7/7 Deb's Spot AMPS 127/ After dental update!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb & Spot

Member Since 2009
Poor poor Spot! No food or water after midnight, so I gave him a nice heafty snack at 10 pm. All was quiet during the night, then around 4 am the torture began. Lick Lick Lick...my arms, my face, my hair... poor Spot wanted his snack! Everytime I moved the poor thing would take off running to the kitchen. When he realized I wasn't following he would return and start the whole routine again. Finally, instead of running when I moved he would move to the edge of the bed and wait to see if I was getting up. If not, he'd return to the licking torture again. This went on until 5:30 am. Then the pacing began...back and forth, back and forth to the kitchen. I tried to ignore this, but the occasionally meak meow coming from his little self was so heartbreaking! Then it was test time...and no treat after test...got a look like "hey, something's missing from this picture"...then the run out to the kitchen to the feeding Spot. No one could eat if he couldn't so by now I have three starving kitties (Mr. Hoover, Ralph was at the brink of fainting since he didn't get any of Spot's snacks from the automat during the night) and a starving drooler circling me. I had to put the ol' boy outside on his leash so I could feed the others, but when I got him out there, he promptly went to the grass and tried to munch on that, so I had to move the leash to a spot where he couldn't reach the grass. This worked for a while then he realized that he couldn't go any further and decided to sit where he could look into the door with this pitiful look on his face... one that said..."I know someone is eating in that house how come I can't...poor poor me"
Then we had the car ride to the vettie bean...oh the sad sad pitiful meows that were coming from that boy...He was very quit when we got to the vettiebeans....there were two large droolers already there and Spot decided that it would be in his best interest to just sit low and stay cool.

Soooooo.....wish him luck on his dental today and pray that it's only 3 teeth that need to come out this time around. Unfortunately, I don't think that Spot will make it to any parties today. As his mum, I think it's in his best interest that he stay at home tonight and relax. He probably won't be able to eat any of Chef Stu's gourmet meals or drink any of those tasty cocktails anyway. However he does send his hellos and Happy Birthday Wishes to Doodles and Gotti!
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot AMPS 127

Oh Deb....I am sitting here with tears in my eyes! :sad: You described it so well...what a sad, sad tale.
I HATE DENTAL DAYS!
images


The torture during the night is unbearable. And then, in the morning when they don't get their food...oh my...
the sadness of it all.
There food is such a joy in their life. And THEN, the car trip. THAT is SO unfair!
I hate being the mother during the dental rituals. HATE it SO much. Now, you have to sit and wait too...HUGS Deb!
But YOU know that he will be SOOOO much better after this is over with....
I am sniffing now....thinking of you both....let us know as soon as you her how he did....poor Spot!
He will be SO much happier after this though...HUGS Deb :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot AMPS 127

POOR SPOT! But I know the drill - after two dentals this year for Mannie, this almost made me laugh.... been there.... poor spot! and then there is the car! i always hated the drama involved with the vet visits, especially the dentals - and then I'd sit there and worry until they called... aiyee! I did get a laugh out of the lick lick lick - I always get the "gentle" paws on the pace too.

Well best wishes to Spot! Have a good dental Spot, you will be home soon. Mannie says he wants to come and visit Spot, maybe bring him some cake from Doodles birthday. He said it is soft and squishy and maybe Spot could eat that, or it would keep for a day or two, and he really didn't want Spot to miss having some...

(((HUGS))) Deb while you wait...
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot AMPS 127

just imagine how much more he will love his food once his toofers don't hurt him anymore! Will be sending quick healing thoughts and prayers it is only 3 teeth that need to come out ... spot will be back to good before you know it, ready to dance it up at another party!
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot AMPS 127

Just replied to yesterday's post I missed--SENDING Strongest Easy Dental vibes to our sweet Spot & feel better vibes to you Deb!
Remember Moonie had 5 teeth out 1st yr here, and 4 last year (she has very few left)--She did great--First time gave her metacam once the next day & no pain meds after that & she ate like a piggy!--2nd dental, she needed the bupe, and I gave it to hr and again she was fine & ate fine..
Hopes for an easy day for you--The hardest thing is the Not Feeding--HUGS & XOXOX-Update when you can...
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot AMPS 127

Aww poor Spot. Your story made me so sad for him. If we could only explain to them what we are doing and that we are not just being mean and not feeding them.
Sending good thoughts for Spot's dental. He will feel so much better after his teeth are out.
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot AMPS 127

good boy spot!! should have licked a little harder or started knocking things off the dresser. wheez will show you how
hope all goes well and you are back at he falls lickety split
hope you are feeling better also deb
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot AMPS 127

Ohhhh Spot, me know know hard it is when they refuse to five fuds. WHYYYY? We is gud kitties!! Oh, teef! Me have lots out too an feel much better. Then, ..... GOOD FUDS! -- Tess

Hope the best for the dental today! I can't wait to see the numbers start to drop afterwards. Feel better soon, Spot!
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot AMPS 127

Sending healing toofer vines for Spot...

Kasha has her first ever dental scheduled for the beginning of August... I'm not looking forward to it, but I am looking forward to it being over and done with!
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot AMPS 127

We have a Spot update! He did well and is home now. They pulled the three teeth that were giving him problems and now he has a few stitches in his poor liddle mouf. Vet tech brought him out to me and said that they were going to get a temp, but Spot was not very happy with them and he hissed and spit and growled at them and they didn't want to upset him. They gave me some pain meds and sent us on our way.

