7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131 +4 93 +6 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
Hi
Purrcee is back in the green and is that another reduction? Problem is I won't be home to monitor today. I can do a +1 and that's it until I'm guessing +5 or 6 or 7.

Should I skip his dose this am? At +10 he was 69 and has dropped to 49 in 2 hours even after eating.

Advice needed. Thanks!


Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99318
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 skip??

I'm not sure where they all are,myself I would skip if not going to be home to test I can't give advise I hope someone gets by here soon but maybe LC food before you leave. Hope they get to you soon. :smile:
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 skip??

I'm still fairly new, but I'd say wait 30 min, retest...if he's the same or lower, skip the shot and feed and then test before you leave....and leave some food down during the day for him


as low as he goes, if you can't test, I'm sure you'll feel better skipping it....I know I would
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 skip??

Hi Julie. I wouldn't shoot if he is below 50, especially since he dropped 20 points in 2 hours, after eating and late in the cycle. Also you won't be around to test Purrcee. If you are going to just delay the shot then don't feed him before the retest. You don't want the new test number to be food influenced.

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will be around soon to give you some advice. Mine is based on what I would do if it we me and PurrFace. Always better to be safe than sorry.
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 skip??

I don't know when you fed him between +10 and AMBG. If it was recently and he still went down 20 points and you won't be home to monitor him, then I would skip.

I haven't looked at your ss yet. brb.
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 skip??

Given this is a dropping number, you have limited time before you have to leave, and can't be around to monitor, I'd suggest skipping. Think of it as a fur shot.
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 skip??

Agreed with Sienne.

I think you should go back to the 0.75 at PMPS though. The 49 is probably partly from the depot from the 1.00 dose.

Let us know what test number you get when you do your in the door test when you get home. Hopefully, he'll surf nicely while you're gone.
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 +12.5 48 no shot

Just did another test and he is at 48 so I am feeding him and leaving lots of LC out when I leave.

I will skip the shot.
I will get another test at +13 right before I leave
I will repost when I come back.

Thanks for quick response as usual.

Summary:
Fed right before +10
Amps 49
+12.5 48
No shot
Leaving lots of LC out (I have a few heavy eaters so hopefully Purrcee gets his share)
getting +13 before I leave and will post results
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 +12.5 48 +13 65

Going up a bit
Leaving the house
I think I'm off by .5 on my times because I did amps at 8:45 but his pm dose was at 9:15.
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 +12.5 48 +13 65 +18 80

Hi all
Looks like Purrcee stayed in a good place without a shot. I wasn't sure how to show the + number since no shot this morning but 18 hours since last shot??

Hope you are having a quiet Sunday!
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 +12.5 48 +13 65 +18 80

Hi
Since Purrcee did not get a shot this morning, is there any problem with moving up his schedule more than 30 minutes or should I stick to that? Thanks.

Purrcee AMPS 49 +12.5 48 +13 65 +18 80
No am shot.
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee AMPS 49 +12.5 48 +13 65 +18 80

Julie

If you have a +23 and it's higher, you could even shoot an hour early. How close are you to +23?
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee Moving up PMPS more than 30 Min?

+23 would be at 8:15 pm
I just fed him dinner so I have plenty of time for 2 hours prior to PMPS at 8:00
Of course he could come in low again.
Should I keep at .75 or take another reduction as earned to .50. I think Sienne suggested I stay at .75 tonight. If I do that then should I lower to .50 tomorrow am?
I'm sorry the questions just never cease!
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee Help with dose???

Post a 911 if you need to shot now,no advise got lost in this thread. :smile:
Linda
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee Help with dose???

Of all times I think I may have missed. He felt the shot but when I was done there was insulin on the syringe! So now I really don't know what to do since he didn't have a shot this morning. I was trying to shoot .75 as Sienna originally advised. What a mess!
Advice please.
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee Help with dose???

Don't worry about it. You don't know how much insulin actually got in so, do NOT give any more insulin. It's entirely possible that there was a drop of insulin on the syringe and that's what you noticed.
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee Help with dose???

Sienna...what are the best times to test to see what's going on? +2 and+4 and ??
No sleep tonight!
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee Help with dose???

