7/6 Jupiter PMBG/54 pics of back paw

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99253

Today we skipped the shot. Which I now realize was a REALLY GOOD decision. I really didnt think he would drop like this though!!!


copy/pasted from my condo last night: I hope I made the right decision by skipping. I feel really bad about not following the Tight regulation protocol and skipping a shot at 55(and skipping the other times I did and reducing the dose so much at once), when I am only supposed to skip under 50. I just really want Jupiter to be safe though and I worry about his appetite because of the antibiotics- although his appetite does seem a little better since last night

Now I am once again not sure if he is feeling better or not... he is hiding under the couch again. I have to keep coaxing him out. And after I test him and he eats, he goes right back under there...I dont know...its normal for him to hide some of the day....but i think hes is acting weird, and hiding so much more then normal

This morning though he seemed to be feeling really good. At 7am (+10) he was on his perch in front of the window just watching outside and he seemed very content and happy. Even at +2 he seemed to be feeling good. But now, maybe because the antibiotic that we gave at AMPS today- maybe now he is not feeling good from that starting to kick in or something. I dont think he usually hides with low numbers... I dont know...


Todays Numbers:
AMPS-55
SKIPPED SHOT
+2-54
+4.5-35 (fed lots of HC gravy)
+5-48 (fed lots more HC gravy)
+5.5-53
+6.25-68
+7.75-76
+10.25-65
PMPS-54
SKIPPED SHOT
+2-44

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-78
Shot 0.5u @ 9:04am
+2-73
+4.5-74
+8-53
+8.5-57
+9.5-56
+10-62
+11.5-61
PMPS-63
Shot 0.5u @ 9:01pm
+1.5-56
+3-54
+4.5-47
+5-55
+5.5-69
+6.75-57
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +4.5/35!!!!

Oh My get some HC and maybe some honey going get Jupiter up now nailbite_smile
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +4.5/35!!!!

I let him lick a bunch of gravy from some HC food. I feel absolutely horrible that I did not test him sooner. Just slipped my mind, I was typing a long message and then was looking for coupons and just completely forgot to test :cry:
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +4.5/35!!!!

Jamie --

While 35 is low and you're right to feed, if you didn't shoot, this number isn't as worrisome as if you did give Jupiter a shot this morning.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +4.5/35!!!!

I just want to get some eyes here in case so used the 911. Just scared! 35 is really low and it makes me so nervous
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +4.5/35!!!!

I have found that the Prime meter is higher then the confirm so my numbers were off by 10 points so Jupiter could of been lower.I want to change to Prime but Leary now. Good job getting food in. makes me nervous to when low.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +4.5/35!!!!

Hi Jamie. Getting a 35 is scary for many of us. Don't panic. You dealt with some low numbers yesterday so hang in there, keep your emergency kit handy and you'll do fine.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +4.5/35!!!!

Jamie,
He has very little, if any, insulin in the depot. Feed like you have been. Keep an eye on how he looks and behaves. That might tell you more than the meter will.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +4.5/35!!!!

I have dealt with a lot of low numbers recently.... and each and every time it makes me nervous....Under 40 though.... now that makes me panic!

30 minutes to wait to retest feels like forever
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +4.5/35!!!!

You can test again in 20, if you want. The HC might take up to 30 minutes to take affect though.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +4.5/35!!!!

I think you'll be skipping the shot tonight. We'll see how he does until then. You have many hours before PMPS.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35!!!! +5/48

+5 - 48...

I gave him lots more HC gravy

will test in 30 more mins

so glad his numbers came up above 40... sheesh it makes me panic when they go sooooo low
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35!!!! +5/48

Glad he came up for you Jamie. You are right, anytime I see a 30 anything, I get an immediate stomach cramp!!
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35!!!! +5/48

Jamie:

wow!! what a stretch of days for you two! you have to be sooooo tired and super stressed!! I feel for you, we all do. it is hard to believe that Jupiter was getting 2.75 units just a week and half ago! and then....it appears to have "happened". I am sending you strength and a dash of calm your way. congrats on your superb testing and care for sweet Jupiter! he is so lucky to have you.

