7/6 Dumdum AMPS~432 +4~62

Status
Not open for further replies.

akilo

Member Since 2013
AMPS 432 (actually+11, he want to eat at that time, so test earlier)
+4 62
+5 60
+6 60
+8 68
PMPS 116
+1.5 154
+4 48

yesterday condo
AMPS 456
+4 344
PMPS 371
+4 382

We went to see the vet the day before yesterday, and the suggestion of the vet is here.
I think that will be one of next possible options to us, if his numbers will always drop at night. Dumdum's numbers didn't show the good regular now, so the vet suggest that first we give food regularly at +3 instead of giving him small meal not regularly. When his curve can find out some rules, than think about next.
 
I hope so too!!!
he got a good surf this morning, and PMPS is 116, so I reduce to 1u at PM shot.
If he bounce tomorrow, I'll shot through bounce for 1.25u, than reduce to 1u, but I hope there won't be any bounce tomorrow.
Paw crossed for no bounce!
 
The link to your condo with the vet's information is actually the link to Papaya's condo.

It looks like Dumdum is already at your PM +4. That was an impressive drop. It also looks like Dumdum gets a dose reduction with that 48.

It sounds like your vet is suggesting that you feed your kitty at the same time every day. That may help. You may want to even feed multiple small meals at consistent times.
 
It's papaya's condo indeed, because I reply what my vet said there, I'm too lazy to type again. :lol:
I think now first goal we are going to get will be try to find a dose that can see the nadir and maintain.
Because the vet suggested feed small meal at +3, instead of I used to feed at +4.
Due to Dumdum usually get hungry early, I'll feed him about 15-20g LC before we go to sleep(before+6).That will be 5 meals per day.
The way that I reply to papaya's condo is because Dumdum's BG had a time like papaya's BG, have a huge drop but it's regular and stable, so I told the vet if Dumdum's curve become stable and like that again, what to do.
 
Here.... I'll just grab it and put it in your condo too. ;-)



Dear Amy, I always read papaya's ss, because my dumdum is the same as papaya, they both have colorful ss. :smile:
I have the same problem with you, I read ss here every day for these few months since I joined FDMB, and I realize that most sugar cats here with Lantus, they do have good reaction to Lantus and get the low and flat curves in 1-3 months. I'm not going to describe how confused I am, I'm pretty sure you have the same feeling with me. I just want to provide my vet's suggestion today, she is famous for diabetic cats in my country. I've translate protocol to my vet and discuss with her before, and she told me I can use this protocol to adjust the dose, but in her opinion, we'll have to do adjustment depends on what their curve shows after we get more information about his reaction to Lantus , because every cat is different, not like dogs, they are so different in each one that in fact it is hard to find regular rules can be used by every cat. That's 2 months ago I first time met her.

Today I bring Dumdum's ss to her with my question : what else can I do to get his numbers better? I'm thinking of change insulin or change the rules I adjust the dose. In fact I would like to changing insulin more, I think what I've followed should have been make Lantus to shows all it can do, than maybe is just not suitable for Dumdum.

My vet is not agree with changing insulin, she said that it's true sometimes some cats' ss look like this, no matter use which kind of insulin. Changing insulin may not bring better result than now, and due to we are so familiar with Lantus, she think we should keep on use it.

Than the next question will be how to adjust. Here will be different from protocol. I have to say that I'm not sure will this work or not, but since there were two vet told me this way (the other one told me to do so last month, but I told her I'm going to try another month), I'll give it a try. You can try it or not, it depends on you. In their opinion, the curve can be see as in two circles (sorry that my English is not so well, I'll try to explain more, please ignore the wired grammar), that means due to Lantus will work more then 12 hour, so different dose at AM and PM shot will be OK, but not keep on changing dose, the regular dose should be maintain. Just shot different dose at AM and PM. For example, shot 2.25u at am shot, and shot 2u at pm. Also, in their opinion, adjustment in 0.25 won't affect depot's stable. The dose still should maintain more than 3 days. What I mean is if shot 2.25u at am and 2u at pm, it still need to do so at least 3 days to see what will happen. To them(my vets), the huge bounce(they all know what is the bounce) and huge drops also affect his own ability to stable the numbers, and also hurt his brain in long-term, so avoid huge bounce is important the same as lower numbers. This way will provide them still have overlap between circles, but better fit the Lantus's working time.

The other way the vet said last month, I think will be much more difficult to achieve, is shot every 18 hours. Even I always at home, I still don't think this is a easy way. This is because since we can see their circle is obviously longer than 12 hours, than the 12/12 shot is clearly not suitable for their needs, so just make the circle longer to fit their body, but this way will have another shortcoming that is his number will go back to peak than come down, the effect of Lantus won't be overlapping.

This are two ways my vet suggests me. Since taking care of sugar baby will be a long journey, I think I'll give a try to find the best way for him. If there is anything I didn't explain well, please let me know. Or any opinions to these treatments.

Hope both of our sugar babies will be fine, live long and prosper.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top