7/6 Skooter PMPS 266 +2 156 +3 189 +5 357 +10 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121307

Happy Sunday!

So the wet food trial is still going well. He FINALLY used his litter box for other than peeing for the first time since his food switch. All looks well (who knew I would have be that excited about his litter box habits?!) Skooter seems to be doing well with the changes, he has always been a fan of food :) Since I cannot ensure I will be able to home test during the work day, I will be sticking with the 3 to 3.5 teaspoons of wet and 1/4 cup of dry throughout the week. I am not sure how much I want to change his diet this coming weekend, as I have a charity 5K run that I will be WALKING in, but we shall see how the week goes :)

I am noticing that he is batting at his food bag more often, so whether that is because I am not giving him enough food or he is just getting some of his personality back, I am not sure.

Today I am hoping his numbers are good as we are supposed to go over to my sister's house to do some baking. She has watched me give injections, but she wanted to be able to do it herself once when I was there, so we are hoping to get that taken care of today. Wow the morning has just flown by and it is almost time for his +2...I guess that will tell me what the rest of the day shall bring.

Skooter's bean, Molly
 
Re: 7/6 Skooter AMPS 285 +2 261

Based on his +2, I think today is gonna be a good day for Mr. Skooter! Looking for a +5 and looks like we will be able to go ahead with our day as planned!


Yay!

:RAHCAT
 
Re: 7/6 Skooter AMPS 285 +2 261 +5 286

Looks like Skooter knows that yellow is my favorite color and is planning to stay around those numbers....while I would like him to jump into the blues, at least he is not in pinks and reds....

I would like to give his ear a break until PMPS, but since +5 was right around AMPS, would it be worth doing another test later in the cycle, and if so at what time? I don't really have any at the +8, however we will be at my sister's house by then, so not sure how valid the numbers would be since he is not in his own environment. He is there often enough where I don't think he will be super stressed, but just not sure. We will most likely be there when it is time to do his PMPS.
 
Re: 7/6 Skooter AMPS 285 +2 261 +5 286

Nice flat yellow today. We sometimes see a flat cycle like this before a very active cycle. I'd get a +10 or +11 to give you a heads up to see if Skooter has plans for tonight.

I just got caught up on your condos, well done on the foods switch. One thing to think about for IBD, chicken is a pretty common protein. Often it is advise to try a novel protein, something the cat hasn't eaten before.

Also, it isn't surprising that there has been less poop. (And yes, we all have a strange fascination with that here! :oops: :lol: :lol: ) The NV food has a lot less fillers that the dry, so more can actually be used by Skooter's body, less to eliminate. Once you progress to the switch to raw you will notice even less elimination, often every other day and it will look much different.
 
Re: 7/6 Skooter AMPS 285 +2 261 +5 286

Sadly, he has never had chicken, so I figured that would be considered a novel protein for him :/ I will plan on a +10 today then and then his PMPS and a +2 after that, which I am guessing will tell me what kind of night I will be having. I am hoping for a quiet one as I need to be able to concentrate a lot on work for at least Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday....

I am going to keep him on chicken this week as I am not going to be able to come home often during the day to test him and I heard they should stay on the same protein for at least a week or two.

Thinking of experimenting this weekend with one of the other flavors I got. I have duck, beef and rabbit left. However I can't seem to find a carb count on the rabbit anywhere, so I am saving that for last. I have not been able to find turkey anywhere either, and hoping to try that at some point as well.

He will be sticking with two meals a day, perhaps adding in a third during the night until I can get the auto feeder that has the compartment for the cooling stuff since I am hoping to get him over to all wet.
 
Re: 7/6 Skooter AMPS 285 +2 261 +5 286

The NV Instincts Chicken is actually a Chicken/Turkey mix, they don't make just Turkey. I'd steer away from the Rabbit too, for soome reason they didn't give Dr. Lisa thae data on that and rabbit tends to be really high in Phosphorus too.

Even though the PetSafe feeder doesn't come w/ an ice pack there is a space for this pack underneath. I like the PetSafe better than the Cat Mat 50 and we have both.

Good luck on having your sister learn to shoot, it is always great to have a backup.

Where are you in the Twin Cities? I used to live over near Cedar Lake.
 
Re: 7/6 Skooter AMPS 285 +2 261 +5 286

It's nice to see Scooter in yellow today. Hope he gets to blue soon.
 
Re: 7/6 Skooter AMPS 285 +2 261 +5 286 +9.75 331 PMPS 266

I was so hoping for a full day in sunshiney yellow....but the 331 was while we were at my sister's house, and he was getting used to being there again, so I guess I am not surprised....his PMPS was also at their house, so it means he calmed down some..

