7/7/10 HARLEY PMPS 421 – YIKES!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Starting out to be a good day. He is a little high but about usual. I know that there have been suggestions that both the AM & PM dose of Lantus should be the same. I am not ignoring the suggestion but am a little skittish about changing given Harley's history of DKA and ketones. Since he will go into the vet on Saturday to be medically boarded, that will be a perfect time to have this done.

He does not eat much for that week, also a good time for the "diet" suggestion, so the insulin dose will go down and I will tell them to make it the same for both shots. When he comes home 8 days later, I will not begin to feed as much as now and keep the insulin the same.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/7/10 HARLEY AMPS 320

Morning Pattie! Here is the link to your condo from yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19037

It helps to link the previous post each morning when you open a new condo for the day. that way, we can easily see what transpired the day before.
I am glad you will be switching Harley to the same dose both in the AM and PM. Which dose will you be telling them to shoot?

Consistent dosing is important for the reasons you mentioned...ie: DKA and ketones....have you been home testing for ketones? I see that you notated it in the past there are no notes recently...it would be good to keep a close eye on that issue. :razz:
hope you guys have a good day...great name too ...Harley... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/7/10 HARLEY AMPS 320

Pattie:

Is the place where you're boarding Harley a facility that does 24/7 monitoring? I'd also talk to your vet about weighing the pros and cons of trying to address Harley's weight before his FD is better regulated.
 
So much for having a good day. Ok, what went wrong! Could not get home to do a +6 but did do bg at +8 272 and gave a treat of ½ oz raw cooked chicken. That was all Harley had. I resisted the temptation of giving him food at 5:00 when he was crying so hard and now…421. Had a worker in the house for about 1 hour, but that should not have affected his bg – should it.
I am not a panicked as I was over the weekend – just racked with guilt because I don’t know what I am doing wrong. I don’t want to circumvent the vet on the insulin dose but should I suggest lowering it, if I am not giving as much food. Again, there are those dreaded Ketones that I always worry about.

Gave him 1 can FF and he was still crying, so I gave him ½ more. He is now walking around.

Here are some answers to questions that I received to day: Sorry about not linking the condo, I will try and remember. I test for ketones as often as I can catch him peeing. That is usually once a day, if not more.

I will be boarding him and the U of MN, which does medial boarding. He will be watched 24/7 and they will do bg and ketones if I request it (like I would forget). I do think the little guy needs to shed a couple of pounds. 12# is too much for him. He is actually better at between 10-11#

Pattie
 
I don't think you're doing anything wrong. I wouldn't shoot different doses but it's not a deal breaker. Maybe once you're back from your travels, you can try a week or two of shooting the same dose AM and PM and we can help you to take a look at what gives you better numbers. From what Harley's numbers look like, I doubt he's getting too much insulin. And I agree, I'd be afraid of ketones, too. Gabby's been through one bout of DKA and it was terrifying. One thought is that since he's going to be at the U of MN, you could ask one of their vets to consult about Harley's dose.

As for why Harley's numbers went to red... There's no way to know for certain without the test data. Certainly one possibility is that Harley saw green again during the AM cycle. Subsequently, his liver panicked and he bounced into the reds. The more time Harley spends in lower numbers, the more his liver will not go into panic mode. It's a process and as much as we would all like to, we can't control it. The best we can do is slow the dropping numbers.

The U has an excellent vet clinic/school There's at least one other member here who's in your area (Carolyn/Latte) and she has only good things to say about the care Latte has gotten there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top