On the way home Spot did not want to stay in his carrier, so I let him out (yes I know, not a good idea, but he is good in the car). He laid on the seat next to me and occasionally got up to look out the window or sit in my lap. I got him home and the first thing he did was go up to where his food dish is kept and was looking for food. I gave him a teeny tiny bit of food in the dish and he scarfed that down like nothing. I took his bg and it was 145...they said he was 160 at vet and there is a good possibility that he got a fur shot this morning. About half hour after his first mini meal, I gave him another mini meal, which he also thoroughly enjoyed. He hung out by the dish for about fifteen more minutes and made a trip to the LB, but jumped out when I went to check on him. He doesn't have anything in his system (food or water), so I'm not to concerned with the lack of action just yet.

All in all, he seems to be doing just fine. He's walking around the house, doesn't seem to be uncoordinated, and has an appy.

For those who are interested in me....I am doing well after my dental yesterday! Took a pain pill last night and slept like a baby (until the torture started at 4 am this morning). No more pain meds throughout the day and I have very little pain. I can only hope and pray that my little buddy does as well as me!

Thanks to everyone for their concern and kind words!
 
You description of Spot pre-dental made me giggle!!

I'm glad Spot is home and all went well. I'm also glad both Spot and you seem to be feeling reasonably well after your dental adventures. I hate going to the dentist!
 
So Happy Spot is home and doing well :mrgreen: and I did not realize you had a dental yesterday Deb hope you are feeling well I also just hate going to the dentist make myself do it but always dread it
 
So glad everything went ok Trey is going to have work on his teeth too and not feeding him will be the worst I am sure He sounds like your spot LOL Kath :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot PMPS ~ 97

If that was indeed a fur shot, I'm happy! Nice drop in an hour! Decreased his dose from .2u to .1u, just as a precaution.
A wee little poo in the LB so far also. Good boy Spot!
 
fantastic news, I'm glad Spot is doing so well and is home with you. And I'm glad you're okay and pain free too.
 
Spot! Why didn't you tell me you were being starved and then sent away! Well it's too late for me to send you a lovely uniform, errrr outfit with your name on it and give you a place of refuge. Unless you want the uniform, errr outfit?! Anyway, I'm sending over a small pitcher of fresh homemade nip-ade. Sip it slowly and enjoy the buzz.
You had a rough time and deserve it.

Signed, Maui the Magnificent
 
I am so so Glad to hear Momma bean & Furbaby are doing fine!! My dear friends, the stress of any vet visit can topple the strongest person,
a Dental is like a day of torture, but somehow it all ends up well!!!!
Spot man you are a champ, & Deb, you are the hero--Good day all around--Now just some LB action & life returns to normal
HUGS from Us!!Giant Hugs :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
YAY - and good for Spot! Mannie and Buzz and Stu are elated, and Tess and and and.... - they are so excited to be bringing Spot some cake from the party. Sounds like he will be ready to wolf it down... It should go wonderfully with maui's nip-ade...

I am glad he did so well - and you too! Dentals are never fun, whether they are for us, or our fur babies. I am glad that you are doing well too.

And nice AMPS after all Spot has been through today.
 
So glad to hear both you and spot are ding well after your
twin dentals. Such a good Mama to show Spot you can handle it to.

Max is anxious for him to get back to his condo.
Maui is making him work extra hard at her pool and it is soooooo hot.
Feel better both of you.
 
So happy that's over with! For BOTH of you!! Hope you can both relax tonight. Sounds as if you are boht real troopers! What a good boy Spot is.... :YMHUG:
 
So glad that things went well dental wise for both of you. God I bet you're both glad that is all over with. Such stress and You've both handled it very well. Relax tonight and have some cuddle time, You both deserve it. There will be other parties Spot. DOn't you worry.
 
Yay! Glad to hear Spot is home! Bet you're both glad that's over with!

Funny - I don't mind the dentist - but it doesn't hurt that I've been going to the same dentist for about 20 yrs. We chat, catch up and recommend good books to each other. Then he replaces another crown and I pay for his vacation to the south of France.

I'm absolutely terrified of all other doctors though (excluding my eye doctor and my chiropractor). I catch a glimpse of a lab coat and my blood pressure soars, I feel like I'm going to pass out!

Kinda feel that way about vet visits too! But I would gladly trade places with Kasha for her dental, because bad as those things can be for me, it's so very much worse for me to watch the kitties go thru it and be scared. I hate that!

Sending a healthy, healing tooth care package to Spotty...
 
So happy to hear that Spotty is fine after his dental day. And you too, Deb! Now, both of you have a happy, relaxing evening. The kitchen crew wlll be stopping by later to bring Spot a piece of birthday cake and to hang out for a while. They missed him at the party, but lots of parties are still to come!
Hugs from us,
Ella & Stu
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot PM +4 ~ 85

Very nice bg! I'm telling you, my poor Spot looks so out of it...he doesn't even look like my cat, but he id doing great. He's been walking around, he is looking for food, had two p's in the LB (a small little poo, but a nice pee), he just looks like a stoner, lol

Well, time to head off to bed. Hopefully after Spot's snack, he will be able to relax and snooze for a while. I'll leave the front door open for the kitchen crew to sneak in. I didn't tell Spot that his friends were going to drop by, so it will be a surprise! Just do me a favor fellas and gals...try not to keep Spot up to late, he really does need his rest!

Nini all...be back at +7 or +8
 
Aww... poor little stoner Spot :smile:
I'm glad everything went well (with both your dentals) Deb and that's he's home and eating already :)
 
Re: 7/7 Deb's Spot PM +7.5 ~ 79

awesome! Not looking quite as stoned and really hungry! Going to give snack and head on btb!
 
Sending healing prayers and Angels to help Both of you be well Hugsssssssssss Spot remember everyday you get a little better I(Trey have to do it soon too) be strong and eat soft food just for a day or so LOL Kath & Trey
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top