7/7 Junior AMPS 102 PMPS 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Junior did good yesterday. The head shake thing happened only once that morning so that's a relief. He seems to be eating better now so maybe the reduction of Tapozole really was the solution.

AMPS 103
+7 82
PMPS 112
+6 82

As usual, he was a little ornery this morning. He has no idea he's going to see Sienne's vet this morning -- now that'll put him in a great mood! I'm going to put on a nice thick sweatshirt before I pick him up to put him in his cage. Today we're going to talk about his appetite, about what my vet said on Tuesday, and radiation treatment for hyperthyroidism.

I won't be able to get to everyone's condos today. You guys are all in my thoughts, especially Rocket's ER visit yesterday and Curry's second day off the juice.
Bonnie

Edit: Here is the link that'll take you directly to the vet visit today.
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102

Nice AMPS, great news on his appy. Good luck with Sienne's vet...we'll be anxiously waiting for the update!

Amy
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102

Keeping you and Junior in my thoughts. Hope you have a good vet visit.
Keep us updated
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102

Send my regards to Dr. P! BTW, some friends of mine have a hellcat that goes ballistic at the vet's office. Junior is nothing compared to their cat and the vet is great with their cat!!
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102

morning bonnie! yes, we named our daughter bonnie - didn't have it planned, although it was on the short list, but when she was born she just looked like a happy little Bonnie, so there it was. been kinda nice too that there weren't 50 other bonnie's in her classes at school.

good luck with the vet! i hope you get lots of good information and it's a good match for you.
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102

Good morning guys .. a very nice start to the day for junior .. I hope that the vet visit goes well ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102

As always Junior has some beautiful numbers!

And good luck at the vet's today and Junior......no biting or scratching.......ok?
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102 Vet Visit Summary

Hi all!

Thank you for the well wishes for the vet visit! I hit a pothole on my way home and saw that I got a flat when I got home. Been dealing with that this afternoon.

Anyway, compared to our vet in Southern California and the one we've been working with, the overall experience with Sienne's vet was absolutely amazing! I never knew that a vet visit could be this wonderful. She was very methodical and thorough in our conversation, asking about things that my other vets had never asked about. Her support staff was equally impressive, tip toeing into the room and whispering to each other to keep Junior calm before they approached him.

Of course with Junior, it didn't work.

After burying him with 2 towels, a blanket, and a vet tech with the vulcan grip, Junior was sedated for some tests. We were there for 3 hours so I'll boil down what we discussed:

Diabetes
The new vet agreed with my old vet that Junior may be over treated for diabetes b/c his fructosamine results is too low. She recommended that Junior stop insulin for one week to see what'll happen. She said that it'll take a few days before we see the effects so I don't need to home test for a week but could start in 3-4 days if I wanted to.

Given that she is familiar with the Rand and Tilly protocol, I'm going to give this a try. We'll see what happens though I really don't think Junior is ready. He'll probably need his juice after a week. I'm also going to continue to home test daily anyway. Better to have too much data than not enough.

Junior's eyes are cloudy b/c of aging, not b/c it's related to diabetes.

Guts Stuff
Junior's blood was drawn to see if there is any pancreas or intestinal issues. Results will come in tomorrow. My old vet also needed to send her the x-rays that were taken on Friday so she'll need to look at that as well.

Thanks to Karrie and Maverick, I asked about fatty liver disease. She said it's probably not the case b/c you typically see them in overweight cats that suddenly stop eating altogether.

Hyperthyroid
Agreed with the old vet on this and recommends getting his blood checked in 3-4 weeks to see how the new dose is doing.

She was also knowledgeable on which radiation centers have a higher success rate, something the other office didn't know. Depending on the diabetes plan and the pancreas test result, Junior could be in radiation in 3-4 weeks. Otherwise it could be a couple of months.

Other
- Agreed that he does look underweight. She could see through his sagging skin that he used to be roly poly.
- Noticed that his breathing was belabored. Part of it is attributed to stress but there may be something going on there.
- Teeth are ok though they look like they need a cleaning and one might need to come out. She knows that the last time we gave him anesthesia, the vet had to pull him out b/c his heart got too faint.
- Said he has a "real cute butt."

Hope this wasn't too long to read. It's already weird that I'm not giving him insulin tonight.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and reactions.

Thanks guys!
Bonnie
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102 Vet Visit Summary

Personally, I don't think Junior is ready to be off insulin. Do you know what the fructosamine value was? You don't have it in Junior's labs. What the lab (Idexx) considers as a "prolonged hypo" as a fructosamine result is <250. That translates to 120 or less on a BG meter. Keep in mind, this is an average. You could have a cat that's at 150 at pre-shot and 50 at nadir and it's going to average out at 100 and get a fructosamine that tells the vet that the numbers are too low. Your spreadsheet tells a different story. And if this was Dr. P, she doesn't really read the SS.

If you're going to stop shooting, I would still get tests at your usual AMPS and PMPS times. That way if Junior's numbers spike, you'll catch it sooner rather than later. I would ignore the vet when it comes to not testing for 3 - 4 days. Sorry but it's your cat and, personally, I'd rather not see Junior in high numbers if they start trending upward.
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102 Vet Visit Summary

His fructosamine was 246.

I think I want to sleep on this tonight. I haven't had a chance to see his BG for today but they're probably going to be wonky b/c of vet stress and eating all day (past nadir, within 2 hrs of PMPS). He was super hungry after the sedation.

It would be good to humor Dr. P and give her a chance to prove herself. If his numbers start going up within 3-4 days, I want to make sure she and my regular vet know it's not working. and yes, I'd continue testing. I mean, come on -- I just learned ear pokes!
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102 Vet Visit Summary

Glad Junior has issues, but is basically OK That is good!--Glad you found a vet you like -it's so hard--
Will be sending good test vibes for Junior!!
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102 Vet Visit Summary

:lol: :lol: :lol:
Binks LOVES the fact that everyone comments on his "cute little butt"

he's sure that Junior felt the same pride.

glad that you had a good visit with a great vet!
and hoping for the best of results.
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102 Vet Visit Summary

Also regarding fatty liver - most cats that do get this are overweight - but its weight loss that clogs the liver not anorexia. Cats become anorexic because the fatty liver cycle starts and it compounds on itself. Feeling unwell, eating less, etc. After being on a dedicated assist feeding forum cats can get FHL very quickly if they don't eat, but also if they eat less over a longer period (say a week). Some cats can lose a drastic amount of weight without getting it. Every cat is different. So I want to clarify this in case there are people following along. I would listen to the gang here regarding the diabetes - they are the experts in my opinion.
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102 PMPS 91 Vet Visit

Thanks for sending good vibes my way! But make sure we save some for Rocket!

@Karrie, thank you for that clarification. I think I'm going to do more research in this area. It can't hurt.

@Junior. WTH? PMPS of 91? I thought you were going to have a high PMPS b/c of vet stress and that you ate all afternoon today! I don't understand you...
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102 PMPS 91 Vet Visit

Junior: dis be pictur of ma butt...
now u haz to show pictur of urs...
:-D
binks
 

Attachments

  • img011.jpg
    img011.jpg
    320.9 KB · Views: 350
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102 PMPS 91 Vet Visit

Lol!! Some cats' numbers go down with stress. Either that, or Junior is just playing with you.
 
Re: 7/7 Junior AMPS 102 PMPS 91 Vet Visit

Hey Bonnie, Don't stop testing. You have to know what's going on! I hope that all will work out to your satisfaction with regard to the I-131.
Too bad about your flat tire! Potholes are dreadful!!
Have a good evening, and keep us posted on Junior's progress.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top