? 7/6 Pudge AMPS 163 +5 65 +6 75 +6.5 94 +8 100 +9 125 +10 132 PMPS 180 +3 215 +6 202 +10 234 +11 241

kitten68

Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...3-177-6-123-8-120-10-154.291838/#post-3191515

ate very well.. <3

(he gets his shots in the skin on his back, below shoulder blades and the upper back area.. i try to alternate. sometimes tho they hurt/or it bothers him he growls, try my best to only grab skin.. his skin is a bit harder to grab now, not sure why. but this is the best place for his temperament. hoping its cool (?). any advice appreciated. hope near the blades is ok.. one of the best places to tent)
 
In regards to the vomiting - Kit sometimes vomits in the early hours of the morning (she did this morning). I think her tummy just gets a bit upset because it's empty. There isn't food out after a certain point in both cycles, but in the AM cycle, I'm testing in the latter half, and giving her the occasional freeze dried treat to keep her tum settled. I saw someone mention it once in a conversation thread, so thought I would try it. It does mean either waking up to give a small freeze dried treat, or remembering to leave some on the towel she lays on in the living room. If she were interested in an automatic feeder, I'd use that, but of course she's not.

All that to say, that could be a possibility? Unfortunately there several reasons they can vomit. And I understand money is tight, that's a pretty common thing, unfortunately. I hope you're able to find a vet you like, if you're looking. Kits vet when she was first diagnosed was not someone I was willing to stick with, and we were incredibly lucky to find one who does home visits only. Which has been amazing for Kit's stress levels.

As to his shots - I think all those spots are fine. I know there's a diagram somewhere, but I can't remember which sticky it is in (it might be in a main health forum one?). I shoot Kit's in the general vicinity of her left shoulder pretty consistently, but some folks rotate around. As long as it works for you.
 
In regards to the vomiting - Kit sometimes vomits in the early hours of the morning (she did this morning). I think her tummy just gets a bit upset because it's empty. There isn't food out after a certain point in both cycles, but in the AM cycle, I'm testing in the latter half, and giving her the occasional freeze dried treat to keep her tum settled. I saw someone mention it once in a conversation thread, so thought I would try it. It does mean either waking up to give a small freeze dried treat, or remembering to leave some on the towel she lays on in the living room. If she were interested in an automatic feeder, I'd use that, but of course she's not.

All that to say, that could be a possibility? Unfortunately there several reasons they can vomit. And I understand money is tight, that's a pretty common thing, unfortunately. I hope you're able to find a vet you like, if you're looking. Kits vet when she was first diagnosed was not someone I was willing to stick with, and we were incredibly lucky to find one who does home visits only. Which has been amazing for Kit's stress levels.

As to his shots - I think all those spots are fine. I know there's a diagram somewhere, but I can't remember which sticky it is in (it might be in a main health forum one?). I shoot Kit's in the general vicinity of her left shoulder pretty consistently, but some folks rotate around. As long as it works for you.
we’re green. im nervous but happy (?) just scared! cause wasnt home.. needed to take a test at +3 but no time.. its +5 and its 65 o_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_O
 
65 is an awesome number btw!! Since it’s +5, hopefully he won’t move much lower, especially with some food on board.
 
:blackeye::blackeye::blackeye::woot:
Sorry if in a stickie….. not sure where.. or maybe was somewhere i cant recall:

Well. Um.. not sure where to put, but putting here and another.. just got home, and hes 65. hit green for first time but lowish green. so glad i did.. this is my fear. he drops so low and not home. This is a lowish green too.. oh boy.fed him some food, got treats…

not sure what to do except to just monitor….. :/
 
Hi :)
I'll tag the more experienced members to help you @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko

First of all congratulations on the green :D:D:D
If it was me I'd feed a bit of her LC food to keep Pudge surfing nicely.
It looks like a lovely nadir!
I totally get how scary it can feel to have such a low dark green for the first time. I felt the same! Usually the 911 prefix is reserved to emergencies and hypoglycaemia. Perhaps you can use the question mark prefix.

See what the others are saying but if it was me I'd test a +6 to see where Pudge is heading :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi :)
I'll tag the more experienced members to help you @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko

First of all congratulations on the green :D:D:D
If it was me I'd feed a bit of her LC food to keep Pudge surfing nicely.
It looks like a lovely nadir!
I totally get how scary it can feel to have such a low dark green for the first time. I felt the same! Usually the 911 prefix is reserved to emergencies and hypoglycaemia. Perhaps you can use the question mark prefix.

See what the others are saying but if it was me I'd test a +6 to see where Pudge is heading :bighug::bighug::bighug:
thank you soo much!!! I wasnt sure if have that on my hands so put it… will change :) thanks for advice!!
 
