Kristen ardito
Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/luke-pmps-369.279196/#post-3085543
Hi Everyone!
Wondering what to do today:
Luke's numbers are surprisingly great lately. I don't know what has happened the past few weeks but he's been consistently coming down into the greens and staying in the greens/blues.
While I'm super super happy about this, I still panic at low pre shot numbers. I read, re read and studied the "how to handle low preshot" post and did "the things": I waited 20 min, tested again. Waited another 20 min, tested again. At this point he was starving and letting me know it. The glare ... Waited another 20 min, tested again. Then I gave him some food and shot at a lower dose (1.5 units Lantus). I figured if anything it would go up in a couple of hours and I didn't want to miss his dose.
He has had two reductions in the last week and a half. As of last night he was at 2.0 units of Lantus. Since he's earned another reduction, I'll start that tonight. 1.75 units.
Any other suggestions on what to do today? Just checked again (.5 after shot) and it was 79. I assume that may be partially the food so I don't want to relax too much yet.
Also, any of you who have had cats who have continued to need reduced doses so quickly one after the other? After three months of needing to constantly increase his dose, this is so new to me!
Hi Everyone!
Wondering what to do today:
Luke's numbers are surprisingly great lately. I don't know what has happened the past few weeks but he's been consistently coming down into the greens and staying in the greens/blues.

While I'm super super happy about this, I still panic at low pre shot numbers. I read, re read and studied the "how to handle low preshot" post and did "the things": I waited 20 min, tested again. Waited another 20 min, tested again. At this point he was starving and letting me know it. The glare ... Waited another 20 min, tested again. Then I gave him some food and shot at a lower dose (1.5 units Lantus). I figured if anything it would go up in a couple of hours and I didn't want to miss his dose.
He has had two reductions in the last week and a half. As of last night he was at 2.0 units of Lantus. Since he's earned another reduction, I'll start that tonight. 1.75 units.
Any other suggestions on what to do today? Just checked again (.5 after shot) and it was 79. I assume that may be partially the food so I don't want to relax too much yet.
Also, any of you who have had cats who have continued to need reduced doses so quickly one after the other? After three months of needing to constantly increase his dose, this is so new to me!