***** nice job last eve helping Purrcee! , that was very kind of you and your advice helps all of us Newbie out....

during all this stress and worry and trying to get Jupiter to eat, eat, eat.......you have to be excited too!!!!!! right? I am for you!!!

~kelly
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35!!!! +5/48

Awesome job Jamie? You have Jupiter in the high 40s and a lot closer to the nicer green numbers. I know what you mean about panicking when the numbers get so low. You did great...kept your cool and led Jupiter toward the safety zone.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35!!!! +5/48

:lol: :lol: was that keeping my cool?? :lol: if only you could see how I was reacting :lol: :lol: Okay I am better now though
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35!!!! +5/48

breath my friend. as carl said, he does not have that much insulin left so even with that, you did good by feeding. he may bounce from this but only time will tell. lower numbers with little to no insulin is not that worrisome :roll: :lol: . but ya did good, he should be fine the rest of the day no matter what happens. we just could have a working/sputtering pancreas here (fingers crossed). personally, even if he does bounce, I would be leaning on the no shot premise or if you absolutely have to give insulin, a drop or 2 only.
hang in there

PS: I have seen the worrisome Jamie.....not a pretty sight :razz:
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35!!!! +5/48

oh my gosh I swear I am losing my mind!!!!!!!

I just wasted a test strip

I saw it was 2:45 and I hurry up and got up and rushed to test Jupiter because I thought I forgot to test and was 15 mins late to test.... then after I tested and went to write it down in my notebook I realized I tested at 2:30. Sheesh.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35!!!! +5/48

It's ok Jamie. We know how concerned you are about Jupiter. It will be ok.

I see you are worried a bit today with those low numbers. No need to worry, you have plenty of people keeping their eyes out for you. Without more insulin this AM, I doubt Jupiter will go too low.

One of my civies, Delta, tests in the low 40's always.

How about some deep breathing exercises?

deep breath in, hold, slowly release, deep breath in, hold, slowly release, deep breath in, hold, slowly release, deep breath in, hold, slowly release, deep breath in, hold, slowly release, deep breath in, hold, slowly release,
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35!!!! +5/48

Wow, what a wild ride! It is fabulous to see Jupiter with such low numbers and on such a low dose. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I'm sorry it's been so hard on you, Jamie. You are doing a great job. Big hugs!
Liz
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35!!!! +5/48 +6.25/68

Thank you all for the visits!!! Yes it is so nice to see Jupiter having all greens even with all the skipped and reduced doses lately. Its been a challenge testing recently with him hiding but I got to make sure to keep him in safe numbers! I cant believe how fast he came down from that high of a dose! Its also been a big challenge keeping his numbers safe because his appetite has decreased a lot. First from the lower numbers and now from antibiotics.

This surgery though, has had me so stressed since tuesday. It took me until thursday to even post the update because I was having such a hard time remember things and explain them. It is amazing the support that everyone on this board has shown us in the past few days. And its helped me to deal with things - well the best that I can deal with them right now. Cant say I am dealing well, but am trying to stay positive!

thank you to everyone for the donations for Jupes fundraiser for his surgery, good thoughts, best wishes, and prayers! the support and encouragement from this board is beyond amazing.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 +2/54 +4.5/35 +5/48 +6.25/68 +10.25/

I wanted to start getting some advice for Jupes dose tonight. +10.25 is 65. I am wondering if it would be okay to skip tonight? I am really nervous to shoot tonight because of how low he dipped today
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AM/55 +4.5/35 +5/48 +6.25/68 +10.25/65 dose

Yes, I agree on that skip! That 35 was a little too scary, although you did a great job with it Jamie. You're such a great bean for Jupiter.
6.gif
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AM/55 +4.5/35 +5/48 +6.25/68 +10.25/65 dose

How is Jupiter's appetite in this hot, muggy weather?
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AM/55 +4.5/35 +5/48 +6.25/68 +10.25/65 dose

