? 7/7 Herman amps 428, +3 387, +5 428 ....concerned his numbers are so high

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
Feels like we are going backwards. Does anyone else feel like the harder they try the worse it gets? I went for months on caninsulin without a single test and now I am testing (alot - and he hates it) switched to Lantus, down to almost 100% wet (he was ondiabetes kibble while on caninsulin per vet) and not sure he is doing any better, he is always starving soo much... Feeling down and so worried for my furbaby. Sorry just needed to get it off my chest.

Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-392-2-410-7-360time-to-increase-dose.265490/
 
oh dear amy, so sorry you feel so demotivated :bighug: it's part of the process unfortunately, most of us have felt the same in the beginning, the good news is that very quickly it gets better, i promise :bighug:

If you want some comforting, feel free to check Chico's SS, we switched from Caninsulin early in 2021 and never looked back. It takes time and consistency but we trusted the process and it proved to be the right decision to make.

In my opinion what you see is old annoying bouncing, you just have to wait until it passes :kiss:

If i can recommend one thing, it would be to consider TR protocol, which would allow you to get to a good dose sooner and keep a good dose for longer - you are testing enough to go for it.

wish you lots of patience, you are in good hands on the forum so patience will help to get thru the difficulties :bighug:
 
oh dear amy, so sorry you feel so demotivated :bighug: it's part of the process unfortunately, most of us have felt the same in the beginning, the good news is that very quickly it gets better, i promise :bighug:

If you want some comforting, feel free to check Chico's SS, we switched from Caninsulin early in 2021 and never looked back. It takes time and consistency but we trusted the process and it proved to be the right decision to make.

In my opinion what you see is old annoying bouncing, you just have to wait until it passes :kiss:

If i can recommend one thing, it would be to consider TR protocol, which would allow you to get to a good dose sooner and keep a good dose for longer - you are testing enough to go for it.

wish you lots of patience, you are in good hands on the forum so patience will help to get thru the difficulties :bighug:
Thanks for this....often when I go look at other's SS I start to feel a panic attack coming on because I see numbers way less high than Herm's - and such an incredible amount of testing and recording being done (esp with exact food amounts) that I feel inadequate and scared! I need to look at the right sheets! But your suggestion of trying TR - thats a great idea- thanks. I am going to do more research today and make sure I can keep up with my current schedule of testing. Some test go so smooth that I can't believe it was ever a problem - but then I get a morning like today where I am running around at the ungodly hour of 4am desperately chasing my cat for the 8th poke so I can actually get a drop of blood so I can feed and give his shot! Speaking of shots - they have become more difficult as I test more - he's a little uptight and so am I! But I am quite certain the last few days were proper injection (not fur shot) - sometimes I just don't know.
 
Once you get to 100% wet I too would give TR a try at least until you get him controlled. You can always switch back if you don’t like it.
Yes - I think I am leaning this way. (TR) My only concern is as I live on a shared farm property - there is always the tiny chance he gets into some food he shouldn't However the other family is 100% on board and only allowing their cats kibble "after hours" or early morning before cat flaps are open. (we put all cats away in their respective homes around 5pm and let them out mid morning - other family knows to put all food away inclusing picking up loose ones on the ground). We also review it daily to keep it fresh in everyone's mind - everyone wants Herman to get better! Hoping to determine how sensitive he really is, ie: will 3 temptations spike him for the full day? My goal is to eliminate ALL but mistakes happen.
 
A few comments about testing. You don’t need to test as much as you are especially not at 4 a.m. . With lantus it onsets for many around +2, a bit earlier for some and later for Max. I soon learned a +1 was of no benefit. Once you see when Herman onsets that will be your first test after preshot. If a lot lower than the preshot you will want to test again in an hour or two. If the same get a +4. If at onset still high maybe grab a test somewhere between +5-7 and vary the times. If pink or red stop testing. If you post we can help you with when to test until you feel comfortable.
 
