? 7/7 Post DKA Millie MOD Ketones AGAIN.PMPS 541, +2 613, +6 565, +9 530. Raise dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
Before bed last night Millie tested MOD for ketones again. I posted before bed but there was no response. She was drinking a lot but not eating so I spent part of the night testing her bg and syringe feeding. I will give fluids once my husband is awake. Not sure if we should increase her 9am shot. We increased on the evening of 7/5 (two days ago). Any suggestions/ideas?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-5-519-8-523-pmps-541-mod-for-ketones.180289/
 
You may be good to increase due to her high numbers - she seems stuck there and sometimes its better to be a little aggressive.

But I don't have any DKA experience, so hopefully someone else is around soon to chime in.
 
I have to log off to go to work. I would raise the dose, but you need to be careful and be able to syringe feed her should she drop and monitor her BGs. Do you have plenty of supplies and strips? I hope you get another ketone test soon and it reads less.
Fingers crossed.
 
Moderate ketones is serious. The next time you don't get a response and need one, cross post in the Health forum and/or keep bumping up your own thread by replying to it, and maybe try changing the Subject Line by adding a HELP! or something. She should go to the vet if they are still moderate or higher. Good luck today. I hope her ketones have come down.
 
It would be very helpful if one of the experts could chime in because I'm out of my depth here. This is what I see on the SS though: she's bouncing like crazy as her dose goes up. I understand the need for more insulin when ketones show up, etc. However, until an experienced member weighs in I wouldn't change the dose. Food and fluids are key right now.
 
Last edited:
I have to log off to go to work. I would raise the dose, but you need to be careful and be able to syringe feed her should she drop and monitor her BGs. Do you have plenty of supplies and strips? I hope you get another ketone test soon and it reads less.
Fingers crossed.
I can watch her today. I'll increase again.
 
It would be very helpful of one of the experts could chime in because I'm out of my depth here. This is what I see on the SS though: she's bouncing like crazy as her dose goes up. I understand the need for more insulin when ketones show up, etc. However, until an experienced member weighs in I wouldn't change the dose. Food and fluids are key right now.
Actually, that makes sense. She seems to bounce higher and stay as I increase her dose. She did that the other day and then I saw some yellow. Thanks, Kris.
 
I decided not to increase Millie's dose again. I'm hoping the DKA resolves itself. I know I should take her to the vet but last time they did not feed her and the Cerenia gave her REALLY bad diarrhea. The vet does not keep any short acting insulin, we have to bring ours. I'm going to test her again at +2. I have a doctor's appointment I can't miss but then I'll be home to watch & feed her.
 
Just took Millie's +5 bg it's 463, not able to get a ketone reading. I'm going to wait one more hour and test Millie again then it's the emergency vet for her.
 
This is what I see on the SS though: she's bouncing like crazy as her dose goes up.
I'm seeing the same. This is why I've repeatedly suggested finding out how low the dose is taking Millie before increasing the dose... contrary to some advice given. We haven't known how low the dose is dropping her since back when she was getting 1.75u BID. I'm not sure what the best solution is at this point... power through by steadily increasing the dose to force a breakthrough? If that's the case, monitoring more closely than you have been (finding the lows) becomes more important than ever.
She's at the emergency animal hospital.
I'm sorry to hear that. I hope they're able to stabilize her and rid her of ketones quickly.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm seeing the same. This is why I've repeatedly suggested finding out how low the dose is taking Millie before increasing the dose... contrary to some advice given. We haven't known how low the dose is dropping her since back when she was getting 1.75u BID. I'm not sure what the best solution is at this point... power through by steadily increasing the dose to force a breakthrough? If that's the case, monitoring more closely than you have been (finding the lows) becomes more important than ever.

I'm sorry to hear that. I hope they're able to stabilize her and rid her of ketones quickly.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you.
 
Prayers and good thoughts for Millie.
Wishing you wise and better vets at the ER.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top