Cinnie Cole
Member Since 2019
Zoots preshots have been declining consistently over the last few days. Should I skip this AM dose? I am worried he will go hypo by the way his numbers are declining. See SS
I am home, and Zoot is eating well. Lots of energy. Clearly he is okay now. I have a hypo kit here, with 4 cans of FF Gravy lovers on hand along with syrup etc. Frankly, his SS numbers show a pretty consistent reduction and I have not been testing frequently because he is so difficult. I can manage the pre-shots with help. I will try to test more today to see where his numbers are going. It is a weekend, and I have no place to take him if he was to continue to drop tonight. I am trying to be preemptive here. Will talk with my Dr in the AM as well.
It sounds like you're prepared and that's the very thing you're hoping for. Please take some time to read the stickies at the top of this forum. Instead of discussing with your doctor - who unless he's a feline endocrinologist - not a general vet - will be clueless as to next steps for getting your kitty to good numbers. Look at other spreadsheets and see the numbers of people who are shooting their cats with low blues and green numbers. It really helps if you can get a test at 2+ to see where he's headed...IF you are able to keep him going down your chance for remission is very good! And get ready for that ride down - yesterday you shot in the blues and he went up - but he could have gone back down later - would have been good to get another test later in the day just to see. And getting a test at night, at 2+ is needed to be sure he's not headed off into those low numbers. Often cats will go lower at night - they just like to do that...don't want to miss finding out when his nadir happens (his lowest number in the cycle). Without more testing it's hard to tell from his SS when that happens.
I know it's difficult but there are lots of tips and tricks to make it easier. How are you supporting his ear now to get the test? Are you using a warm sock or something else to hold it? Are you rewarding with a little treat every time you try to test - whether you're successful or not - always give a treat. I had a really difficult time getting Luci to cooperate - it took two of us several months to convince her we weren't trying to kill her - she was awful. She wasn't a 'cuddly' cat to begin with and for starters didn't like being held - it was pure torture for all of us. But now she comes when I whistle - often jumps right up on the counter and sits and waits for me! But that's now - and we had many a rough time getting her behavior turned around. It takes time and patience but soon you'll have the swing of it - and I hope you have a quick go at remission - it's what we all hope for - and you're going to have to shoot those low blue numbers in order to get him into the greens - let's hope it happens soon!!
Unfortunately I decided not to. Will see how he does today and will take it from there. I can handle yellows but a hypo on a Sunday night would be my worst fear.I would have shot, you were gonna be home and seeing good numbers hate for kitty to go back up, you should decide which protocol TR or SLGS so we can guide you better
The main differences seem to be with SLGS you earn a reduction when going below 90 and make decisions to change the dose every 7 days. With TR you earn a reduction when going below 50 and make dose changes sooner than 7 days depending on what the nadir is. If you are not able to test a lot, it's better to do SLGS. Also if you feed any dry food we recommend doing SLGS.I can't decide on which protocol we can do - I don't understand the differences despite reading and re-reading the stickies. It just doesn't sink into my brain.
Ah okay - so probably SLGS, I will re-read that stickey note. Thanks.The main differences seem to be with SLGS you earn a reduction when going below 90 and make decisions to change the dose every 7 days. With TR you earn a reduction when going below 50 and make dose changes sooner than 7 days depending on what the nadir is. If you are not able to test a lot, it's better to do SLGS. Also if you feed any dry food we recommend doing SLGS.
the information it so much it is quite daunting.
Agree. This is how I'm doing with Biscuits. I shot at 97 today. Scary but I'm around to test and feed. It's about being comfortable with dosing! We're on TRI would have shot, you were gonna be home and seeing good numbers hate for kitty to go back up, you should decide which protocol TR or SLGS so we can guide you better
And one last request please: tomorrow when you post if you could format it like this: 7/8 Zoot AMPS ### - if you have a question, pop it right in there - and use the '?' icon like you did today. We'll be looking for your post tomorrow - best on those numbers today - if they continue to go up, you might as well take a break until after his shot tonight - then get in at least a test or two to see if there's any impact...
Thanks - I printed the hypo stickie and have it on our cabinet near our "hypo kit". I will read the rest, and thanks for the hint on how to post my subject. Will do that. Here is where we are today so far.....
Zoot!'s AMPS =108 (no insulin)
Zoot!'s +2 = 221 (he was a good boy and got a treat)
Zoot!'s +4 = 200 (he was a good boy and got a treat)
I am just happy that I was able to check twice so far today! Will definately try the +6 to get the nadir.


@JoyBee&Ravan @Bellasmom @carfurbyWell look at you guys!!! He’s going down too!!! Good for you both![]()
@JoyBee&Ravan @Bellasmom @carfurby
Hi All!
Zoot! has been extremely cooperative today and I have taken reading every couple of hours.
Here is my question: I skipped the morning dose, and he has been in the 200s ever since. Do you think I should go back to the full 1.5 unit dose this PM? He looks great and is active and doing what he always does.
Cinnie
Totally agreeYes he hasn’t earned a reduction yet... steady consistent dosing works best with Lantus.
Here's what @Sienne and Gabby (GA) "Numbers need to drop below 50 to warrant a dose reduction. Because the reduction point is lower, you need to be able to test more frequently. (The dose reduction point with SLGS is 90.) With TR, you are encouraged to "shoot low to stay low" - in other words, most of us who follow TR and are not completely new at managing their cat's diabetes, will shoot any number above 50. (SLGS doesn't require shooting this low.) With TR, most of the time you hold the dose for 3 days prior to increasing. (With SLGS, you hold the dose for a week prior to increasing.") said in an earlier post - based on which protocol you're following - you may even want to be thinking about an increase, but please try not to skip shots if at all possible - if not today, then tonight he'll be soaring into those higher numbers - not where you want to be at all.
Thanks All! His PMPS is 203 and I did administer his full 1.5 unit dose. I will definitely get the +2 tonight. All of a sudden it is like he will accept the testing. It is a godsend. Let's hope it lasts!Since you didn’t shoot today, and he’s not dropping down low, you can stop the testing until PMPS time. You did gather some good data, so good job. With what you have practiced today, may be you can get a +2 in the PM cycle tonight. The +2 test often can give you a heads up what the cycle will look like, and whether you will need to monitor more, or leave out higher carb food for him to eat.