Hi :)
I'll tag the more experienced members to help you @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko

First of all congratulations on the green :D:D:D
If it was me I'd feed a bit of her LC food to keep Pudge surfing nicely.
It looks like a lovely nadir!
I totally get how scary it can feel to have such a low dark green for the first time. I felt the same! Usually the 911 prefix is reserved to emergencies and hypoglycaemia. Perhaps you can use the question mark prefix.

See what the others are saying but if it was me I'd test a +6 to see where Pudge is heading :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Just took +6 said 75/81… wut u think?? :woot::arghh:
 
That’s great! You can test him again in 30-60 min to see how he’s doing?
That’s great! You can test him again in 30-60 min to see how he’s doing?
Will definitely do!! Thanks so much for being here :)

will say.. not sure if can do PS number lower than 160….. because im noticing that sometimes its just level, and others, it’ll drop it 100+ points.. :/ what think or maybe know??
 
Beautiful surf!!! This is a great day for Pudge. He's in very safe numbers :bighug:. Can you please take down the 911 since he is in safe numbers
Is it???? :woot::woot: Really?!! kinda scared haha.. but know this is also desirable (?) things is.. noticing he drops 100+ sometimes.. others just coasts.. not sure if can shoot under 160-155 safely?.. :/ might have to change dose etc

did leave question mark..
 
Really?!! kinda scared haha.. but know this is also desirable (?) things is.. noticing he drops 100+ sometimes.. others just coasts.. not sure if can shoot under 160-155 safely?.. :/
To my (non expert) eyes it loos like Pudge is heading towards regulation. He's had 3 flat blue cycles before this green. I would read it as Pudge's body finds it good to be regulated
 
To my (non expert) eyes it loos like Pudge is heading towards regulation. He's had 3 flat blue cycles before this green. I would read it as Pudge's body finds it good to be regulated
Yay!! :) thanks so much. Just.. yeah. think PS of under 160 has to be adjusted.. drat. because it truly varies the drop…. Idk. :woot:
 
I'm going to answer this on your thread that's dated today and ask one of the Mods @Wendy&Neko to combine both of them.

It helps those of us trying to help others to keep all in one place. A little housekeeping ;)
ty so so much… so sorry so many threads evrywhere. :( wanted to be seen and make sure put in right places..
 
Is it???? :woot::woot: Really?!! kinda scared haha.. but know this is also desirable (?) things is.. noticing he drops 100+ sometimes.. others just coasts.. not sure if can shoot under 160-155 safely?.. :/ might have to change dose etc

did leave question mark..

I think you can safely shoot anything over 150. Yesterday you shot an AMPS of 149 and Pudge stayed in flat blues... awesome. Lantus does a great job of keeping BG flat and has a harder time bringing down the higher BGs.
Eventually following TR means you will be able to shoot any number over 50....that's scary but totally worth it ;)
You did great so far. Keep some notes as to what you fed after each test. And also please update the SS with all the readings.
Test again in about 30 minutes after your last test and we will all be watching out for it!! You've got a lot of cheerleaders watching you :bighug:
 
In regards to the vomiting - Kit sometimes vomits in the early hours of the morning (she did this morning). I think her tummy just gets a bit upset because it's empty. There isn't food out after a certain point in both cycles, but in the AM cycle, I'm testing in the latter half, and giving her the occasional freeze dried treat to keep her tum settled. I saw someone mention it once in a conversation thread, so thought I would try it. It does mean either waking up to give a small freeze dried treat, or remembering to leave some on the towel she lays on in the living room. If she were interested in an automatic feeder, I'd use that, but of course she's not.

All that to say, that could be a possibility? Unfortunately there several reasons they can vomit. And I understand money is tight, that's a pretty common thing, unfortunately. I hope you're able to find a vet you like, if you're looking. Kits vet when she was first diagnosed was not someone I was willing to stick with, and we were incredibly lucky to find one who does home visits only. Which has been amazing for Kit's stress levels.

As to his shots - I think all those spots are fine. I know there's a diagram somewhere, but I can't remember which sticky it is in (it might be in a main health forum one?). I shoot Kit's in the general vicinity of her left shoulder pretty consistently, but some folks rotate around. As long as it works for you.
Omg he went green for first time and i was like ack! ??? Haha.. oh boy.

thanks for letting me know.. tbh i see it happen on other SS and think it is just something that happens w this.. possibly. am going go take him tho if persists.. cuz he has foodnin him sometimes. Thanks for that too! hope so.. might take him back cause the doc was helpful today haha.. lets see.

great to hear on shots.. ugh.
 
I think you can safely shoot anything over 150. Yesterday you shot an AMPS of 149 and Pudge stayed in flat blues... awesome. Lantus does a great job of keeping BG flat and has a harder time bringing down the higher BGs.
Eventually following TR means you will be able to shoot any number over 50....that's scary but totally worth it ;)
You did great so far. Keep some notes as to what you fed after each test. And also please update the SS with all the readings.
Test again in about 30 minutes after your last test and we will all be watching out for it!! You've got a lot of cheerleaders watching you :bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:Omg thank you…… well. just fed him treats and his wet food. What he usually gets haha..

