7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 pics of back paw

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

OK, Jamie, I got the pics. I can only post three in each message (board limit).

These two are "before" and "after" shots:
 

Attachments

  • zJupesbackpaw3.jpg
    zJupesbackpaw3.jpg
    741.1 KB · Views: 561
  • abcjupepaw3.jpg
    abcjupepaw3.jpg
    528.5 KB · Views: 563
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

Another before and after:






And this is tonight, but from a different angle that shows how large of a lump it is:
 

Attachments

  • zJupesbackpaw1.jpg
    zJupesbackpaw1.jpg
    742.3 KB · Views: 556
  • abcjupepaw5.jpg
    abcjupepaw5.jpg
    727.6 KB · Views: 559
  • abcjupepaw4.jpg
    abcjupepaw4.jpg
    751.8 KB · Views: 555
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

Carl I have no idea how you post your pics but you are amazing at it! When I click the pics you posted they are big and I can see detail but when I click mine they are small
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

And these are the other three pics.
 

Attachments

  • jupiterspawsore 027.jpg
    jupiterspawsore 027.jpg
    369.1 KB · Views: 573
  • abcjupepaw2.jpg
    abcjupepaw2.jpg
    561.8 KB · Views: 560
  • abcjupepaw.jpg
    abcjupepaw.jpg
    629 KB · Views: 551
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

Here's the way I do it.

I save them to an easy to find folder on my computer.
Below this window, I click on "upload attachment"
Then I "choose file" and locate the stored pic, and double click on it.
That puts the file name in the "choose file" box.
Then I hit "add file".
Last step after that is to locate the cursor is this message box to the place I want to insert the picture. Then I the "place inline" buttom.
Which inserts code like this in the window:
"[attachement=O] whatever the file name is...[/attachment]"

I usually hit the "preview" button to see how it looks before I hit "submit".
It puts a small picture into the message, but when it is clicked on, it displays the original image in its orignal size to anyone who looks at it.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

I will try that on a different day when I am not so tired and on a lot of pain medicine. :-D Thanks for the info Carl and thanks for the help uploading the pics
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

Jamie,
The expression on Jupe's face in that one pic is priceless! It's almost his version of Gracie's "stink eye" look.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

Jamie,
Just looking at the pics, all I can think is "that has to not feel too good". Maybe his hiding is due to it just hurts after he's moved around a while? Especially if the infection is still at least partly there. That and I do feel the ABs are probably making his stomach feel bad, and just making him feel all around "blah".
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

"Sorry for reposting this question. My mind is all over the place and I cant stop thinking back to this. "+2 was 44. Now can this number be from any insulin at all? Like could this still be from the .5u yesterday?"

Sorry I am just so worried its driving me crazy"


It looks to me like there is a lot of fur stuck in on the scab too now. Right before I took the pic I dabbed it dry - there was a little blood on it.


The time he is most active and out and about is the 2 hours prior to the time I am giving the antibiotics thats why I was thinking its the AB's making him hide
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

Jamie,
I know you are worried sick, but please don't forget to take care of yourself, OK?
I'm sure others will reply to your questions/concerns, but please remember you didn't shoot.
Sienne said earlier 30s and 40s aren't so worrisome if you didn't shoot.
I think that's a healthy number of a non-diabetic cat who is not on insulin.
You didn't give him any insulin all day today.
I hope you'll get a reply soon that will make you feel better
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

Just try to keep in mind the "meter variance" when numbers are that close together. 54 and 44 are only 10 apart. They could both actually be 49s. We can't ever know for sure, because the meters are not precise.

Another possibily. If for whatever reason his pancreas has decided to function properly.... what it should do is react fairly instantly to any rise in BG from food and keep the BG more or less constant all day long. I've never run a "curve" on Bob since he went OTJ. But I'd be willing to bet that if I checked him every hour, his BGs would fluctuate from 50 to 40 to 60 or higher depending on exactly when I happened to test him, and what exactly was going on just before the test. Like was he sleeping, or not, had he just snacked, or just run around the house. Or maybe he saw a deer out the front screen and it freaked him out and stressed him. Or somebody drove by the house in a big truck with a big RV behind it and scared him. All you can do with a meter is get a "snapshot". One second in a day's time. But there are a whole lot of "things" that cause the BG to rise, fall or stay the same at any given time of day.

As far as the lump goes? I've never had anything like that with any of the dozens of kitties I've had over the years. I've had abcesses from fights, and sores and the like. But never a "mass" that had an open wound. It does look a little bigger maybe. But I think the fact that we're comparing a non-shaved area to a now shaved area might have some effect on how we perceive a 2D image too.

If you think it is bigger, then maybe call the vet and tell them that. Maybe there's a chance they can move up his surgery or maybe another surgery will get rescheduled and Jupiter can fill that available spot?
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

Okay so my concern is just.... I dont need to test him anymore tonight? The insulin I shot yesterday is not what is causing these lower numbers today, correct? Just want to be sure because I feel so worried.


