7/6 Alice AMPS 336 +4 135 +8 119 +10 143, trying kangaroo today PMPS 165

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/alice-7-5-amps-149-3-6-23-27-4-3-57.231912/

I found a local shop with the LID Koha (I think I called it the wrong brand name on yesterday’s post, oh well) and I got one can of kangaroo and one can of beef to try out. I just gave Alice a spoonful of kangaroo and she said “yes please!!!” and ate it all up.

@Wendy&Neko I think you’re right about the IBD kitty food change thing. :banghead: For whatever reason Alice has decided the ziwi lamb isn’t worth it anymore. It doesn’t smell like happiness to her. I wonder if she associates in now with nausea or other unpleasant physical feelings?

When I was a kid I once was sick after eating a couple of foods I loved and I never again went back to one of them. I thought it was what made me throw up. The association never changed. Cats could be like that too. I don’t know. Whatever it is.... She doesn’t want the ziwi lamb and I have over 50 cans of that left and I’m broke for the moment. :facepalm: :confused:

If she tolerates the kangaroo alright then I am hoping I can mix it in with the lamb to start her off, so that won’t get wasted. Also the local shop I found sells it cheaper than the Koha website does and also will have a case discount.

I reduced her dose to 1.25 as suggested. So far so good. I was pleased to still see some blue show up. :)

Hope all are well.
 
It doesn’t smell like happiness to her. I wonder if she associates in now with nausea or other unpleasant physical feelings?
I think you are bang on. I have found that sometimes those foods become good again, with enough time to "forget". I'm glad Alice liked kangaroo. Neko would kill for raw kangaroo, I think it was her favourite.
 
I think you are bang on. I have found that sometimes those foods become good again, with enough time to "forget". I'm glad Alice liked kangaroo. Neko would kill for raw kangaroo, I think it was her favourite.
I mean, it makes sense. In Alice’s case she has had a couple of bad constipation episodes with it, large diameter bowel movements, and more nausea I think than I always picked up on. Who would want to keep feeling that way? In a natural environment she would have learned from her experiences eating whatever she could get.


Does anyone know the long term consequences of daily Cerenia use, btw? Or a good place to start researching to see if there’s any data out there? The typical dose is a quarter tab or about 4 mg I believe, but I’ve been breaking tablets more into sixths. Alice is tiny and I don’t love giving any extra drugs she doesn’t need. I’ve been on cocktails of medications before with weird side effects when combined but none of the same side effects when those drugs were taken separately. I gave her Mirataz yesterday though and Cerenia the past couple of days because she needed to eat. Her disposition has been much better. :)
 
Does anyone know the long term consequences of daily Cerenia use, btw? Or a good place to start researching to see if there’s any data out there? The typical dose is a quarter tab or about 4 mg I believe,
No problem doing it long term, that's what I've heard from a couple of internal medicine vets. Neko was on it daily. As for dose, it depends on the weight of the cat.
 
She’s looking well overall today. She appears to have redeveloped some muscle in her hind area because she is finally getting back up on the bed and down as well all on her own again. :D

4703A9B2-6C4B-4695-9757-A6765D9C9FAF.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 4703A9B2-6C4B-4695-9757-A6765D9C9FAF.jpeg
    4703A9B2-6C4B-4695-9757-A6765D9C9FAF.jpeg
    80.2 KB · Views: 66
Back
Top