Thank you so much my people!! thanks.. Pudgles and i appreciate it.. omg. ugh… i should stay home w him right?? Or is it possible for me to get some food?..:blackeye::smuggrin:

just thing is.. how much it drops varies. sometimes coasts.. other 100+ or more.. despite PS number :/ will have to look at data.. idk
 
How long since you fed and tested? If 30 minutes, test again. If he's higher than the last test you should be good to out for a bit. It's late in the cycle and he'll probably bounce from seeing his first string of greens. Paws crossed he doesn't.
 
How long since you fed and tested? If 30 minutes, test again. If he's higher than the last test you should be good to out for a bit. It's late in the cycle and he'll probably bounce from seeing his first string of greens. Paws crossed he doesn't.
Aw geez.. mmmm 40 min or so (got tested, ate a little food..).. will do! :bighug:
but crap bounce noo lol :arghh::woot:..

Let me see tho what this reading is……:bookworm::bookworm::bookworm::bookworm:
 
Great! He's higher with just LC. Save the syrup for the scary limes . Looks like he'll be fine until PMPS. Try not to feed anymore unless it's for avoiding his tummy acid.
Yayy :cat::cat: right that is what is supposed to do right? :) HC for emergencies only.. and seems so! might wait a little more.. do another, then on my way. we both need food. :/
 
its LC.. think merrick LID turkey is under 10? :) and in future, will be using syrup cuz this nugget has food sensitivities o_O

its 4-5% for future reference. Thats our regular food too. He got a nice little boost from just that which is great. :) hope he doesn’t bounce too terribly for you tonight! (Or maybe it’ll be a great night for some sleep ;))
 
Great! He's higher with just LC. Save the syrup for the scary limes . Looks like he'll be fine until PMPS. Try not to feed anymore unless it's for avoiding his tummy acid.
i feed gin kinda regularly.. depending on hunger too. :/
I think you can safely shoot anything over 150. Yesterday you shot an AMPS of 149 and Pudge stayed in flat blues... awesome. Lantus does a great job of keeping BG flat and has a harder time bringing down the higher BGs.
Eventually following TR means you will be able to shoot any number over 50....that's scary but totally worth it ;)
You did great so far. Keep some notes as to what you fed after each test. And also please update the SS with all the readings.
Test again in about 30 minutes after your last test and we will all be watching out for it!! You've got a lot of cheerleaders watching you :bighug:
Sounds good; true.. just frm today it was 163 i think.. dropped 100 points haha.. so thinking prolly no less than that at 2.25.. tho how do i dose frm here? if its 160/150 or lower.. reduce? cause his drops are varying.. coasts, and other drop a lot..
 
its 4-5% for future reference. Thats our regular food too. He got a nice little boost from just that which is great. :) hope he doesn’t bounce too terribly for you tonight! (Or maybe it’ll be a great night for some sleep ;))
Yes!!! Its good right bit expensive but less so than others.. seems so yay :cat: and oh nooo… lol hope not too. Bounces can be expected when in blue/greens for 1st time?
 
I have to run out for a bit myself but I'll be back in a bit and we'll go over your questions. Just to confirm, are you following TR or SLGS? Dosing methods depend on which one you choose to follow.
 
well now thats settled for the moment.. (THANK YOUU :bighug:) what to do about dosing from here.. cause he has steep drops sometimes despite PS number.. how does TR exactly work w this? At times he just coasts.. others hes dropped 100+ (like today!) gonna really examine his SS but like… hm. if lower than 160/150.. reduce/adjust?.. 1/1.25 instead of 2 U?.. i really dont know :bookworm::blackeye:
 
I have to run out for a bit myself but I'll be back in a bit and we'll go over your questions. Just to confirm, are you following TR or SLGS? Dosing methods depend on which one you choose to follow.
Thank uu!! Same.. just doing min. and coming home. Trying to follow TR.. but dont want to go below 80/90 or so.. but now, not sure w the way things drop sometimes.. could coast, could drop a lot.. despite number. :/ if can still follow TR..
 
Thank uu!! Same.. just doing min. and coming home. Trying to follow TR.. but dont want to go below 80/90 or so.. but now, not sure w the way things drop sometimes.. could coast, could drop a lot.. despite number. :/ if can still follow TR..
With TR you want to see normal bg of 50-100 if possible. So mostly greenmand nice flat cycjes. That’s the goal. So today’s cycle was a nice one with time spent in normal bg and helping the pancreas to heal. If your goal is remission you will need to get used to green if following TR. I remember the first time I saw a 65 because I was not yet testing so I was at my vet’s office for a nadir check. I started home testing right after that.

If you don’t want to see the bg under 90 you would follow SLGS. I hope you stick with TR.
 
Back
Top