7/7 Simon AMPS 273 +5.5 173 +9 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I didn't get a chance again to open a condo yesterday. Simon went low during the day, just like he did the previous day. I have been so busy at work, I couldn't go home for lunch. DH saved the day once again by leaving his job to test and I'm glad he did since Simon was only in the 50's.

This leads to a question. We just can't get home all the time during the day and in order for Simon to earn reductions, I would have to put him at risk when I can't monitor. It is making me crazy! I reduced slightly to a fattened lower dose even though he really didn't earn a reduction. This morning, he is high again although it could be from the MC food I gave him yesterday and the lower numbers. What should I do in this case? Normally I could monitor over the weekend, but I have to make an unexpected trip to Florida today to see about my cousin. She is in a psychiatric hospital and is being discharged soon. She has no where to go at this point and no other family, so my sister and I are going down to try and figure out what to do. On top of of that problem, her SSI benefits and Medicaid has been stopped for some reason. We will be sitting in the Social Security office all day on Monday to figure things out. What a mess! :sad:

Anyway, to make a long story a little shorter, DH will be in charge all weekend and won't be able to monitor closely if I don't reduce Simon's dose. Is it bad to continue to reduce and then go back up when I have time to monitor?
 
Re: 7/7 Simon AMPS 273 Dose question

Sorry about your cousin's condition, Georgia. Ive heard of how scary it is in the US to go without a medical insurance coverage. Hope you have luck with the Office & get things move smoothly.
 
Re: 7/7 Simon AMPS 273 Dose question

Hi Georgia, no help with the dose, but sending many positive vines and prayersfor you and your sister's visit to check on your cousin and try and get her the urgent help she needs. I hope that is a mistake with her SSI and Medicaid benefits being cut. Have a safe trip and your cousin is very fortunate to have you and your sister help her. What time are you leaving today? Hugs.
 
Re: 7/7 Simon AMPS 273 Dose question

Helen, yes, it is scary here in the U.S. with health insurance, especially if you are on government assistance like medicaid. Benefits are always getting cut.

Ann, I am leaving around 4:00 to drive down to my sister's home in Leesburg (South Georgia) and then will stay the night and go early tomorrow to Pensacola. We'll take my cousin out to dinner and also to look at a group home the hospital has suggested. of course, without any benefits no one is going to want to take her so that is why we have to figure out this nightmare of a problem. I can't be coming back home with her or else I may truly have a nervous breakdown!
 
Re: 7/7 Simon AMPS 273 Dose question

Georgia, that's good I was thinking you were leaving earlier, that was why the pm to get help. The group home sounds good and hoping her benefits get straightened out. I know, that would be an impossible situation to take her home with you. She needs the round the clock care, so sad with all the medical cuts. I hear about it on the news and it's so scary to see someone affected by it that needs the help so badly.
 
Re: 7/7 Simon AMPS 273 Dose question

I'm not sure there's an easy answer to the situation for when you're home. Getting several tests so you know whether Simon is dropping may help. Since it seems like his nadir is close to mid-cycle, it may make sense to get a +3, if that's possible.

FWIW, when I travel, I reduce Gabby's dose. Gabby doesn't allow anyone except me to test so my petsitter has to shoot blind. It may ease your mind and DH's nerves if you reduce the dose. I'm assuming DH will be around to monitor over the weekend. For work days, what would you think about dropping Simon's dose to 2.25u? Since DH can test in the evening, the reduction should help to keep the numbers stable during the AM cycle, especially if your DH is able to get a test on days when it looks like Simon's numbers may warrant a mid-day check.

I'm assuming that DH knows how to load a syringe and test. If he's uncertain, leave a sample syringe. You may also want to make sure he knows how to post here if he needs help.
 
Re: 7/7 Simon AMPS 273 +5.5 173

Thanks for the dosing advice, Sienne. DH is really good about testing and shooting so no worries with that. The problem is that even on the weekends, DH works because he is a self-employed building contractor. That calls for 7 days a week work! He can often come home at lunch, but not always, so your suggestion about reducing to 2.25 this weekend is great advice. I will pass on the information to DH.

Meanwhile, Mr. Simon looks so much better in blue!
 
Re: 7/7 Simon AMPS 273 +5.5 173

You've really got a full plate, Georgia. Paws crossed that you find a good situation for your cousin. Keep it nice and steady, ok, Simon? He sure is a sweet boy. :-D
Liz
 
Ann and Liz, thanks for the well wishes. It is about 4:00 my time and I am heading out to my sister's home in a few minutes.

I will post when I get back on Monday evening or Tuesday morning. I may stay overnight on Monday night at my sister's if we are really late getting things taken care of in Pensacola.

Please send all the healing thoughts and prayers to my cousin for a good outcome. I want the best for her and I hope everything works out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top