A +2 is just fine. Good job.

You can take down the 911. I intend to be here for your +2 as long as the board cooperates.
 
Re: 7/7 Purrcee Help with dose???

I'm watching too. Hi ladies! :-D
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131

Well maybe I got some insulin in :smile:
+2 131
Do you think it is okay for me to call it a night?
Should I leave some food out?

Are you tired yet?
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131

I'm not tired yet! I'm off for 3 days, I can sleep whenever I want.

The +2 is what you would expect on a typical lantus cycle. But it is only +2. Let's see what Marje thinks about another test.
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131

Oh my friend I don't think you should call it a night. With his +2 similar to his PS, I believe he will come down.

Can you sleep for 2-3 hours and then get up and test? Yes...leave food out but we recommend you don't quit testing for the night until you have non food influenced rising numbers.

Yes :lol: I'm tired. I have perpetual FD exhaustion :lol: Gracie is on lev and onsets about +5 and nadirs +10 or so ...I'm up every night at least once...sometimes twice.
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131

Carl I got to check out some of your pictures and they are awesome..you are quite the photographer!
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131

It's an "either, or", Julie.

It's preferrable that you stay up and get a +3ish. Or set an alarm to get a +4?

Or if you can't stay up, or set an alarm to get up, then leave food out. (edited)
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131

oh okay...I will get a +4 and not feed anything. After +4 if it's too low then I will feed and retest.
If it's not too low, do I feed anyway and don't have to retest again?
I guess I'm just still confused on the "what to do" with the values.
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131

I'm sorry, Julie. I didn't mean to speak gibberish. Good thing Carl knows me so well :lol:

Yes...you could sleep until +4, test, and if he's up, then it's ok to go to bed but just leave food out at that point to get him to +6 or nadir. If he's lower at +4, depends on how low. If he's around 100, I probably wouldn't feed. I'd just retest around +6. If his lower, then yes, feed and retest.
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131

I'm sorry, Julie. I didn't mean to speak gibberish. Good thing Carl knows me so well

Marje and I do this fairly frequently. So I've become proficient at translating "Marjese" to new members in the wee hours of the morning. :lol:
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131

C'mon Marje, you know I love ya like a fat kid loves cake!
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131

Julie,
I went back over the whole thread and I saw your question about am dose...

Dyana suggested you stay at .75u tonight, in case the numbers you saw this morning were due to the depot effect from his prior 1u dose. Which you did, although it may have been a partial fur shot tonight.

I didn't see any suggested dose for the morning however.

If you aren't sure, ask again before shooting at AMPS.

I think I'd lean towards sticking with 1.0 .75u. But that depends also on what happens between now and then.
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131 +4 93

Carl you there??
I'm still confused. At +4 isn't he suppose to be lower?
Truthfully I can't get up every night every 2 hours and test him. I have to be able to get some sleep because I have other's to care for including me :-|
He's at 93; I guess I good assume he is going to go too low and feed to get him through +6 and then hope he follows the curve as he is now.
Help


Yes...you could sleep until +4, test, and if he's up, then it's ok to go to bed but just leave food out at that point to
get him to +6 or nadir. If he's lower at +4, depends on how low. If he's around 100, I probably wouldn't feed. I'd just retest around +6. If his lower, then yes, feed and retest.
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131 +4 93

93 is great:-)
Here's what I would do....
Give him a spoon or two of low carb food, and go to bed. I don't think he's planning on dropping too low tonight. So give him a snack to keep him happy. And to allow you to sleep without interruption.
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131 +4 93

Thank you so much for being there. Now that I'm more awake I'm curious about +6 so I thought I would set the alarm one more time, not feed, and see how it goes. At +6 I'm going to feed and unless he is below 50 I'm going to assume he is following the typical Lantus curve and stay asleep.

Does that make sense??
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131 +4 93

It makes sense, yes. If you are curious and want to see how it progresses, you can do that. And feed after the test then sleep uninterrupted ;-)
 
Re: 7/7 PMPS 140 +2 131 +4 93

Your welcome, and I will:-)
Oh, and thanks for the compliment on my photos. Glad you liked them! I upload new ones to flickr almost daily.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top