One of my concerns for vet so I think I will call anyways and I can mention I think it looks bigger...
am I going to need to change to a different kind of litter for when he has surgery? we used a tidy cats kind and we have 1 box with scoopable and 1 box the clay cat litter that just gets thrown out. The day he went to the vet and came home he got a bunch of litter stuck on him on that spot. I am going to try to call the vet on monday to find out about the litter. I have had a really hard time transitioning him to a different kind of litter before and he would pee on the floor. I would REALLY prefer to start transitioning him a few days before the surgery so i can add the new litter to the old litter and get him used to it so he doesnt pee on the floor
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

I think your next test should be at the normal AM time. I don't think you need more tests over night since he's had no insulin for 24 hours. Offer him food if he seems hungry since he hasn't felt much like eating regularly.
And get some much deserved and needed sleep, Jamie.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

I don't think you have to be concerned about Jupiter's numbers tonight. Just do your usual and leave some LC for him to snack on throughout the night.

Even us beans have days where our blood sugar gets a little low from what we've done or how we are feeling. I know heat and exercise without enough food do it to me. With the meds, the heat, his sore, not eating, he could just be feeling a little low.

Regarding the sore, did the vet say anything about putting a bandage on it? Just wondering if a gauze would help keep it clean in the LB. Some type of sores they like to keep open to the air. I expect after surgery there will be some bandage for a bit.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

Oh Jamie I'm so sorry nothing worse then having our babies ill,I know it's hard to relax but try to close your eyes and put yourself somewhere for even 10 minutes and breathe, it will do both you and Jupiter good, remember he can feel your tension.You are are a wonderful mommy.(((hugs)))
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 Questions & Concerns/ paw pics

Okay I will leave LC out for free feeding as normal. I may just wake up once to put out some fresh food for him since his appetite is so poor. He hasnt really eaten much at all tonight

Thank you alll!!!!
 
His AMPS today was 55, so once again we skipped the shot.

He refused treats again today.


He usually takes his anxiety pill without any problems in the morning. We break a pill pocket into 3 pieces and use a piece of that and he usually eats it up. Last night we had a hard time getting him to eat his antibiotic. We have been breaking it into 4 pieces since it is so big and wrapping each piece in a half of a pill pocket. I ended up having to force him to eat it last :sad:

This morning we first just gave him his anxiety pill in a pill pocket and he would not eat it. I ended up having to force him to eat it, which was a very big struggle. He kept spitting it back out. I do think he ended up swallowing it but theres a chance he didnt. He kept moving around so much that I was having a hard time and he could have easily swung his head and the pill come flying out. I couldnt find a pill but who knows. I ended up just making him swallow the antibiotic pill whole I figured that would be so much less stressful for him rather then breaking it into 4 pieces and trying to force him to eat the pill pockets. I felt really bad about it all.
 
Good morning ((((((((((Jamie))))))))). I've been lurking and not wanting to get in the way. You are taking such good care of Jupiter and in such difficult circumstances. I hope you will be able to get the surgery moved up and Jupiter is back on his feet soon, literally! ;-)

I just have a thought, pain and infection can raise BG numbers. If the AB is starting to do it's job you can see numbers come down dramatically. That combined w/ his not eating could be the cause of the low numbers you have been getting lately. You have given very little insulin in the last few days so these low numbers are not a great worry, they are a good thing! That mass was probably developing for some time before it became visible and could have been having a systemic effect on his body for some time.
 
Molly's been OTJ for several months now and tests in the mid 40s to low 50s on a regular basis with a Relion meter. I'll bet that because Jupiter isn't eating well his BG is going a little lower than a "regular" level. Perhaps while he's feeling crappy you could offer small amounts of mid range carb food as snacks (not too high as I see he's not OTJ yet) along with main meals of low carb to keep him feeling peppy.....lower BG can make one feel crappy too.
Sending healing thoughts for Jupiter....those pics look like it's pretty painful.
 
His Bg was coming down before we started the AB's. I am trying to get him to eat but he is really just refusing everything. Last night I got him to eat just a few small bites of a FF appetizer. I am going to call the vet tomorrow and ask them if they will PLEASE change the antibiotic. I am starting to get really scared and concerned about him not eating.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 cat litter after surgery????

So I am wondering if I am going to need to switch cat litters? I am worried about the clay cat litter getting stuck there after surgery and causing problems.

any suggestions on which kind of cat litter to try?

This is why I am concerned : "am I going to need to change to a different kind of litter for when he has surgery? we used a tidy cats kind and we have 1 box with scoopable and 1 box the clay cat litter that just gets thrown out. The day he went to the vet and came home he got a bunch of litter stuck on him on that spot. I have had a really hard time transitioning him to a different kind of litter before and he would pee on the floor. I would REALLY prefer to start transitioning him a few days before the surgery so i can add the new litter to the old litter and get him used to it so he doesnt pee on the floor"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top