7/6/14 - Jibbit AMPS 438 & Sunshine AMPS 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

matya13

Member Since 2013
First post on this forum - I gather I'm to post their #s as the subject line? (I've posted a first FDMB message - starting in 2013 - on the Health board.)

Please let me know if that's not right and/or what I should be doing! :)

Thanks.
 
You've got it!! flip_cat

The norm around here is each morning you open your kitty's or kitties' condo/new thread. With the date, cat's name and their numbers throughout the day. Then edit that subject line throughout the day. But no worries if you don't get it right in the beginning we're pretty informal around here.

So welcome to our little family, make yourself comfy and tell us all about your wonderful sugarcats.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Hmm. It won't let me edit the subject line.

At +6, Jibbit was 486 and Sunshine was 70. Not sure what's up with either of them, but I'm hoping someone with experience can help. Sunny has been reluctant to eat her food today, though she's clearly hungry. I've been feeding her Weruva Chicken Fricka'Zee by the tablespoon when she asks for more food. But she won't eat the same stuff that's on her plate!
 
Welcome!

I would say, having read the notes on your spreadsheet, that since you just started the new Lantus pen yesterday, it is entirely possible that the previous pen had lost some of its effectiveness. Jibbit seems to be working on clearing a bounce from the low number (and then missed shot) a couple of days ago, and Sunshine looks to have earned a reduction.

I am concerned about one thing though... you have made quite a few dose changes in a short period of time but you dont have much data during the middle of the 12 hour cycle. (+6 to +8 time frame) Somewhere near there is when the cat will hits its lowest point in the cycle, called the nadir. That is the number we base dose changes on, not the pre-shot. The pre-shot number is what tells you if it is safe to give a shot at all.

I also wonder if these cats are getting too much insulin. I would hold Sunshine at the .5 you gave her today and see what she does. The new pen of Lantus might really drive her numbers low,so watch her as close as you can. If Jibbit's care was up to me, he would go back down too. I think I would wind him back down to 2 units and watch for at least 3 days. We usually hold a dose change for at least 6 cycles (three days)to let the depot either fill or drain, before we make another change, unless the cat has dropped very low, which earns an immediate reduction.

Better to high for a day than too low for a minute.
 
Thanks, Linda! I'm happy to drop their doses and start over. Though I read this too late for tonight's dose: Jibbit was 469 and Sunny was 505 (which I guess is a bounce? I'm utterly clueless about all this and what to do when), so I kept their doses same as their AM ones.

So, tomorrow AM, put Sunny to 0.5 u and hold her there while watching her numbers? And Jibbit same, but at 2.0 u?
 
Yep that sounds like a plan to me as well. Sorry I haven't been around much today. My husband and I just moved and we're spending weekends getting the old house ready to sell.

I'll be watching for you tomorrow morning and we're happy to explain everything as we go. :-)

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Hey Mel, dont forget I am a professional home stager. If you need any advice, just holler! Check your messages I will send you my email address.
 
Welcome to Relaxed Lantus, Amy. So happy to see you here and testing so regularly.

I know what a busy schedule and homelife you have, and know that will only get busier once you get back to more college courses in the Fall. But depending on how early you go to bed compared to the timing of the nighttime shot, perhaps you can get at least occasional +3 or +4 tests on the PM cycle.

Also, be aware that their PMPS numbers are higher than a fasting PS would be because of the BG-raising effect of their dinners at AM+10. There is nothing wrong with the timing of dinner, IMO; you just need to be aware of the effect. My Max used to get huge food spikes on his AM cycle (I did test, feed, shoot all at one time) and Max could spike 200 points within two hours of his 2-can breakfast. To deal with that, I ended up splitting his breakfast into three feedings (same amount of food) over a three or four hour period. Easy enough for me to do because I worked from home. That gave his insulin some time to start working before the food pushed his numbers too high and brought his food spike down 100 points. You might want to think about giving J&S only half a can of food at AM+10, and the other half as a going-to-bed snack. (And that way the snack would be a treat for putting up with that going-to-bed test.) Just something for you to consider.
 
Just to let everyone know, Sunshine is available for adoption through DCIN. Her blog page is at http://fdmb-cin.blogspot.com/2013/12/sunshine-in-va.html.

Sunshine+beauty+shot.jpg


Because of his health problems, DCIN considers Jibbit unadoptable, so he is a permanent foster on palliative care.

Jibbit+on+floor-cropped.jpg
 
Thanks, Venita!

I'll try to get some PM tests in. In terms of their food, they both are grazers, so neither one eats their full PM meal right then, especially Jibbit. They both eat some (maybe about 1/3 to 1/2) right then, and then continue to go back to their plates over the course of the evening/night. So I don't know if the meal splitting actually would do anything for them.

As you know, this is all new and confusing to me, so any advice is helpful, even if it might not work in their particular situation!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top