I am anxious to get his +2 to see where he is at and what kind of sleep (if any) I will get tonight...guess it is the paranoid in me coming through once again....

Well we shall see how much I will overreact in about 30 minutes when I do his +2 :P
 
Re: SLIGHTLY CONCERNED 7/6 Skooter PMPS 266 +2 156

I had a feeling Skooter MIGHT drop into the blue lagoon as he was holding pretty steady in the sunshiney yellow pretty much all day.....plus the fact I forgot when we are at my sister's house, he likes me there when he eats, so his dry food actually was eaten at about +1 vs around shot time when he had his wet food.

I am thinking this was a pretty big drop though, 110 points...

1. Looking for a little reassurance that it is not time to freak out just yet

2. Suggestions on what type of testing to get tonight.....


At this point I am trying to remain calm, because after all, blue is what I want to have so this is a good thing, but it is still fairly new territory for us and while 156 is normal range, it is "low" for us based on his history.

Thanks all!

Skooter's somewhat nervous bean, Molly
 
Re: SLIGHTLY CONCERNED 7/6 Skooter PMPS 266 +2 156

You're right! That's quite a drop! (and testament to the fact that low carb will have a big impact on his numbers too!)

I'd plan on getting a +3 and just see how fast he continues to drop....if he's tolerating it well, you might try giving him a teaspoon of the low carb wet now and see if it'll slow him down a little.

While we want him in those good numbers, fast drops like that usually just cause a bounce, so he may bounce right back up later in the cycle or tomorrow, so don't get freaked if it happens
 
Re: SLIGHTLY CONCERNED 7/6 Skooter PMPS 266 +2 156

Hi Molly and Skooter, I wanted to wish you a belated welcome to this forum! I am fairly new here myself, but until one of the advisors comes along, I will say that you are doing a great job home testing, and you could always check again at +3 if you are nervous. No need to freak out, this is what you want, the more time in blue and green numbers, the less strain on the pancreas and more time under the renal threshhold, but that said, I know, it is a little scary when you're new to lower numbers. Breathe!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: SLIGHTLY CONCERNED 7/6 Skooter PMPS 266 +2 156

Just gave Skooter another teaspoon of his Nature Variety Chicken and he scarfed it down.....

Just watching the clock until 10 when I can do his +3 to see where he is at and how much sleep I will get tonight (if any).

Thanks Ruth....you are right, just not used to "good" numbers, but I knew once he started steering in the direction of the desired blues and greens it would cause some anxiety for me....good thing I know myself so well, eh? lol

So I know, at this point, there really is no reason to get overly worried, but I am a worrier by nature so, so worry I do!
 
Re: SLIGHTLY CONCERNED 7/6 Skooter PMPS 266 +2 156 +3 189

And up we go a bit....I am hoping he sticks around this for a bit....

As he is rising, I am thinking of doing a +5 before going to bed.....do I need to be setting my alarm for more tests during the night or will that depend on his +5?

Also, I am assuming based on what people have said, that Skooter will have a bounce....will that start during this cycle or would it most likely happen with his AM cycle?

Thanks!
 
Re: SLIGHTLY CONCERNED 7/6 Skooter PMPS 266 +2 156 +3 189

Blues are looking good on Skooter! :-D :-D A +5 sounds like a good test to get. What you do after that really depends on the number then. As long as he's in mid blues or above then you are probably OK with calling it a night.

As for bouncing, that's another ECID (every cat is different) kind of thing. Neko likes to save the worst of her bounce for the 3rd cycle after the low event. :roll: Skooter could bounce this cycle or he could delay it, or not bounce at all.
 
Re: SLIGHTLY CONCERNED 7/6 Skooter PMPS 266 +2 156 +3 189

Wendy, that was kind of what I was thinking, which makes me feel better as it means I am starting to learn and retain some of the great and valuable information I get from here :)

New question.....

This week and next week especially are going to be difficult for me to come home at lunch to test Skooter. With that being said, I have concern about shooting him at 4U in the morning if he is near or under the 200 mark.

I don't want to skip the dose, so would I be ok to dropping to 3U or maybe 2U?

Thoughts?

Thanks!
 
Re: 7/6 Skooter PMPS 266 +2 156 +3 189 +5 357

I am not sure how quickly a bounce can start, but pretty sure with a +5 of 357, we have entered a bounce for Mr. Skooterbear.....

I will plan on staying with his food combo and 4U for breakfast tomorrow, attempt to come home during lunch to check him and try to increase his wet food an lessen his dry food tomorrow night at dinner....
 
Re: 7/6 Skooter PMPS 266 +2 156 +3 189 +5 357

Good plan keeping to the 4U. It seems to be getting him to mid-blues.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top