7/7 DAVIDSON PMPS 145, +2-120, +4-71, +6-82

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hmmmm, I need some advise or help on what to do with Davidson.............he's on Cycle 22/11 Days on 2.5u and prior to the slight decrease for 4 days he was 30 cycles/15 days on 2.5u

So, here he is coasting and surfing along for the most part in the greens, however he's not dropped to 40 or < to earn a reducie and I'm thinking he might be getting used to this dose and is happy. He needs to work hard to get the next reduction and perhaps I'm too optimistic thinking he might still be able to reach the OTJ stage down the road??

With no experience during his second rodeo, do you think I should increase him slightly so that it drops him down?? His AMPS and PMPS are still over 100 and that's the most difficult to change (Davidson controls the changes, lol) so seeing as he's been into the 50' and 60's often do you suggest an increase for tomorrow morning AMPS?

How do I get him from surfing as he's done for the past month on this dose, or perhaps better wording how do I get his BG #'s down without risk?

Any feedback is appreciated from those who have experience with past remission kitties.

Tnx

Shawna
 
When do you feed Daividson? Just wondering if that could be tweaked.

I do like the idea of fattening his dose. Maybe combined with food that is a couple points higher carbs so you can get a bit more insulin in him and keep him safe. For any lurkers, this is a suggestion for Shawna only, given her experience and amount of testing.
 
Tnx Wendy, Davidson's shot time is 05:30am and 17:30pm so in the early morning he hasn't had any food for well over 7 hrs, and at the pm time he hasn't eaten in at least 3 hrs...........he eats at shot time 1.5 cans FF given for a period of 1 hr, then he gets a +2 which is food driven and usually by +3 onward he's not eaten for min. 2 hrs.........during the day he might get 1/8th of a can but then he's not tested for a while after.

It's safe to say 95% of his tests are NOT having any food spikes, as I'm always wanting clean tests.
 
I was more wondering if he got any food after nadir, which can shorten duration and cause spikes for preshots. Sounds like not.
 
So just to understand, test as I’m doing often and feed before so that he will have food spikes? Should I fatten the dose a bit? Can you pls explain how if food spikes the BG why this is a part of the “healing”....perhaps it tricks the depot to release more insulin thinking that he’s too high?
 
Ok, tomorrow July 8, Amos dose will be fattened and will test as usual......food will be given if there is any risk of Davidson going too low.......let’s see what that does, hopefully it gives his pancreas a kick in the arse and he can get a reducie haha.

Tnx for the feedback Wendy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top