7/6 - Joplin- *PLEASE ADVISE*- AMPS- 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherylockholmes

Member Since 2013
Good morning. I have been away the last couple days. While I was gone, Joplin was not tested (my pet sitter doesn't do that), but she did give him his insulin.....I tested him as soon as I got home yesterday afternoon and he was 237. He gave me a high number right before dinner (365), and after looking at the fact that it had been over 5 days at the 2.25 units, I increased to 2.50. This morning I just got a reading of 142, my lowest number. So, just following instructions and coming here for advice! So I should not feed him?

Thanks (my last post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98842)
 
Are you going to be home today and do you have supplies like strips and HC if needed?

If so, I think you should go ahead and shoot the full new dose. The onset of the dose of insulin will be around 2 hours from now, and you will have that time to feed Joplin. Since you are worried, you can shoot, feed, and get your first test at +1.

If you stall without feeding, Joplin may just go lower because of the lack of food, and then you will be more worried about shooting.
 
I will be here until 9am, then I won't be home until 3pm. My husband will be around to feed him when he needs though....he just doesn't do the testing (I'm working on that...)

Thank you for the quick response.
 
Please let us know what the +2 is, so we can let you know if a higher carb food would be needed while you're away.
Also, please get a test as soon as you walk in the door, when you return home.
 
Good job shooting, and good job getting the +1.

Surf the pretty blues, Joplin.
 
Good. Surfing along fine.
If you're scared, you can have your husband feed her small meals about every hour, and watch her, and if need be give him the id to post if necessary.

Have a good day. Please post when you get back home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top