Merlin’sMama
Member Since 2022
Good morning
Because Merlin is new to blue numbers with the 0.5 dose, we will need to hold the dose for at least 8 to 10 cycles as per the TR protocol. Hopefully he will give us some better BGs.Hi Bron. Merlin seems to be repeatedly stalling out at yellow, no matter what we do or dont feed him. Today we have gone for main meal of mostly 6, with some 8. We have to keep controlling the early drop, but last night we went no higher than a spoon of 7.7 at +1.5. I wonder if we need to consider raising the dose to .75 after the end of tomorrow if he keeps staying in yellow.
This is the ninth cycle on this dose, but I am willing to keep trying another day on it and see how it goes.Because Merlin is new to blue numbers with the 0.5 dose, we will need to hold the dose for at least 8 to 10 cycles as per the TR protocol. Hopefully he will give us some better BGs.
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
But only 5 cycles since the blue BGs.This is the ninth cycle on this dose, but I am willing to keep trying another day on it and see how it goes.
Oh! Ok. We’ll hang in there, then.But only 5 cycles since the blue BGs.
I don’t think he is going to be doing much. But wouldn’t it be lovely if he proved me wrong!Id really like to go out now, but I guess I shouldn’t as he’s still going down. Maybe I will test at half past…
It would! I think I’ll test in 5 minutes and then go out if its slow. I will test again in two hours thoughI don’t think he is going to be doing much. But wouldn’t it be lovely if he proved me wrong!
Okay @Bron and Sheba (GA) I am confused. I have notes that say the cycle counts are not from the day the first blue or green is seen but from the first day on the dose. I am not trying to be a jerk! I am trying to understand.But only 5 cycles since the blue BGs.
320 @+4.5. Thats a wrap.
I wonder if it’s to do with thisOkay @Bron and Sheba (GA) I am confused. I have notes that say the cycle counts are not from the day the first blue or green is seen but from the first day on the dose. I am not trying to be a jerk! I am trying to understand.
Here’s something that Wendy said in a post to Nathalie and Boris on 4/19/22.
“You don't start the clock of 10 cycles when the green is seen, but rather when you change the dose. Provided or course then has been consistent dosing, no reduced or missed, later or fur shots. Reminder: Counting Cycles It's also now the 8th cycle since those greens, any bounce should be long over.”
Here’s the link to the whole thread (it’s not a super long thread, don’t worry). https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...16-back-to-previous-dose.262229/#post-2939745
Thank you, Bron. Because this has always been confusing to me and I know to a lot of people on this Board. So that is why I made a note (a long time ago) of what Wendy said about this. I'd love some clarification on it. "See" you Thursday!Merlin is new to blue on the 0.5 U dose.
I’m just checking the finer details and will get back to you. Probably in the morning… my time as it’s almost 1am here.
Thanks, Bron!@Suzanne & Darcy @Merlin’sMama
I have talked to Wendy and she said 10 cycles in total when seeing blues, so you can increase the dose in the morning to 0.75 units Jill
I agree Suzanne, it is confusing, but hopefully that clarifies things now. I’m glad you brought it up.