7/7 - Alice: AMPS 403: PMBG 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Geneva

Member Since 2014
I hope it is okay for me and Alice to post here. We've made our introductions in the Health thread. cat_pet_icon

Her AMPS was 403 this morning. Midday she was at 120 and just now her PMPS was 105! UPDATE: Now at +3, it's 90!

We've only been testing her since Friday, but just in that time, we've skipped a morning dose because she was at 110.

DH and I are just stumped to know when to skip the dose. I'm so afraid of her going hypo. We just don't feel like we have enough information to make the right choice. Why such a big swing from AM to PM?

We're stalling for now, but leaning towards skipping once again. Thanks for any advice.
 
Re: 7/7 Alice AMPS - 403 -- PMPS - 105

Hello! Im not comfortable giving advice, but If it were my cat, I would skip. With newly dx kitties usually you dont want to shoot anything below 200. But hopefully someone can come here soon to advise.
 
Re: 7/7 Alice AMPS 403 -- PMPS 105

Laura - thank you for the input! I really appreciate it.

DH and I have spent the last hour debating ... half dose? ... no dose? ... full dose? ... and have decided to skip it.
I'll retest her at +2 and/or +3. I'm sure it will be up by then. I just hate the thought of sending her to 400+ again by morning. That can't feel good.

Alice also seems particularly hungry today, going around from bowl to bowl, finishing up whatever pate scraps the others have left.

Now I've got to read more about these Lantus forums and make sure I'm posting in the right one! :oops:

Edited to add: Laura, your Chi Chi girl is beautiful!
 
Re: 7/7 Alice AMPS 403 -- PMPS 105

If youre not comfortable shooting lower #s, then dont. Until you have more testing info to see how the kitty reacts to insulin, its better to be high for a day, then low for a minute..good luck and paws crossed that she doesnt bounce to high.
 
Re: 7/7 Alice AMPS 403 -- PMPS 105

Thanks Geneva! hopefully you can get your avatar set up with kitty Alices picture! Im sure shes a sweetie pie. :smile:
 
Re: 7/7 Alice AMPS 403 -- PMPS 105

Oh..by the way, anytime you skip a dose, you would put PMBG instead of PMPS..pmps indicates you gave the shot, whereas pmbg is just info on her # at that time..(pm blood glucose)..have a great evening!
 
Re: 7/7 Alice AMPS 403 - PMBG 105 - +3 90

Laura - I've changed it to PMBG - thanks for your help!

So we skipped the dose, fed her, and now at +3 she's at 90! What is going on?!?

The first 3 days I fed her Blue Buffalo tuna Kitty Yums as her test treat. Once I read the ingredients, I stopped. She hasn't had any Kitty Yums today. Could she be so sensitive to carbs that without the Kitty Yums, her BG drops like it has all day today?

I thought I'd be so thrilled to see her first green number, but, noooooo ... instead I'm worried that something's wrong. :?

Edited to add: I'm really starting to second guess myself about her morning dose. I wonder if I accidentally gave her too much? What else could cause a red number in the AM (403) and a green number after supper that night (90)?
 
Re: 7/7 Alice AMPS 403 - PMBG 105 - +3 90

Welcome! Wow, Alice is giving you a run for her money right off the bat! you did the right thing skipping. Lets see what she does in the morning. What time zone are you in? What time of day is your usual shot time? that way one of us can be watching for you when you post her AMPS number.
 
Re: 7/7 Alice AMPS 403 - PMBG 105 - +3 90

Thank you, Linda! :smile:

Just did a +4 before bed and Alice is now at 86. She was playing with the laser light shortly afterwards and DH thinks I'm just a worrywart (true).

I'm in South Carolina, Eastern Standard Time. I usually test AMPS around 7 AM. I'm able to come home at lunch time so I hope to get a midday number every day as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top