7.6 - Rufus - AMPS 661!, PMPS 498 1st day back on the juice

Sean & Rufus

Member Since 2018
Well, he was mid 500's last week. Finally got the juice to get him started again. We started at 1 unit. Feels so weird shooting 1 unit. He was up to 6.5 units last time, and very rapidly went down in to remission. We have a cardiologist appt on Monday, and then we will schedule dental. Hoping he has a bad tooth (I know that sounds bad, but last time a bad tooth that was taken care of put him in remission).

Anyways, we didn't want to be back, but here we are :)
 
So sorry you guys are back...hopefully it will be a short visit! How are Rufus’s allergies/sensitivities doing? How’s your new-ish job?
Hi! We hope a short visit, too! Well, he was eating Royal Canin hydrolyzed and that was keeping his allergies in check. My other kitty went in to renal failure about a 5 or 6 weeks ago, so we switched to Royal Canin hydrolyzed + renal. Now I bought a bag of Young Again LID zero, but they never cared for it. I really wish they would eat it, it is perfect for diabetics and kidney cats. Neither really eat wet food. Rufus will sometimes, Ozzie wont ever. It has become a lot to take care of Ozzie, and now Rufus is back here. Ugh.

Job is going good! I actually took a new job in the City. I was working in one department, but now I was promoted to a new dept. I like working for the City, but don't enjoy the commute. How are you doing? Good to see familiar "faces" around :)
 
Hi! We hope a short visit, too! Well, he was eating Royal Canin hydrolyzed and that was keeping his allergies in check. My other kitty went in to renal failure about a 5 or 6 weeks ago, so we switched to Royal Canin hydrolyzed + renal. Now I bought a bag of Young Again LID zero, but they never cared for it. I really wish they would eat it, it is perfect for diabetics and kidney cats. Neither really eat wet food. Rufus will sometimes, Ozzie wont ever. It has become a lot to take care of Ozzie, and now Rufus is back here. Ugh.

Job is going good! I actually took a new job in the City. I was working in one department, but now I was promoted to a new dept. I like working for the City, but don't enjoy the commute. How are you doing? Good to see familiar "faces" around :)
Ah, yes....kitty diet issues are always a huge source of stress. Hopefully the boys will settle down with their prospective issues quickly.

Great news about the job!

We're OK here. We had a rough summer/fall last year...we lost two of our kitties within a week of each other. Our remaining kitty seemed pretty lonely, so we adopted two kittens, Holly and Ivy, in January. We're all still recovering from the losses, but the kittens (who are actually almost a year old now) are a source of joy and entertainment.

I really hope this is only a little blip for Rufus. I don't post very often anymore, but I do still check in daily, so I'll be watching for updates!
 
Ah, yes....kitty diet issues are always a huge source of stress. Hopefully the boys will settle down with their prospective issues quickly.

Great news about the job!

We're OK here. We had a rough summer/fall last year...we lost two of our kitties within a week of each other. Our remaining kitty seemed pretty lonely, so we adopted two kittens, Holly and Ivy, in January. We're all still recovering from the losses, but the kittens (who are actually almost a year old now) are a source of joy and entertainment.

I really hope this is only a little blip for Rufus. I don't post very often anymore, but I do still check in daily, so I'll be watching for updates!
Good to hear you're doing OK. I am so so sorry to hear about the loss of your two kitties last year. It is so hard to deal with. I'm glad you adopted two more! That's fun and exciting! Do all 3 kitties get along?

We go on Monday to cardiologist for Rufus, to see if his heart is still OK. He has high probnp (?) tests last year and again now. Cardiologist saw nothing last year, hoping for the same this time around. If we get the go ahead, hopefully can schedule dental in the next few weeks. Really wish I would have had insurance on these 2!
 
Good to hear you're doing OK. I am so so sorry to hear about the loss of your two kitties last year. It is so hard to deal with. I'm glad you adopted two more! That's fun and exciting! Do all 3 kitties get along?

They do all get along. We took introductions very slowly to be sure the integration was as smooth as possible, so it took a couple months. Zen, our 16-year old, is pretty active for his age, but the kittens do sometimes overwhelm him. They adore him and want him to play-wrestle with them, but he's never played that way before (if we ever had any wrestling in the house with the previous crew, it was because they were annoyed and genuinely fighting!) But over all, they are all very happy.

Vines for the cardiology appointment on Monday!
 
Sorry Rufus came out of remission - bummer on that! Congrats on the new job though! Sure hope the dental biz will help him to get that BG under control again...lots of times it seems to help those numbers come right on down to where they should be. These poor sugar kitties - seems like any health issues puts them right back into those high numbers - and those don't help anything either. Sending you healing and health vines for the cardio biz too - sheesh...sounds like he's dealing with a lot now - get your credit card warmed up kiddo ... :rolleyes:
 
Sorry Rufus came out of remission - bummer on that! Congrats on the new job though! Sure hope the dental biz will help him to get that BG under control again...lots of times it seems to help those numbers come right on down to where they should be. These poor sugar kitties - seems like any health issues puts them right back into those high numbers - and those don't help anything either. Sending you healing and health vines for the cardio biz too - sheesh...sounds like he's dealing with a lot now - get your credit card warmed up kiddo ... :rolleyes:
Yeah, and this is after I have spent about $6000.00!! yes you read that right, on the other cat since Memorial day :( We are thinking the stress from the other cat might have contributed to this BR issue.
 
Yeah, and this is after I have spent about $6000.00!! yes you read that right, on the other cat since Memorial day :( We are thinking the stress from the other cat might have contributed to this BR issue.

OUCH!!!

I sure hope that 1 unit kicks those big numbers down - at least to a somewhat tolerable level... Come on Rufus, you remember the beach and the lagoon, right??? Here kitty kitty....:cat::cat:
 
Back
Top