....but they're all part of the sugardance!

It's too soon to think about what you'll be dosing on Friday....let's see what his numbers tell us later in the week

Now Skooter! NO bouncing in the house!! :lol:
cat1.gif
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267 PMPS 414 +1 338

76 point drop in an hour....

Would he be ok if I left for like an hour? I wanted to run to petco in between storms and grab him some purebites so I can give him something other than snuggles at shot time....
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267 PMPS 414 +1 338

sure - even though he's dropped, he'd have to drop another 275 points before he was in danger. i don't think that's going to happen in the next hour.
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267 PMPS 414 +1 338 +3 28

I am digging being back in the yellow!!!

Is this still part of a bounce? I was very excited to FINALLY find a treat he can eat....PureBites chicken and the little *($&*(&#(*%&@# HAS NO INTEREST WHATSOEVER in them!!!!!!!!!!!!

Any other suggestions for cat treats for him? This is the first time he has ever been picky about something and turned away food lol

Looking at Skooter's spreadsheet, it does not look like I have a lot of readings at +7 on the PM side, so I am thinking, for the purpose of getting some data of waking up and doing a quick +7 test. He is currently residing under the coffee table and sure hoping he come to snuggle with me for a bit....

I am hoping to keep him at a 615/630 shooting schedule.....I am just trying to prepare for tomorrow...If Skooter is in the lower 200s/higher 100s at AMPS, am I ok to reduce to like 3U as I am not sure I will be able to swing home during lunch tomorrow?
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267 PMPS 414 +1 338 +3 28

You might try boiling or baking a chicken breast and giving hime a half in cube of 2. You can freeze the rest to dole out at test times.
 
Re: 7/7 Skooter AMPS 292 +1 226 +6 267 PMPS 414 +1 338 +3 28

Try crumbling a little Purebites into powder and putting it beside his food. My civie now loves his chicken dust and I use it to encourage him to eat if he's feeling finicky. Since you are trying to stick to one protein (chicken) you can also see if you can find freeze dried chicken liver or hearts. Mine love freeze dried chicken hearts.

As for changing doses, we dose Lantus by the nadirs or low points you are getting, not the preshot values. He's just getting into mid-blues, so unless you are making a drastic change in wet/dry food portions tomorrow, I'd stick to the same dose in the morning. When cats have lower preshot values, their entire cycles tend to be flatter and you don't get the same drops you can get with higher preshot numbers. If you are worried about his numbers in the morning, I presume you'll be leaving some food for him to munch on during the day. You can always post here for advice in the morning before the shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top