7/6 Tessa AMPS 263 +2 274 +4 220 +6.5 195 +8.5 203 PMPS 218 +2 172 increase?

Is it possible for a brand new pen to not work? I'm really confused on why her numbers are so high today. She was having great cycles with lots of green and since we started a new pen we've only seen blue and yellow. It's possible that she had a partial fur shot last night because I smelled insulin but I didn't see or feel any so I'm pretty sure there was just a little bit on the syringe from pushing out the excess to clear out bubbles that was causing the smell.

I guess it's possible that the new pen is stronger than the old pen and we're experiencing some form of new dose wonkiness. The old pen had been open since May and wasn't continuously refrigerated - it went to the vet's office once and we took it with us when she had her surgery recently. I also left it out for about 2 hours once. But otherwise it did stay in the fridge. Maybe it was starting to go bad but I just didn't realize it?

I guess it's also possible that she dropped low last night and now she's bouncing. Her numbers looked like they were at a nice safe level before I went to bed though so I didn't get up and check on her.

Or am I just being silly and it's just time to increase the dose?
 
Last edited:
Okay I think I can assume that the insulin isn't bad since we did get some action today but it's definitely not going as low as it was. I'm assuming I should increase tomorrow morning?

Gotta admit I'm bummed that we lost the greens so quickly. It was looking good for a couple days there.
 
Did you just buy a new pen, or was it a new pen from a pack of pens you already had? You did see some lovely greens on the old pen, I doubt it had gone bad.

Partial fur shot could be an explanation for higher numbers. Except she came down nicely last night, so not that. Maybe she hit greens later in the night? Today seemed a bit bouncy.

If you can monitor closely, I think you could increase.
 
Did you just buy a new pen, or was it a new pen from a pack of pens you already had? You did see some lovely greens on the old pen, I doubt it had gone bad.

Partial fur shot could be an explanation for higher numbers. Except she came down nicely last night, so not that. Maybe she hit greens later in the night? Today seemed a bit bouncy.

If you can monitor closely, I think you could increase.

New pen from a pack of pens I already have. I bought the pack back in May and if I remember correctly the expiration date is in 2026.

Today did seem a bit bouncy and a little weird. I will probably base my decision on increasing on what her AMPS is. If it's blue, especially low blue then I'll probably hold and see what happens during the AM cycle. If it's higher then I'll probably increase. I will be at home all day.
 
Back
Top