7/6 Tiger Amps 336 , +6 93.

Deb and Tiger

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-5-tiger-amps-hi-upcoming-dental.291854/

Tiger has been busy today It was difficult to control his drop with food today and I so believe it is due to his teeth bothering him. I am so worried that he may have this happen on Monday for his dental. He will be without food for hours and this typically causes his numbers to drop.

I know technically he did not earn a reduction but I am thinking of taking one so as to lower the depot before Monday and reduce his chances of dropping for his dental. I know I’m probably over thinking this, but today’s drop worries me since he dropped over 100 in an hour. I felt sorry for him trying to eat so many times. @Wendy&Neko will this be okay?

I ordered some cat mousse food from PetSmart and will pick up some baby food tomorrow.

I will glad when this is all done!

Enjoy your evening everyone!
 
We dose by what we see, not what might have been. Besides, you are going to just give him a half dose on Monday anyway, aren't you? I expect he'll be bouncing the next day or two anyway.
 
Hi Deb,
I know these drops are scary and stressful! I was also scared that Binie would go too low during her surgery and I brought lots of high carb food to the vet. She gave me an amused look and told me, that they have a glucose drip, monitor her constantly and don't need any food to manage her bg. And I also gave only half dose in the morning. So she was really safe and there was no need to give her glucose. I hope it will be the same for Tiger!

When Binie had her surgery, I always concentrated on how much better it will make her feel when her problems get solved by the surgery. I am sure Tiger will be much better without tooth ache. I will keep you in my thoughts and keep all my fingers crossed for you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
We dose by what we see, not what might have been. Besides, you are going to just give him a half dose on Monday anyway, aren't you? I expect he'll be bouncing the next day or two anyway.
Hi Wendy Actually I didn’t see your reply in time and gave him 2.25u. I too thought he would bounce but he had other ideas and we ended with a string of blue last night and him refusing to eat. I was kind of worried because this libre was just put on him Friday and when the vet checked it compared to her manual reading, it was almost 60 points higher than hers.
Looking at his numbers this morning I think he is now bouncing from the last 2 cycles of blues.
I did get a look at his gums last night and I saw places that were definitely inflamed, so that explains him refusing food. He is mostly eating some LC pates which doesn’t affect his numbers at all. I did leave his 20% out last night after the drop and he ate it eventually after we were asleep though.
I’m going to leave him at 2.25 until after surgery and he’s eating better to be safe.
Thank you for helping me through this stressful time.
@Wendy&Neko
I found baby food that is a protein in gravy, is that the right one? Like chicken and gravy? It has chicken, water and cornstarch…
 
Last edited:
Hi Deb,
I know these drops are scary and stressful! I was also scared that Binie would go too low during her surgery and I brought lots of high carb food to the vet. She gave me an amused look and told me, that they have a glucose drip, monitor her constantly and don't need any food to manage her bg. And I also gave only half dose in the morning. So she was really safe and there was no need to give her glucose. I hope it will be the same for Tiger!

When Binie had her surgery, I always concentrated on how much better it will make her feel when her problems get solved by the surgery. I am sure Tiger will be much better without tooth ache. I will keep you in my thoughts and keep all my fingers crossed for you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Oh Heike thank you so much for that encouragement! I needed that and will try to concentrate on the positive. It is just so hard to do when it’s so scary. It helps to know that others have gone through it and it helped their babies!
 
I was kind of worried because this libre was just put on him Friday and when the vet checked it compared to her manual reading, it was almost 60 points higher than hers.
We don't care if they are far apart in the high numbers - he was over 300 then. 382/329 is within meter variance. Meters can be 20% apart which at that point was over 60 points. What would be interesting is finding out how it measures in low numbers, below 100, where the numbers should be much closer. Different BG meters will be much closer below 100 and that's where people see the Libre registering lower than it should.
we ended with a string of blue last night and him refusing to eat
He barely got below 150, still very safe. I really hope that dental helps his eating issues. :bighug:
I found baby food that is a protein in gravy, is that the right one? Like chicken and gravy? It has chicken, water and cornstarch…
No, you want a baby food without cornstarch which is carbs. Should be basically meat and water. Beechnut and Gerber made some that OK.
 
Oh Heike thank you so much for that encouragement! I needed that and will try to concentrate on the positive. It is just so hard to do when it’s so scary. It helps to know that others have gone through it and it helped their babies!

In two weeks you will be the one calming other people in the same situation down! Before Binies surgery I took lavender capsules which helped me a lot. I always think I help Binie more, if I try to stay calm or at least not freak out. :rolleyes:

I sometimes compare the libre numbers with the handheld meter as well. If Binie is high over 300, the handheld is most of the times much lower, so I am not surprised. If she is in the lower 200 or 100, they sometimes match 1:1. If she is under 100 on the libre she is usually higher on the meter. Sometimes I wrote the two measurements down in the ss. Maybe it is interesting for you to take a look, to feel more safe about this.
 
Hi Deb, just want to wish you and Tiger the best and a very smooth and safe procedure. I hope he sails through and feels so much better.
Maybe try to have some camomile tea or something calming for yourself tonight.
(I try to breathe lavender essential oils to help calm me down, I think it helps a bit. And calming breathing techniques, too ).
Sending you both big hugs. I’ll be sending prayers your way :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks Staci so much. Today confirmed he really needs it. He has been very finicky eating today. Oddly he’s backed away from soft foods but would eat up hard treats (a few). I think it’s the front tooth bothering him the worst and he can chew better on the back. Dentist did mention the front will need extraction.
I’ll try to breathe deep and pray a lot!

Have a good night!
 
Back
Top