I agree with the skip tonight, too, Jamie.
It would help you to get some rest too. I know you have been worrying like crazy.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AM/55 +4.5/35 +5/48 +6.25/68 +10.25/65 dose

Poor Jupiter. Many hugs to you and Jupiter while y'all wait for the surgery. And omg a 35. Great numbers, even some scary numbers. nailbite_smile

I can't give any advice or help. Sorry. But well wishes at least! I can do those. :D
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AM/55 +4.5/35 +5/48 +6.25/68 +10.25/65 dose

Another vote for skipping this evening for Jupiter.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AM/55 +4.5/35 +5/48 +6.25/68 +10.25/65 dose

Okay we are gonna skip. I feel like its better for Jupe. I dont want another scary 35 tonight!!!
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AM/55 +4.5/35 +5/48 +6.25/68 +10.25/65 dose

My advice is still the same. Skip anything below 120.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! skipped shot

With his numbers back down in the 50's I think its a good idea we are skipping again. Carl, so far your advice has been great - and everytime you say skip, he goes low the cycle after so you are always right.

Thank you to all of your for your opinions and advice I appreciate it so so so much
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! skipped shot

now tonight you can get a good nights sleep and not worry about testing or feeding. nothing can happen with so little insulin left
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! skipped shot

Jamie

Good choice to skip. It would have been my vote as well.

Speaking of skipping, some of us have been chitchatting and Jill suggested that you might just want to stop giving insulin for a few cycles and let's see how he does. This is not an OTJ trial; we just want to see if he continues in these low numbers without insulin or does he come up so we can refine the dose instead of guessing at one.

Does that sound ok to you? Just put his AMBG and PMBG up and grab a midcycle test in the a.m. and a before bed at night. Take the time to get some rest. What do you think?
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! skipped shot

Carl, so far your advice has been great - and everytime you say skip, he goes low the cycle after so you are always right.
Jamie, bless you and thanks for vote of confidence. If I were right half the time, I'd be thrilled :lol:

Here is my thinking on the past few days when I've been recommending that you skip... For whatever reason, and none of us know why, Jupiter has not been showing you "diabetic numbers". They've all been in the range of what is considered normal (40-120). Much of that time it has been on cycles with a very tiny dose, or no shot. So right now, my theory is just let him go with no insulin. Not until he shows you that he needs it by giving you a number above "normal". If that happens, then try a tiny dose. If not, then just go with it. Give yourself a break from testing and losing sleep. Maybe he'll eat well and won't hide on occasion like he has been?

I don't know why this is happening, but it is. Has he been eating okay today? Has he been losing weight from lack of appetite lately? Does he look hydrated? Using the LB regularly without diarrhea? How's the paw looking?
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! skipped shot

Hi Jamie,
You did great today.
It's good everyone agreed on skipping tonight and you can get some rest.

I hope Jupiter feels better and comes out from hiding.
Sending healing vines.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! skipped shot

I am on a lot of pain meds once again so please excuse me if I dont make sense. I am having such a hard time understanding everything right now.

+2 was 44. Now can this number be from any insulin at all? Like could this still be from the .5u yesterday?

I dont know about the eating. His appetite decreased a lot when his numbers started going low.

Also all the cats seem to eat a lot less in the hotter weather. Right now it is 89 degrees in my house. Horrible. I dont think any of the cats ate much today.

I am also worried because it seems like has appetite has decreased even more with the antibiotics. He has even denied a few treats, which he has never done before. He usually loves his treats. Im pretty sure if I let him, he would gobble them all up if he could. But lately he has denied a lot of treats at test times.

I dont know how to tell if he looks hydrated?

Dane says when he has scooped the boxes he has not seen any diarrhea. I cant say if he is going regularly. Unfortunately I have a hard time getting up out of bed a lot and its hard for me to watch him to see if hes going into the back room to go to the litter box.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! skipped shot

He never hides all the time like this. I feel like maybe its the antibiotic. It seems like the 2 hours prior to giving each dose of antibiotics he is out and about. So maybe once the antibiotic kicks in, its making his belly hurt or him not feel well so hes hiding?
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

I am going to try to post some pics of his paw.

