7/7 Daphne AMPS 69, +9 85 PMPS 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74505

Happy Caterday LL!

I'm still limiting my time on the computer, not feeling so good… So DH was exhausted and I couldn't get up again with only 2 hours sleep, so we set feeders to open at 5:30 AM and 6:30 AM and then DH tested at 8:30 AM and shot. So Daphne's number @AMPS was most likely from the food @ 5:30, and 6:30 AM, (food was only .35oz, and another at 6:30 .35oz). So this is not something new with her, we know food will bring her down most of the time after two hours. I think for Daphne, the +9 may not work as well at bringing down her numbers as the +10 is, as seen above. I've been doing the +9 before I go to bed with her, to try and get her AMPS to look like today. So I guess I will try the +10 now, and see if that works each night. If you are new to this or unfamiliar with Daphne's history, please DO NOT try this method with your kitty. Daphne is only on a drop of insulin, and we know her pancreas is working most of the time, but maybe not all of the time… (anti-jinx).

Sending healing vines to all the kitties and beans who may need them today.

I'll be back tomorrow,…hoping to feel better.
 
Re: 7/7 Daphne AMPS 69, +9 85

hi barb! sorry you're feeling punkish today - that's no fun.

ya know - daphne's had 12 days of less than 120 . . . which makes it 12 days of normal numbers. if you wanted to, you could do a trial and see if she holds in the non-diabetic range. if she doesn't, you could always go back to giving her a little drop. that's why it's called a trial.

if you wanted to try it, the usual wisdom is to start when you see a green preshot, then just skip the shot. here's the directions:

---Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
---If Daphne is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
--If, after 2 weeks Daphne has stayed in normal numbers, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give her the support she needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

the choice is yours . . . what do you think?
 
Re: 7/7 Daphne AMPS 69, +9 85

Barb, sorry you're not feeling well. Wow, Daphne - exciting stuff!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 7/7 Daphne AMPS 69, +9 85

I've been waiting for someone (with the proper credentials :-D ) to suggest a trial. Paws crossed and double crossed when you decide Daphne is ready. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 7/7 Daphne AMPS 69, +9 85

Barb, sorry you're not feeling well. If you decide to start the trial, many prayers and paws crossed. I think Daphne is trying to make things easier on you.
 
Re: 7/7 Daphne AMPS 69, +9 85

i don't have any credentials, liz, i'm just looking at the Protocol:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

after 7 days with numbers in normal range, you can try a reduction. daphne's gone from .25u to .1u, and the next reduction is a trial.

i agree with ann, i think daphne's trying to make things easier on you, barb, and it would surely be a blessing to you to not have to deal with insulin anymore. but of course, it's up to you what happens next.
 
Thank you everyone who visited and for the support and information… I'm going to reread this post tomorrow, I'm in so much pain, I can't think...

i think daphne's trying to make things easier on you, barb,
I need that more then anyone knows right now. I'll be back tomorrow after I get some rest so maybe I'll have a clearer head.

Thank you LL! You guys are the best!
 
I agree with Julie...you've done fantastic with Daphne, Barb, even if you didn't have health issues. But to see how great she has done and know the kind of pain and other problems you have...it's amazing.

I also agree with Julie that it's time to take off those training wheels and give a trial a chance :-D Paws crossed!
 
Barb, I am in pain the last few days too with all these storms & humidity--You could start a trial, then see what happens..I get it that you maybe hesitant, but it would be one less thing to worry about, the most important thing, your furbaby--Hugs & Love-Know how you feel-me too! Have a good Ni Ni!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top