7/6 Jack AMBG 138

Status
Not open for further replies.

KigerKat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday was such a busy day with my first day of school, so I didn't get a chance to update here.

In the last 4 days, yes 4 DAYS, Jack has only had 1 unit of insulin!! The vet has now told us to only give him 1/2 a unit if he is over 200 and is starting to believe Jack might be reverting already. This is wonderful news for him being diagnosed just 19 days ago!! I know Lantus is a wonderful drug, but I have to believe it is mostly the Wellness diet that has helped out the most.

I don't want to get too excited, but I am extremely happy right now. Jack's personality has been back to normal since Sunday, like there was never anything wrong with him. My husband and I are starting to think that all the KigerKats came up with this diabetes thing just to get better food. It worked, so now everything can go back to normal, right?
 
Hello! We have never stopped by to say hello. Someone more experienced will come and weigh in. I don't want to burst your bubble, because that is great news. We were told the same thing in the first month. However, I just want to encourage you to get a home curve on Jack if possible to see what his nadir is. On Lantus, it is the nadir, not the preshot numbers that you want to go by. It is very possible that a change in food was all it took. I would just be slightly cautious.

Hope you have a great day!
 
I think we are trying to wait until he is either on insulin for a few days in a row or off it before we do a curve. If he has still gone without insulin by Friday, I suppose I could do it then since I don't have any classes.
 
Hi guys .. these numbers are looking really nice! I agree with Melissa, a curve would be nice on jack .. good luck with getting it done this weekend .. have a great day guys!
 
carrie, you have many interim size doses from 1u down - following the protocol you give .75, .5, .25 and then a drop - the idea is to give the cat's pancreas as much support for as long as possible while it heals. a non-diabetic cat numbers range from 50-120, and nearly all the tests you've done in the past few days are still over that. the 3 units on 7/2 would take a while to completely wear off, then the 1u on 7/4, same thing. lantus creates an actual deposit under the skin. each shot sorta crystalizes when it hits the body, then it dissipates over several days. so you are still seeing the effects today of the insulin on 7/2 and 7/4, and he's still over the range of a non-diabetic cat. here's the link on how lantus works: http://www.diabetesclinic.ca/en/diab/2treat/lantus_vs_levemir.htm

of course you're the person in charge, but i've seen on here that the best chance for a cat to get off insulin and stay off insulin is to keep shooting the same amount am/pm, then reducing the dose as needed and keep them on insulin for as long as possible. for jack it might only be for a tiny bit longer, but it increases your chance of success.

you can sure celebrate how well he's doing! have a super day!
 
Thanks, guys! I'm really hoping he is headed in the right direction. We've been in constant contact with our vet over the past few days, and we trust that he's putting us on the right track. I think even if he doesn't suggest we do a curve on Friday, I probably will anyway.
 
Just spoke with the vet, and he has now told me not to check his BG until Saturday morning, unless Jack is acting odd, drinking a lot or using the litter box more often than he is now. Then we need to call him Saturday morning to let him know what the number is and we'll decide where to go from there.

I know you guys here will tell me to keep checking it, but I am someone who will obsess over the numbers and my vet knows this. It will be hard not checking it, but our vet has never let us down yet! I did take his BG about 20 minutes before he called, and that was 119. I think that's a good number to end on before Saturday! Fingers crossed that Jack keeps up the good work!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top