7/6 Tiger AMPS 214;+2=208;+3.5=199;+9=74;+10.5=83;PMPS=92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121316

Tiger's appetite was off again this AM. We had the big bounce last night as expected. I had to really coax her to eat a little. No hairballs, and she had peed and pooped okay. Still afraid to give her the full 3 units in case she didn't eat, but I did give the shot. By +3.5, it didn't appear her BG was going anywhere, so we went out to the Farmer's Market for the first time this year. One vendor had corn, I suspect wasn't local, that would be way too early? But all I came home with was fresh prawns, zucchini, raspberries and strawb erries, thinking dessert first, again :smile:

When we got home and I tested at +9, I was very very surprised to see a 74!! :shock: What did I miss from +3??? If her appetite remains iffy, I'm going to be afraid to give the full 3 units. I will test her again at +10 and +11, this is making me nervous.
 
Re: 7/6 Tiger AMPS 214;+1=237;+2=208;+3.5=199;+9=74

Nice to see greens so soon after that skipped dose, but not so good if it's the results of her not eating. Have you tried tempting her with different types of food? Some kitties get tired of the DM. It's fairly high in liver and they seem to lose interest in that after a while. I'd make sure she's eaten a good amount before giving her the full dose. If you can't get her to eat much again, a vet visit might be in order. Eat your fuds please Tiger!

Good score at the farmers market. I haven't seen prawns at the ones here.
 
Re: 7/6 Tiger AMPS 214;+1=237;+2=208;+3.5=199;+9=74

Hi Ruth,
I agree with Wendy that you might want to try some different foods. Rusty wouldn't touch DM (Stu wouldn't either). Or maybe just leave out food for Tiger to graze on over the course of the day. Rusty is a "grazer" and it often seems like he isn't eating enough. But then the next time I look at his dish, the food is gone. Sometimes he forgets to eat but then dives in when we hold the dish in front of his face. At night he has no trouble polishing off his food. His dish is always empty by morning. So time of day/night might be a factor in Tiger's eating.
Perhaps you have other cats and flexible feeding wouldn't work for you. Just a thought, however.

Eat yer fuds, Tiger!

Sounds like you got some great stuff at the farmers' market.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/6 Tiger AMPS 214;+1=237;+2=208;+3.5=199;+9=74

Hi Ruth! That must've been scary seeing that 74! I got that 70 this am and wondered what the heck did I miss last night! Hope Tigers appy comes back and she eats for you tonight. Raspberries and strawberries sound good right about now. I live fairly close to the strawberry capital of the world..or so they say in Plant City, Fl. Love strawberry shortcake too..yummy!
 
Re: 7/6 Tiger AMPS 214;+1=237;+2=208;+3.5=199;+9=74

Sorry to hear that Tiger's appetite is off!! Maybe a different food would help like others suggested. Billie was loving Weruva's Paw Lickin Chicken for a while, then very randomly decided she didn't like it anymore. I guess she got bored. I ended up going through Dr. Lisa's list (http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf), writing down a bunch of options that sounded Billie-friendly, and getting a couple cans of each. After some trial and error, we landed on Merrick (Turducken, Turkey Pate, Chicken Pate) and Hound & Gatos (Chicken). I hope Tiger eats tonight and has a nice preshot number for you!
 
Re: 7/6 Tiger AMPS 214;+2=208;+3.5=199;+9=74;+10.5=83;PMPS=9

Thanks Wendy, Ella, Laura and Deanna! :smile: Appetite still kind of iffy-she did eat some, but I had to bring it to her "room" , usually she is waiting at her dish at mealtime! So, I decided to give a token 1.5units and watch her carefully. I agree, perhaps it is time to explore some different foods, especially in the light of a potential kidney problem. I have been trying to offer Wellness Core and Spot's Pate every so often. She usually turns up her nose after sniffing it, but I will try mixing it with the DM. Another thing tonight, I opened a fresh can of food tonight, maybe that helped. Wendy, we get lucky sometimes this vendor has fresh salmon and prawns, he's not always there though. And Laura, I made strawberry shortcake, it is an indulgence, but so good when the berries are in season! :smile: Deanna, when I can get to Petco, I will look for that Merrick line, that may help us here, thanks!
 
Re: 7/6 Tiger AMPS 214;+2=208;+3.5=199;+9=74;+10.5=83;PMPS=9

Turdunken wasn't a hit with Max. He does like Trader Joe's turkey and giblets. Good luck food hunting. Marje turned me on to it and it worked again for us tonight. It's around 10%.
 
Re: 7/6 Tiger AMPS 214;+2=208;+3.5=199;+9=74;+10.5=83;PMPS=9

Hi Ruth.

Sorry Tiger's appy isn't stellar. Have you tried the regular Wellness line? If kidneys are an issue, they are all pretty much low in Phos as well as Carbs. I feed their Turkey, Salmon & Turkey, Beef & Chicken, Beef & Salmon, and Chicken Herring. Since I switched to these plus Evo 95% Chicken & Turkey and Pinnacle Ocean Fish, my civvie Harvey's kidney numbers came back to normal from borderline CKD! None of my kitties like the DM, or any of the prescription foods. So I just sort Dr. Lisa's list for low carb/low phos and see what my local stores have. My kitties mostly prefer pate style, although the occasional shredded fish is considered a treat (Avoderm Tuna & Prawns or Soulistic Polynesian Picnic). Be careful of the Merrick foods, as their formulas have changed since Dr. Lisa's list was done. They are higher in carbs now.

When Cinco has low yellow/high to mid blue numbers, it usually signals a visit to the lagoon is coming. Tiger may be totally different, but just a hint. This whole FD thing is totally unpredictable! :roll:

Sending good appy vines. I hope you find the right fuds to get Tiger to eat well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top