7/7 Kisa 280 amps/350 pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.

Derek

Member Since 2013
I bumped Kisa back up to 1 unit from .75 units, but this dose likely won't do any better than his previous low doses. I've tried low doses to the point of barely giving him anything, so can some suggest a productive dose for him?
 
I can't make a dosing adjustment suggestion with no more data than you have since you only have preshots as far as tests. Lantus is dosed off the nadir. I would need a lot more mid cycle tests to make an informed decision. At the very least a full curve (testing every 2hours) would fill in the picture. With Lantus the only thing a preshot test tells us is its safe to give a chosen dose.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I totally agree with Mel. Mid cycle tests are needed to make dose adjustments, and in fact needed to know we are keeping our kitties safe. Without them, we would really are shooting blind since we are not measuring what the shots are "doing", only where kitty lands up at the END of each cycle.
 
I'll try and get one of those done tomorrow. The problem is, my sleep schedule is currently completely nuts, basically, I make it to 9am, and then I end up asleep until 3pm, but I'll see if my niece can help
 
I'm curious about the previous dose reductions. Have those been done at the advice of a vet or based on some other dosing protocol than the one that is usually followed here?
 
I kept asking for dose increase advice on the forum, and everyone told me that they thought the dose was too high, lowering it from the vet's 2 units, to .75 units. His sugar keeps going higher, so I'm trying to finally get a dose increase in the hopes it'll fix it, or at least stabilize him at lower numbers
 
Gotcha. I didn't mean to imply that the advice to reduce was poor given the data, I'm just also pretty new to this and am not good at reading the numbers yet and I figure that getting the histories behind changes is good for me to learn. I also now see that he was dipping below the safe shooting level regularly on the 2u dose, which I didn't notice before.

I'm sorry that I can't help with dosing, but I hope the additional test numbers help the more experienced people give you some advice soon!
 
Wasn't able to do the multi tests today, scheduling issues, hopefully in the next day or so
 
Derek

I've been following Kisa's spreadsheet since the 7th when you asked for dosing advice. I see no attempt to get even random spot checks that would help us determine how best to help you help Kisa.

Since no experienced care giver here will risk giving advice on such limited data I have some options for you.

1) Posting here on a daily basis with a minimum of 4 tests per day...preshots, 1 random spot check in the a.m. cycle and 1 in the p.m. cycle. With 1of those checks near nadir. Doesn't matter which cycle a.m. or p.m.

2) Posting here weekly with a full curve (testing every 2hours) or a mini curve (testing every 3 hours) during either the a.m or p.m cycle.

Or

3) Forget posting here at all and return to working with your vet to regulate Kisa and allowing them to run curves and determine dosage for you.

We would love to continue helping you and Kisa but we can not do so without you supplying the data needed for us to make sound rational judgement calls. As none of us are willing to risk Kisa's life or open this board to possible legal issues.

We are not Vets, we are merely people who have or are successfully treating our own diabetic cats and willingly passing on what has or is working for our cats and using protocols that are established here.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I am going to try to get the full curve, but the issue is my current nocturnal sleep cycle preventing me from doing the early morning bits. My niece has difficulty handling the cat, as for some reason he's well behaved when other people test him if I'm not home, but if I am, he gets violent if someone else tries to test him. So I'm trying to line up my niece's schedule with mine to do a full curve test for him
 
Okay maybe I'm missing something here. Does he require more than one person to test? Both of mine I test by myself....Autumn sleeps with me so there is a lot of times I've set an alarm at night, wake up, roll over test her and go back to sleep.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
in the cases where I'm asleep, I need my niece to test him. When I was testing him every four hours, it made it impossible for me to get any sleep, since it generally takes me forever to actually fall asleep, even when exhausted. I'd generally get about 4 hours of sleep a day, broken up throughout the day. So having her test him part of the day makes it so that I'm able to function
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top