Thanks for this....often when I go look at other's SS I start to feel a panic attack coming on because I see numbers way less high than Herm's - and such an incredible amount of testing and recording being done (esp with exact food amounts) that I feel inadequate and scared! I need to look at the right sheets! But your suggestion of trying TR - thats a great idea- thanks. I am going to do more research today and make sure I can keep up with my current schedule of testing. Some test go so smooth that I can't believe it was ever a problem - but then I get a morning like today where I am running around at the ungodly hour of 4am desperately chasing my cat for the 8th poke so I can actually get a drop of blood so I can feed and give his shot! Speaking of shots - they have become more difficult as I test more - he's a little uptight and so am I! But I am quite certain the last few days were proper injection (not fur shot) - sometimes I just don't know.
Actually i hope Chico's SS will make you feel better, he was so much in the black and red that i was sooo scared and looking desperately for similar SS to calm myself down (i know exactly how you feel :bighug:). An important thing to remember is that high BG is bad from a long term perspective, but you are working hard to not let that happen for a long period of time, so be kind to yourself :cat:

make sure to give him a snack and cuddles every time after a test, they learn so quickly that it is a "pleasant" activity, we were impressed :D additionally, their ears develop more capillaries so it helps with the bleeding as well. It's really just about time and patience :)
 
Yes - I think I am leaning this way. (TR) My only concern is as I live on a shared farm property - there is always the tiny chance he gets into some food he shouldn't However the other family is 100% on board and only allowing their cats kibble "after hours" or early morning before cat flaps are open. (we put all cats away in their respective homes around 5pm and let them out mid morning - other family knows to put all food away inclusing picking up loose ones on the ground). We also review it daily to keep it fresh in everyone's mind - everyone wants Herman to get better! Hoping to determine how sensitive he really is, ie: will 3 temptations spike him for the full day? My goal is to eliminate ALL but mistakes happen.
Mistakes happen but they recover. Don’t let that happen. I’d bet everyone has had an experience with contraband occasionally.
 
A few comments about testing. You don’t need to test as much as you are especially not at 4 a.m. . With lantus it onsets for many around +2, a bit earlier for some and later for Max. I soon learned a +1 was of no benefit. Once you see when Herman onsets that will be your first test after preshot. If a lot lower than the preshot you will want to test again in an hour or two. If the same get a +4. If at onset still high maybe grab a test somewhere between +5-7 and vary the times. If pink or red stop testing. If you post we can help you with when to test until you feel comfortable.
Ok - I will test more judiciously - sometimes I do it because the opportunity is there and I figure "better get one now while he's chill". HE gets his shot at 430am and 430pm - I would love to get to a more reasonable hour like 545 but for scheduling reasons we ended up here and it stuck.
 
Do you want to change shot time? That’s easy. You can move the time 30 minutes every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle without concern.
 
when I go look at other's SS I start to feel a panic attack coming on because I see numbers way less high than Herm's
Take a look at Neko's first year, we too started on Caninsulin, but started on too low a dose. And unfortunately started on a meter that didn't properly show higher numbers, until we switched meters. :( My girl also got into contraband occasionally. We got very good after a few mistakes:rolleyes: at locking food away.
 
Do you want to change shot time? That’s easy. You can move the time 30 minutes every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle without concern.
For the last 10 years he’s been fed at 430…that combined with earlier hungry mornings and some scheduling issues in evenings we ended up here. I’d like to move it forward a bit soon but not yet
Take a look at Neko's first year, we too started on Caninsulin, but started on too low a dose. And unfortunately started on a meter that didn't properly show higher numbers, until we switched meters. :( My girl also got into contraband occasionally. We got very good after a few mistakes:rolleyes: at locking food away.
thank you so much for this. The meter variance is shocking!
 
Last edited:
You were commenting about getting blood. Maus was a reluctant bleeder & won't stay still long enough for the common ear warming techniques so I've been noticing how I poke. For best results, I hold her ear between thumb and forefinger & poke inward, mostly parallel to her ear from top of the edge. My forefinger is the backing & I rarely poke through.
 
You were commenting about getting blood. Maus was a reluctant bleeder & won't stay still long enough for the common ear warming techniques so I've been noticing how I poke. For best results, I hold her ear between thumb and forefinger & poke inward, mostly parallel to her ear from top of the edge. My forefinger is the backing & I rarely poke through.
Thanks for this . Thankfully Herman’s ears are definitely starting to bleed easier. Angling the lancet has helped for sure.
 
Back
Top