7/6 Ivy Amps 271, +3 246, +6 229, +9 193 Pmps 242, +3 195, +4,75 90 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
7/5/24
Amps 271 Libre

Good morning,
Pretty flat yellow pm cycle last night. Waiting to see if she is gonna do anything after her pfs the other day and everything settles.
If nothing impressive happens we will try a bit more juice.

Is it a thing to try “in between doses” since I use calipers to measure a dose and can fine tune a dose??
She seems to sometimes look like she’s right in between 2 doses.
I may try that just as an experiment to see what happens.
I feel like she’s one big science and math experiment at all times.

Headed out to dinner tonight, but will be close to home. Will be back by +3. Will give higher carbs for dinner.

Have a nice Caturday, all. Safe surfing to the kitties :cat:
 
Good morning Staci,

I was researching your question of "in between doses" the last days in the forum. I think it was Wendy who said, that they adivse this for mostly regulated kittys. It I look at the definition of regulation I found in the stickys (Regulated - generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia), that matches Ivys situation. But that was just my beginners two cents...

Hope you enjoy your dinner tonight! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci,

I was researching your question of "in between doses" the last days in the forum. I think it was Wendy who said, that they adivse this for mostly regulated kittys. It I look at the definition of regulation I found in the stickys (Regulated - generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia), that matches Ivys situation. But that was just my beginners two cents...

Hope you enjoy your dinner tonight! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, thanks for that information. I’m not sure I would call Ivy regulated. Sigh.
I’m just trying to find a good dose for her that’s not too much and not too little. But we are all trying to find just the right dose, aren’t we??
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, thanks for that information. I’m not sure I would call Ivy regulated. Sigh.
I’m just trying to find a good dose for her that’s not too much and not too little. But we are all trying to find just the right dose, aren’t we??
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

I just used the definition for regulation and looked on her ss and found that matches very well. But I know what you mean, "regulation" sounds like less surprises and Ivys bg seems to be the definition of surprise. :) When Binie got diagnosed I thought it just takes a few weeks to finde the "right dose" she can stay on forever. :rolleyes: But for me it looks like you are close and I like your idea of "fine-tuning".
 
I just used the definition for regulation and looked on her ss and found that matches very well. But I know what you mean, "regulation" sounds like less surprises and Ivys bg seems to be the definition of surprise. :) When Binie got diagnosed I thought it just takes a few weeks to finde the "right dose" she can stay on forever. :rolleyes: But for me it looks like you are close and I like your idea of "fine-tuning".
I understand totally! I don’t think Ivy is a text book case (but is anyone?)
I do hope we are getting closer to a good dose. I also think their needs change so we may never be locked to one exact dose all the time.
And I wish it would take only a few weeks to become regulated.
Some very lucky cats do have that happen.
Probably most do not though.
I do appreciate your thoughts and your helping me think it through :bighug::):bighug:
 
Good morning Staci,
Some experienced kitty parent uses the calipers to measure the in-between doses.
Given how closely you monitor and how long you've been at it, it may be something you can try! I think I did it once last year, when I was a bit scared to go a full .25U up. Mikan needed more juice after all, and I went up from there, but no harm was done. I think @Angela & Cleo is a master of caliper dosing. What do you think, Angela?

Looks like Ivy is still recalibrating after the PFS ;) Wishing you a peaceful and productive BG day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Master I am certainly NOT :joyful: but thank you for the compliment :bighug:.

Generally, the in-between doses (or smidgery increase as I call it) is for fine tuning a dose that's working- meaning mostly green nadirs and some blues.
I know you're custom dosing, but IMHO I'd give the full .25 increase because she hasn't had a green streak in the last 6 days/12 cycles. Of course, you need to account for the PFS from the other day. When following TR, the cycle count restarts after a PFS/FS and when following SLGS, it depends when in the 7 days. How does that play into your custom dosing?

Hope you enjoy your dinner plans tonight. I'm glad you've been able to get out more :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Good morning Staci,
Some experienced kitty parent uses the calipers to measure the in-between doses.
Given how closely you monitor and how long you've been at it, it may be something you can try! I think I did it once last year, when I was a bit scared to go a full .25U up. Mikan needed more juice after all, and I went up from there, but no harm was done. I think @Angela & Cleo is a master of caliper dosing. What do you think, Angela?

Looks like Ivy is still recalibrating after the PFS ;) Wishing you a peaceful and productive BG day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, thanks for bringing Angela into the conversation. And thanks for your input and experience with Mikan. That’s helpful information.
I do think she’s recalibrating since the pfs the other day. I guess I need be patient and let her fully recalibrate before I do anything just for safety.
I’ll wait at least until Monday to give her over 3 days to recover and see where she is.
Hope you are having a nice day. Enjoy the weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Master I am certainly NOT :joyful: but thank you for the compliment :bighug:.

Generally, the in-between doses (or smidgery increase as I call it) is for fine tuning a dose that's working- meaning mostly green nadirs and some blues.
I know you're custom dosing, but IMHO I'd give the full .25 increase because she hasn't had a green streak in the last 6 days/12 cycles. Of course, you need to account for the PFS from the other day. When following TR, the cycle count restarts after a PFS/FS and when following SLGS, it depends when in the 7 days. How does that play into your custom dosing?

Hope you enjoy your dinner plans tonight. I'm glad you've been able to get out more :bighug:
Hi Angela, thanks for joining the conversation. As you pointed out about the consecutive cycles after the pfs, I will wait until at least Monday to give her time to reset the depot.
I’m torn on the amount to increase. I’ll think about it for the next day or so.
If I give the reduced increase I can always go up if she’s not giving me the numbers we are seeking.
How long do you think I should wait to give that increase, 3 or 5 days after the pfs?
Thanks for your help. Hope you’re having a nice weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
Sounds like a great idea to give an in-between dose. Been thinking of doing that myself. Will be curious to see how it works for you.
Always trying and give your best to Ivy, that's really beautiful.
Enjoy your night out.
Hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly, I suppose it’s worth a try. But the PFS threw us off this week. Little bugger that she is.

If you try it with Fistuk, Let me know how it goes.
Hugs to you and your sweet boys:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Staci and Ivy.

Looks like she's already recovering from the PFS. Good girl Ivy, meow let mama rest tonight and save all the action for tomorrow.

I hope you got your answer re: in between dose.
I think I remember Wendy @Wendy&Neko telling me once,.we can fatten or skinny the dose. Depending which way we want them to go. And since you're using calipers that should be easy for you.

I hope you have a calm night and we will check in with you tomorrow.

upload_2024-7-7_1-11-4.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-7_1-11-4.png
    upload_2024-7-7_1-11-4.png
    105.9 KB · Views: 115
Sorry I can't answer that since you're custom dosing, that choice is yours. :bighug:
You know Ivy VERY Well :cat:.
Hello Staci and Ivy.

Looks like she's already recovering from the PFS. Good girl Ivy, meow let mama rest tonight and save all the action for tomorrow.

I hope you got your answer re: in between dose.
I think I remember Wendy @Wendy&Neko telling me once,.we can fatten or skinny the dose. Depending which way we want them to go. And since you're using calipers that should be easy for you.

I hope you have a calm night and we will check in with you tomorrow.

View attachment 70485
Hi Karolina, thanks for letting me know about doing that with doses. I may try it once I think she’s rebalanced from that darned pfs.
I’d really love to find a dose where she can be kind of flat (like Nestle):)
This major up and down is rough.

Hope you’ve had a good night. Enjoy Sunday with those cute boys :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Back
Top