I am getting really frustrated. Having a hard time with the pics. Its so hard for me to post pics
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! skipped shot. Concerns

To tell if he's dehydrated, pinch the skin in his scruff and let it go. If it goes back to normal, he's is hydrated. If it stays pinched, then he is dehydrated. 89, ugh. Sending snowflakes and cooling vines.
Liz
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

Hi Jamie, wow you have been doing awesome what a day again, I hope Jupiter lets you get some rest tonight. This night and day stuff get real old and then the vet to I know your stressed,your doing great.Blessed be you two :smile:
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! skipped shot

A couple ways to check hydration. Scruff him. Pull the skin and fur up and watch how long it takes to settle back into place. It should happen pretty quickly. If it's slow, or seems to stay tented, then he's probably dehydrated.
Or, if he's pretty mellow with having his mouth touched, check him gums. They should be pink, and if you press your fingertip on the gum, it shouldn't feel tacky or sticky. Just moist. It might go white when you touch it, but should quickly return to pink.

Yes, it could be the ABs making him feel lousy that makes him go into hiding. Or it could be pain from the infection the AB is supposed to be fixing. It sounds more like upset tummy from the meds. Does the AB seem to be working? Do you see any difference in the spot itself?
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

Jamie & Jupiter said:
I am going to try to post some pics of his paw.

I am getting really frustrated. Having a hard time with the pics. Its so hard for me to post pics
Jamie, I can send you my email address in a PM, and you can email me the pics and I'll post them for you?
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

Okay this is a picture of his paw. We just took this picture:

Before the vet appt this is what it looked like:

Okay so as you can see, before the vet appt there was black covering it, she said this was a scab and she said they removed it. at the vet they also shaved around the area
 

Attachments

  • Jupiterssorepaw7-6.JPG
    Jupiterssorepaw7-6.JPG
    45.9 KB · Views: 1,554
  • jupespaw.JPG
    jupespaw.JPG
    22.4 KB · Views: 1,538
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

If the black in the lower pic is a scab, then it looks like the wound is smaller now? Which would seem to show the AB has had a positive effect? Is the lump pretty much the same size?
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

Actually it seems bigger now. I think the black peeled up easy and now its pink there. I also think I shouldve tried to take a better pic the first time. I dont feel like that is a very clear picture.


Okay I asked Dane what he thought. He agrees with what I am saying. The vet cleaned the black scab off and it was pink when we brought him home. A little bloodier but pink. So it looks about the same now as when he got home from the vet
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

Jamie, you are doing such a great job with Jupiter. I know how scared you are, and how hard it is to cope with all you have on your plate and in such terrible heat. Do you have fans? When we lived in warmer climates we used to put a bowl of ice cubes in front of a fan to make "air conditioning".
Here's a tip that might help with the posting of the picture of Jupe's paw. The FDMB only accepts pictures as attachments when they are small in size (maximum 600 pixils width, 400 height). If you e mail your picture to yourself, you can choose the "small" size when size is offered by your e-mail program. Then, when you receive the picture you e mailed to yourself, you can "choose" your picture and upload it as an "attachment" (see the "upload attachment" box near the bottom of the FDMB screen). It will be the correct size and will not be rejected.

Thinking of you tonight and sending Jupe many healing vines and feel-better vines. It's good that you can skip tonight's shot and not give insulin until the experts here can get a sense of what is going on.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty

Wow. I see I'm way too late on the posting of pics. I'm so glad that Carl was able to do it for you.
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

I posted those 2 myself :-D just took me forever.


I sent carl some other pics because I got too frustrated. The first pic I took tonight and the other pic I posted a few days ago so that one was easy to post.


Thank you for visiting. We have 1 fan but it does not work well at all
 
Re: 7/6 Jupiter AMBG/55 PMBG/54!! Questions & Concerns

Sorry for reposting this question. My mind is all over the place and I cant stop thinking back to this. "+2 was 44. Now can this number be from any insulin at all? Like could this still be from the .5u yesterday?"

Sorry I am just so worried its driving me crazy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top